Skip to main content

Fashion Designers

How to find information on designers past and present--biographies, business history and current marketing info, and design/visual research--all listed in one guide

Fashion design

Search the Conde Nast collection on ArtStor

Vogue illustration

Search the Condé Nast collection on ArtStor

The Condé Nast Archive (c.33,000 images) is a leading repository of photography, featuring fashion, celebrity, and lifestyle shots from publications such as Glamour, Vanity Fair, and Vogue, dating from the 1890s to the present. The glamour and star power of fashion is represented in the commercial work of Edward Steichen and Horst P. Horst, through to contemporary takes from the runways of international style capitals, including the work of Patrick Demarchelier. The Fairchild Photo Service, comprised of more than three million photos gathered over six decades, is the fashion world’s preeminent image gallery.

 

Fashion Journals

Vogue magazine cover

 

See our Fashion periodicals (magazines, journals, newspapers, auction and store catalogs) with description & current holdings.  Some can be accessed electronically. 

See also the "Periodicals by Title" tab for a complete list of titles.

The Dressed podcast

The Fashion History Timeline

Video profiles of fashion designers

 

 

 

Google Fashion: We Wear Culture

google fashion page

We Wear Culture stitches together the art, history, and scholarship of fashion from around the world into a single platform. A total of 30,000 works of fashion from 183 partners in 40 countries are available on the platform, and the stories of these works are shared through more than 450 curated, interactive stories, ranging in topic from traditional dress to contemporary couture.

Subject headings for Fashion and Costume

FASHION

Advertising Fashion

Art et la mode

Body art

Celebrities Clothing

Clothing and dress

  See also: Clothing and dress History Congresses ; Clothing and dress Technological innovations

Color in clothing Forecasting

     See also specific colors such as: Red ; Black ; White ; etc.

Color in clothing History

Colors Forecasting Periodicals

     See also: Pantone Firm

Cosplay

Costume

  See also: Costume History ; Costume Japan ; Role playing Pictorial works ; Subculture Japan Pictorial works.

Costume designers

Costume designers Biography

Costume museums

Dandies

  See also: Dandies Biography ; Dandies History ; Dandyism

Dress accessories

Dress accessories Technological innovations

  See also headings such as: Dress accessories Japan

Dresses

Ethnic costume Influence

Evening gowns

Exoticism in fashion

Fads

Fantasy in fashion

Fashion

  See also Fashion subdivided by place such as: Fashion Arab countries ; Fashion France ; Fashion France Paris Guidebooks ; Fashion Italy ; Fashion Italy History 21st century

Fashion Archives

Fashion Awards

Fashion Blogs

Fashion Caricatures and cartoons

Fashion Catalogs

Fashion Chinese influences

Fashion Chinese influences Social aspects

Fashion Computer network resources

Fashion Cross-cultural studies

Fashion Early works to 1800

Fashion Economic aspects

Fashion Encyclopedias

Fashion Environmental aspects

Fashion Exhibitions

Fashion Fiction

Fashion Forecasting

Fashion Forecasting Periodicals

Fashion History

Fashion History To 1500

Fashion History 16th century

Fashion History 17th century

Fashion History 18th century

Fashion History 19th century

  See also headings such as: Dressmaking 19th century Technique

Fashion History 20th century

Fashion History 21st century

Fashion History 21st century Exhibitions

Fashion History 21st century Pictorial works

Fashion History 21st century Sources

Fashion History Archives

Fashion History Congresses

Fashion History Periodicals

Fashion History Pictorial works

Fashion History Sources

Fashion Humor

Fashion Illustrations

Fashion Illustrations History

Fashion Influence

Fashion Influence Exhibitions

Fashion Japanese influences

Fashion Library resources

Fashion Moral and ethical aspects

Fashion Nautical influence

Fashion Oriental influences

Fashion Periodicals

  See also headings such as: Fashion Italy Periodicals

Fashion Periodicals History

Fashion Philosophy

Fashion Pictorial works

Fashion Political aspects

Fashion Posters

Fashion Prices

Fashion Psychological aspects

Fashion Public opinion

Fashion Public relations

Fashion Quotations maxims etc.

Fashion Research

Fashion Social aspects

Fashion Social aspects History 19th century

Fashion Social aspects History 20th century

Fashion Sociological aspects

Fashion Statistics

Fashion Symbolic aspects

Fashion Terminology

Fashion Vocational guidance

Fashion and architecture

Fashion and art

Fashion and art Exhibitions

Fashion and art History 19th century

Fashion and art History 20th century

Fashion and art Periodicals

Fashion and war

Fashion design

Fashion design 21st century Exhibitions

Fashion design Awards

Fashion design Awards France

Fashion design Chinese influences

Fashion design Computer-aided design

Fashion design Data processing

Fashion design Encyclopedias

Fashion design Environmental aspects

Fashion design Handbooks, manuals, etc.

Fashion design History

Fashion design History 20th century

Fashion design History 21st century

Fashion design History Fiction

Fashion design Moral and ethical aspects

Fashion design Museums

Fashion design Pictorial works

Fashion design Political aspects

Fashion design Research

Fashion design Research Methodology

Fashion design Study and teaching

Fashion design Study and teaching (Graduate) Directories

Fashion design Study and teaching (Higher) Directories

Fashion design Technological innovations

Fashion design Themes motives

Fashion design Vocational guidance

  See also headings such as: Brooklyn (New York, N.Y.) Clothing ; Costume design ; Fashion design Finland ; etc

Fashion designers

  See also: African American fashion designer ; Asian American fashion designers

Fashion designers Archives

Fashion designers Biography

Fashion designers Catalogs

Fashion designers China Hong Kong

Fashion designers Dictionaries

Fashion designers Europe Biography

Fashion designers Exhibitions

Fashion designers History

Fashion designers History 20th century

Fashion designers History 21st century

Fashion designers Homes and haunts

Fashion designers Interviews

Fashion designers Italy Biography

Fashion designers Japan Biography

Fashion designers Periodicals

Fashion designers Pictorial works

Fashion designers United States History 20th century

     See also headings such as : Costume designers ; Women costume designers

    See also specific designers such as:  Miyake, Issei, 1938- ; Noten, Dries van ; Schiaparelli, Elsa 1890-1973 Influence ; Schiaparelli, Elsa 1890-1973 Homes and haunts

Fashion dolls

Fashion drawing

Fashion drawing Computer-aided design

Fashion drawing Pictorial works

Fashion drawing Technique

Fashion drawing Vocational guidance

Fashion editors

Fashion editors Biography

Fashion editors Correspondence

Fashion editors Fiction

Fashion editors Interviews

Fashion flats

Fashion illustrators

Fashion illustrators Europe

Fashion in art

Fashion in art Catalogs

Fashion in literature

Fashion in mass media

Fashion in motion pictures

  See also: Costume design California Hollywood History

Fashion Institute of Technology New York NY

Fashion Institute of Technology New York NY Alumni Interviews

Fashion Institute of Technology New York NY Exhibitions

Fashion Institute of Technology New York NY History

Fashion Institute of Technology New York NY Museum

Fashion Institute of Technology New York NY Placement Office

Fashion Institute of Technology New York NY Students

Fashion merchandising

Fashion merchandising Case studies

Fashion merchandising Computer network resources

Fashion merchandising History

Fashion merchandising Social aspects

Fashion merchandising Vocational guidance

Fashion museums

Fashion photographs

Fashion photography

Fashion photography Exhibitions

Fashion photography History

Fashion photography History Pictorial works

Fashion photography New York State New York

Fashion photography Periodicals

    See also: Glamour photography

Fashion plates

Fashion shows

Fashion shows Catalogs

Fashion shows England London

Fashion shows France Paris

Fashion shows History Pictorial works

Fashion shows Italy Milan

Fashion shows Management

Fashion shows New York State New York Pictorial works

Fashion shows United States History

Fashion stylists

Fashion stylists Biography

Fashion writing

Fashion writing Blogs

Fashion writing History

Fashion writing Italy History 16th century

Fashion writing Italy History 17th century

Fashion writing Vocational guidance

Flea markets

Formal wear

Goth fashion

Hip-hop Clothing

Hollywood costume designers

Image consultants

Image consultants Biography

Knit goods

Knitwear Forecasting

Luxuries

Luxuries Social aspects

Luxury goods industry

  See also headings such as: Handbags ; Scarves ; Women's shoes

Mannequins Figures

Masks

Men's clothing

Men's clothing Blogs

Men's clothing Forecasting

Men's clothing History

Men's clothing History 20th century

Men's clothing History 21st century

Men's clothing Humor

Men's clothing Italy Periodicals

Men's clothing Periodicals

Men's clothing industry

Men's furnishing goods

Modeling agencies

Models Persons

Models Persons Biography

Models Persons Interviews

Models Persons Portraits

Models Persons Vocational guidance

Motion picture actors and actresses Clothing

Music and fashion

Polka dots in clothing

Popular culture

Popular culture History

Popular culture History 20th century

Popular culture History 21st century

Presidents' spouses Clothing

     See also headings such as: Obama, Michelle 1964- Clothing ; Presidents' spouses Pictorial works

Princes Portraits

Princesses Clothing

     See also headings such as: Diana Princess of Wales 1961-1997 Clothing ; Catherine Duchess of Cambridge 1982- Clothing

Princesses Portraits

Printed fashion apparel

Project runway Television program

Queens Clothing

Queens Portraits

Ready-to-wear clothing

Resort wear

Retro (Style)

Rodeo Drive Beverly Hills Calif.

Savile Row London England

Shoes

Shoes History

Shoes Social aspects

Shoes in art

Slow fashion

Sport clothes for women

Street fashion

Streetstyle

Stylists

Teenagers Clothing

Teenagers Clothing Japan Tokyo Pictorial works

Theatrical costume

Transvestism

Transvestism Cross cultural studies

Transvestism Psychological aspects

Vintage clothing

Vintage clothing Collectors and collecting

Vogue

Vogue Illustrations

Vogue Italia

Vogue London England

Wearable art

Wearable computers

Wearable technology

Women costume designers

Women designers

Women dressmakers

Women fashion designers

Women fashion designers Biography

Women fashion designers Exhibitions

Women periodical editors

Women's clothing

Women's clothing Humor

Women's clothing Psychological aspects

Women's hats

Women's shoes

Women's shoes Social aspects Pictorial works

See also related headings such as:  Aesthetics ; Artisans ; Avant garde Aesthetics ; Color ; Colors ; Colors in clothing ; Design protection ;  Female impersonators Pictorial works ; Gender identity ; Group identity ; Human comfort ; Illustrated periodicals ; Lifestyle ; Lifestyles ; Manners and customs ; Miniature dolls ; Modernism Aesthetics ; Pattern design ; Patterns ; Secondhand trade ; Sex role ; Special events ; Stereotypes Social psychology ; Women's periodicals American

See also headings such as Fashion, Clothing and dress and Women's clothing subdivided by place such as:

     Fashion France Paris

     Fashion Middle East

     Fashion United States Chinese influences

     Women's clothing Middle East

See also countries subdivided by:

    Social life and customs

    Popular culture

See also headings such as:

    Bauhaus Influence

    Brides Clothing

    British Pathé News

    Bunka Fukusō Gakuin

    Celebrities Biography

    Celebrities Pictorial works

    Chanel, Coco 1883-1971  Influence   

    Chanel Firm

    Costume Institute New York, NY

    Council of Fashion Designers of America

    Cristóbal Balenciaga Museoa

    Fendi Firm

    FIDM Museum & Library

    Fundación Cristóbal Balenciaga

    Gunn, Tim

    House of Balenciaga

    IFFTI Conference

    Invitation cards Design

    Klensch, Elsa Archives

    Musée Christian Dior

    Musée de la mode et du textile

    Opening Ceremony Firm

    Voice of fashion


See also actors such as:

     Taylor, Elizabeth 1932-2011 Clothing

   

For FASHION and POPULAR CULTURE see headings such as:  

Actresses Clothing ; Alternative lifestyles Pictorial works ; Bohemianism Pictorial works ; Celebrities Clothing ; Celebrities Influence ; Celebrities Periodicals ; Celebrities Pictorial works ; Celebrities Portraits ; Cosplay ; Counterculture ; Culture and globalization ; Curiosities and wonders ; Dandies ; Debutante balls ; Debutantes ; Drag balls Pictorial works ; Drag shows ; Female impersonators Pictorial works ; Femmes fatales ; Gender identity ; Glam rock music ; Goth culture Subculture ; Goths ; Gypsies Influence ; Heiresses ; Hip hop ; Hip hop Pictorial works ; Hip hop musicians Clothing ; Hippies ; Indie culture ; Lifestyles Pictorial works ; Masquerades ; Minority youth Social life and customs ; Mod culture ; Nightclubs Pictorial works ; Pageants ; Popular culture ; Popular culture History ; Popular culture Periodicals ; Punk culture Pictorial works ; Punk rock musicians Pictorial works ; Rap music Pictorial works ; Reggae music ; Retro (Style) ; Rock groups Pictorial works ; Rock musicians Clothing ; Rockabilly musicians Pictorial works ; Rocker culture ; Role playing ; Sex role ; Skinheads ; Socialites Biography ; Special events ; Steampunk culture ; Street life ; Subculture ; Subculture Japan ; Subculture Pictorial works ; Transgender people Pictorial works ; Vampires Clothing ; Voguing Dance Pictorial works ; Women entertainers Clothing ; Youth Social life and customs

See also decades and time periods such as:

    Nineteen tens   

    Nineteen twenties

    Nineteen thirties

    Nineteen forties

    Nineteen fifties

    Nineteen sixties

    Nineteen seventies

    Twentieth century

    Twenty first century

COSTUME & CLOTHING

Academic costume

Actresses Clothing

Advertising Clothing and dress

Advertising t-shirts

African Americans Clothing

Aloha shirts

  See also: Hawaiians Clothing ; Clothing and dress Hawaii.

Aprons

Aprons History

Armies Insignia

Armor

Ballet Costume

Ballet russes Clothing

Baptism Clothing

Baseball uniforms

Bathing suits

Bathing suits Forecasting

Bathing suits History

Bathing suits History 20th century

Bathing suits History 21st century

Bathing suits Pictorial works

Biblical costume

Black leather jackets

Black leather jackets Social aspects

Bloomer costume

Blouses

Body art

Boots

Boys’ clothing

Brassieres

Brassieres History

Brides Clothing

Brides Clothing History

Burial clothing Conservation and restoration

Burial clothing History

Burqas  Islamic clothing

Bustles

Buttons

Caftans

Carnival costume

Celebrities Clothing

Celebrities Clothing History 19th century

Celebrities Clothing History 20th century

Children’s clothing

  See also: Children's clothing 16th century ; Children's clothing 17th century ; etc.

Children's costume

Christening gowns

Church vestments

Cloaks

Cloaks History

Clothing and dress

Clothing and dress Aesthetics

Clothing and dress African influences

Clothing and dress Alteration

Clothing and dress Attitudes

Clothing and dress Care

Clothing and dress Case studies

Clothing and dress Catalogs

Clothing and dress Collectors and collecting

Clothing and dress Conservation and restoration

Clothing and dress Details

Clothing and dress Details Early works to 1800

Clothing and dress Details Erotic aspects

Clothing and dress Details Evaluation

Clothing and dress Dictionaries

Clothing and dress Dictionaries Polyglot

Clothing and dress Early works to 1800

Clothing and dress England History 16th century

Clothing and dress England History 17th century

   See also: Tudor, House of -- Clothing ; Stuart, House of -- Clothing

Clothing and dress Erotic aspects

Clothing and dress Europe History

Clothing and dress Europe History To 1500

Clothing and dress Europe History 16th century

Clothing and dress Europe History 17th century

Clothing and dress Europe History Medieval 500-1500

Clothing and dress Exhibitions

Clothing and dress Forecasting

Clothing and dress Health aspects

Clothing and dress History

Clothing and dress History Congresses

Clothing and dress History Medieval 500-1500

Clothing and dress History To 1500

Clothing and dress History 15th century

Clothing and dress History 16th century

Clothing and dress History 17th century

Clothing and dress History 18th century

   See also headings such as: France Court and courtiers Clothing History 18th century

Clothing and dress History 19th century

   See also headings such as: Dressmaking 19th century Technique ; Sumptuary laws History.

Clothing and dress History 20th century

Clothing and dress History 21st century

Clothing and dress Humor

Clothing and dress Hygienic aspects

Clothing and dress Juvenile poetry

Clothing and dress Labeling

Clothing and dress Law and legislation

Clothing and dress Marketing

Clothing and dress Materials

Clothing and dress Moral and ethical aspects

Clothing and dress Orient

Clothing and dress Philosophy

Clothing and dress Physiological aspects

Clothing and dress Pictorial works

     See also headings such as: Indigenous peoples Pictorial works ; France Kings and rulers Clothing

Clothing and dress Political aspects

Clothing and dress Psychological aspects

Clothing and dress Psychology

Clothing and dress Purchasing

Clothing and dress Religious aspects

Clothing and dress Religious aspects Catholic Church

Clothing and dress Religious aspects Christianity

Clothing and dress Religious aspects Islamic influences

Clothing and dress Remaking

Clothing and dress Repairing

Clothing and dress Sex differences

Clothing and dress Social aspects

Clothing and dress Social aspects History

Clothing and dress Sociological aspects

Clothing and dress Specifications

Clothing and dress Symbolic aspects

Clothing and dress Technological innovations

Clothing and dress Terminology

Clothing and dress Western countries

Clothing and dress Western countries 16th century

Clothing and dress Western countries 17th century

See also groups of peoples subdivided by Clothing such as: Bedouins Clothing , Manchus Clothing , Eskimos Clothing , China Kings and rulers Clothing.

See also Clothing as a subdivision under headings such as: Aged ; Aged women ; Aircraft occupants ; Athletes ; Automobile drivers ; Beauty contestants ; Bicycle messengers ; Boaters (Persons) ; Brides ; Buddhist monks ; Buddhist priests ; Catholics ; Celebrities ; Christian martyrs ; Christian saints ; Clergy ; Coal miners ; College students ; Colonists ; Comic book fans ; Country musicians ; Courts and courtiers ; Cowboys ; Cowgirls ; Cyclists; Dancers ; Debutantes ; Dogs ; Domestics ; Emperors ; Empresses ; Eskimos; Female impersonators ; Fishers ; Flamenco dancers ; Flight crews ; Gardeners ; Gays ; Gypsies ; Handicapped ; Hip hop musicians ; Horsemen and horsewomen; Household employees ; Kings and rulers ; Kyogen ; Lawyers; Lesbians ; Male college students ; Male impersonators ; Medici, House of ; Messengers ; Minorities ; Monks ; Motion picture actors and actresses ; Musicians ; Muslim women ; Northmen ; Nuns ; Older people; Older women ; Overweight women ; Peasantry ; People with disabilities ; Pets ; Pioneers ; Pirates ; Plain People ; Preparatory school students ; Presidents' spouses ; Princesses ; Queens ; Rock musicians ; Sadomasochists ; Safaris ; Sailors ; Skateboarders ; Skaters ; Slaves ; Soccer players ; Teenage girls ; Teenagers ; Tenors Singers ; Tomboys ; Transgender people ; Witches ; Women entertainers ; Women heroes ; Working class ; Young men ; Youth ; etc.

See also subdivision Clothing under names of individuals such as:

     Lady Gaga Clothing.

See also headings such as:

     Clothing and dress Japan Tokyo Pictorial works

     Clothing and dress Balkan Peninsula History

     Clothing and dress Social aspects Balkan Peninsula

Clothing and dress in art

Clothing and dress in literature

Clothing and dress in literature History To 1500

Clothing and dress in motion pictures

Clothing and dress on television

Clothing trade

  See also: Clothing trade History ; Clothing trade History To 1500 ; Clothing trade Public relations ; Clothing trade Statistics

Coats

Coats Statistics

Cold weather clothing

Color in clothing

  See also: Color in clothing Forecasting ; Color in clothing History Exhibitions ; Color in clothing Standards

       See also:  Red ; Black ; White ; Gray ; Green ; Stripes ; Color ; Color Psychological aspects ; Color Social aspects ; Colors ; Symbolism of colors ; etc.

Corsets

  See also: Corsets History ; Corsets Patterns ; Corsets Social aspects

Cosplay

Costume

  See also Fashion ; Clothing and dress

  See also Costume subdivided by geographic area such as: Costume France 18th Century ; Costume United States ; Costume Andes Region ; Costume Great Britain Periodicals

Costume Caricatures and cartoons

Costume Collectors and collecting

Costume Conservation and restoration

Costume Dictionaries

Costume Early works to 1800

Costume Europe History

Costume Europe History Medieval 500-1500

Costume Exhibitions

Costume History

Costume History To 500

Costume History 15th century

Costume History 16th century

Costume History 17th century

Costume History 18th century

Costume History 19th century

Costume History 20th century

Costume History 21st century Pictorial works

Costume History Dictionaries

Costume History Exhibitions

Costume Moral and ethical aspects

Costume Pictorial works

Costume Private collections

Costume Psychological aspects

Costume Religious aspects

Costume Sex differences

Costume Social aspects

Costume Symbolic aspects

Costume societies

Costume design

Costume design California Hollywood History

Costume design History

Costume design History 19th century

Costume design History 20th century

Costume design History Exhibitions

Costume design Sociological aspects

Costume design Standards

Costume design Vocational guidance

Costume designers

Costume designers Biography

Costume designers California Hollywood

Costume designers History

Costume designers Social life and customs

   See also Fashion designers ; Women costume designers ; or names of individual designers or firms.

Costume dolls

Costume in art

Costume in literature

Costume museums

Costume Society Periodicals

Crinolines

Cycling Clothing

Cyclists Clothing

Dance costume

Dandies

  See also: Dandyism ; Dandyism History ; Dandyism Political aspects

Debutante balls History

Doll clothes

Doll clothes Collectors and collecting

Dress accessories

  See also: Dress accessories Europe History ; Dress accessories History 17th century

Dresses

  See also: Dresses History 20th century ; Dresses History 21st century

Dressmaking

Eskimo leatherwork

Ethnic costume

  See also: Ethnic costume History ; Ethnic costume Influence

Evening gowns

  See also: Evening gowns History 20th century ; Evening gowns History 21st century

Fads

Fashion

  See also Clothing and dress ; Costume

  See also Fashion subdivided by geographic area such as: Fashion France ; Fashion Italy

Fashion History 21st century

Fashion History 21st century Exhibitions

Fashion History 21st century Pictorial works

Fashion History 21st century Sources

Fashion History Congresses

Fire fighters Uniforms

Flea markets

Flight attendants Uniforms

Flight jackets

Footwear

Formal wear

Foundation garments

  See also: Foundation garments History ; Foundation garments Social aspects

Fur garments

Gardening Clothing

Gauchos Pictorial works

Gauntlets Gloves

Gays Clothing

Geishas Pictorial works

Guayabera shirts

Gypsies Influence

Halloween costumes

Hats

Headgear

Heroines Costume

Hijab  Islamic clothing

Hip hop Clothing

Hollywood costume designers

Hoop skirts

Hosiery

Hot weather clothing

Indians Clothing

  See also headings such as: Athapascan Indians Clothing ; Indians of South America Clothing ; Indians of South America Clothing Andes Region

Infants’ clothing

Insignia

   See also subdivision Insignia under Armed forces ; Armies ; etc

Islamic clothing and dress

  See also: Muslim women Clothing America ; Muslim women Clothing Europe

Ivy league colleges Clothing

Jeans Clothing

  See also: Jeans Clothing Marketing Case studies ; Jeans Clothing Social aspects

Jewish clothing and dress

Kabuki Clothing

Kimonos

  See also: Kimonos History ; Kimonos Influence ; Kimonos Pattern design ; Kimonos Themes motives

Kitsch

Knitwear

  See also: Knit goods ; Knit goods Design ; Knitwear Design ; Knitwear History

Leather garments

Leather jackets

Lesbians Clothing

Lingerie

  See also: Lingerie Design ; Lingerie History ; Lingerie Pictorial works ; Lingerie industry Statistics

Luxuries

Luxury goods industry

Mannequins Figures

Mantillas

Masks

    See also Masquerades History ; Masquerades Social aspects

Maternity clothes

Men’s clothing

Men's clothing Blogs

Men's clothing Exhibitions

Men's clothing History

Men's clothing History 16th century

Men's clothing History 17th century

Men's clothing History 18th century

Men's clothing History 20th century

Men's clothing History 21st century

Men's clothing Humor

Men's clothing Influence

Men's clothing Periodicals

Men's clothing industry

Men’s furnishing goods

Military uniforms

   See also subdivisions Uniforms or Insignia under armies and navies of individual countries or continents.

   See also: Military uniforms History ; Military uniforms Influence

Millinery

Monasticism and religious orders

Monasticism and religious orders Habit

Motorcycle jackets

Motorcycle jackets History

Mourning etiquette Clothing

  See also:  Mourning customs ; Black Social aspects ; Black Psychological aspects.

Nationalism and clothing

Nō Costume

Nō masks

Opera Clothing

Overalls

Pajamas

Pants

  See also: Pants History 16th century ; Pants History 17th century ; etc.

Papal uniforms

Paper dolls

Paper garments

Plastic garments

Plus-size women's clothing

Police Uniforms

Polka dots in clothing

Popular culture

  See also: Popular culture History ; Popular culture History 20th century ; etc.

Prep school Clothing

Preparatory school students Clothing

Presidents' spouses Clothing

Princesses Clothing

     See also headings such as: Diana Princess of Wales 1961-1997 Clothing ; Catherine Duchess of Cambridge 1982- Clothing

Printed fashion apparel

Protective clothing

  See also: Protective clothing Technological innovations ; Protective clothing Testing

Queens Costume

Raincoats

Ready-to-wear clothing

Regalia Insignia

Resort wear

Riding habit

Robes

Romanies Influence

Rubber garments

Sailors Clothing Influence

Sarapes

Saris

School children’s clothing

Shawls

  See also: Shawls India Jammu and Kashmir ; Shawls Scotland Paisley

Shirts, Men's

Shirts, Men's History

Shoes

Shoes in art

Skirts

Skis and skiing Clothing

Slaves Costume

Sleepwear

Smocks

Smoking jackets

Soccer players Clothing

  See also: Soccer uniforms ; Soccer Heraldry

Space suits

Sport clothes

  See also: Sport clothes Design ; Sport clothes Periodicals ; Sport clothes for women ; Sport clothes for women History

Sports Clothing

Stoles Clothing

Street fashion

Streetstyle

Stylists

Suits Clothing

Suits Clothing History

Sweaters

Sweatshirts

T-shirts

  See also: T-shirts Design ; T-shirts History ; T-shirts Social aspects

Tailoring

  See also: Tailoring Womens ; Tailors

Tartans

  See also: Tartans Scotland ; Tartans Scotland History ; Tartans Scotland Maps

Teenagers Clothing Japan Tokyo Pictorial works

Textile design

Textile painting

Theatrical costume

  See also: Theatrical costume History ; Theatrical costume designers ; Theatrical costume designers Biography

Transsexuals Costume

Transvestism

  See also: Transvestism Cross cultural studies ; Transvestism Psychological aspects

Underwear

  See also: Underwear History ; Underwear History 16th century ; Underwear History 17th century ; Underwear Social aspects

Underwear industry Statistics

Uniforms

See also subdivision Uniforms under types of and names of organizations or groups, such as: Flight attendants Uniforms ; Flight crews Uniforms ; Marching bands Uniforms ; Nurses Uniforms ; etc.

United States Army Insignia

United States Army Insignia Medals, badges, decorations, etc ; United States Army Insignia Uniforms

United States Marine Corps

   See also: United States Marine Corps Medals badges decorations ;United States Marine Corps Uniforms

Used clothing industry

Vampires Clothing

Veils

  See also: Veils Religious aspects ; Veils Social aspects

Vests

Vintage clothing

  See also: Vintage clothing Collectors and collecting ; Vintage clothing Repairing

Vogue

Vogue Illustrations

Wearable art

Wearable computers

Wearable technology

Wedding costume

  See also: Weddings Clothing ; Wedding costume Cross-cultural studies ; Wedding costume History 19th century ; Wedding costume History 20th century ; Brides ; Wedding photography ; Weddings Pictorial works ; Weddings Planning ; etc.

Women fashion designers

  See also: Women costume designers ; Women designers ; Women dressmakers

Women soldiers Uniforms

Women's clothing

Women's clothing Economic aspects

Women's clothing Forecasting

Women's clothing History 16th century

Women's clothing History 17th century

Women's clothing History 18th century

Women's clothing History 19th century

Women's clothing History 20th century

Women's clothing History Exhibitions

Women's clothing Humor

Women's clothing Islamic influences

Women's clothing Pictorial works

Women's clothing Psychological aspects

Women's clothing Social aspects

Women's clothing Symbolic aspects

Women's shoes

Women's shoes Social aspects Pictorial works

Work clothes

Work clothes History

Working class Clothing

  See also: Working class Clothing History 16th century ; Working class Clothing History 17th century ; etc.

Yoga Clothing

Youth Clothing Social life and customs

See also related headings such as:  Aesthetics ; Avant-garde Aesthetics ; Design protection ;  Gender identity ; Human comfort ; Illustrated periodicals ; Lifestyle ; Manners and customs ; Miniature dolls ; Minimal design ; Modesty ; Pattern design ; Patterns ; Seasons ; Secondhand trade ; Sumptuary laws ; Women's periodicals American

See also: Costume Japan ; Role playing Pictorial works ; Subculture Japan Pictorial works.

See also headings such as Fashion, Clothing and dress and Women's clothing subdivided by place such as:

     Fashion Middle East

     Women's clothing Middle East

See also countries subdivided by:

    Social life and customs

    Popular culture

CLOTHING & GROUPS OF PEOPLES

African American men Clothing

African American women Clothing

African American women Costume

African Americans Clothing

Aleuts Clothing

Anglo-Saxons Clothing

Batak Indonesian people Clothing

Eskimo leatherwork

Eskimos Clothing

Gypsies Influence

Herero African people Namibia Clothing

Indians Clothing

Indians of Central America Clothing

Indians of North America

Indians of North America Clothing

Indians of North America Clothing Embroidery

Indians of North America Clothing Masks

     See also subdivided by state or region

Indians of South America

Indians of South America Clothing

See also individual Indian tribes subdivided by Clothing such as Apache Indians Clothing ; Incas Clothing ; Mayas Clothing ; Pueblo Indians Clothing ; Seminole Indians Clothing ; etc

Indian textile fabrics

Islamic clothing and dress

Jewish clothing and dress

Lambadi Indic people Clothing

Muslim women Clothing

Manchus Clothing

Romanies Influence

Vikings Clothing

   See also: Textile fabrics Viking ; Viking antiquities

 

See also peoples subdivided by Clothing such as:

   China Kings and rulers Clothing

See also Costume, Fashion, Clothing and dress, or Women's clothing subdivided by geographic area such as: Costume France 18th Century ; Costume United States ; Fashion Middle East ; Women's clothing Middle East ; Fashion France

See also countries subdivided by:

   Social life and customs

   Popular culture

See also headings such as: Indigenous peoples Pictorial works

 

 

ECO-CHIC / FASHION

Clothing and dress Alteration

Clothing and dress Environmental aspects

Clothing and dress Remaking  

Clothing and dress Social aspects

Clothing trade Developing countries

Clothing trade Environmental aspects

Clothing trade Moral and ethical aspects

Clothing trade Technological innovations

Clothing trade Waste minimization

Cosmetics Environmental aspects

Cotton Genetics

Cotton trade Developing countries

Cotton weaving Health aspects

Dressmaking Environmental aspects

Dyes and dyeing Textile fibers

Fashion Environmental aspects

Fashion Moral and ethical aspects

Fashion Social aspects

Fashion design Environmental aspects

Fur trade Moral and ethical aspects

Fur trade Social aspects

Green products

Hair preparations Environmental aspects

Herbal cosmetics

Leather industry and trade Environmental aspects

Luxury goods industry Environmental aspects

Natural products

Perfumes Environmental aspects

Recycled products

Salvage Waste etc.

Shopping Environmental aspects

Slow fashion

Social responsibility of business

Textile fabrics  Conservation and restoration

Textile fabrics Environmental aspects

Textile fabrics Recycling

Textile fabrics Technological innovations

Textile fibers  Health aspects

Textile fibers  Technological innovations

Textile industry  Environmental aspects

Textile industry  Technological innovations

Textile waste

Textile workers Health and hygiene

Vintage clothing

Wearable computers  Industrial applications

      See also headings such as:

Animal experimentation

Animal models in research

Animal rights

Animal rights activists

Animal rights movement

Animal welfare  Moral and ethical aspects

Animals  Treatment

Animals  Moral and ethical aspects

Dolphins  Effect of hunting on

Endangered species

Fishes Conservation

Fishes  Mercury content

Laboratory animals

Poaching  Japan

See also headings such as:

Global Girlfriend Firm

Organic Fiber Council

Organic Trade Association

Tierra Ecologia Firm

ECO-TEXTILES

See also keywords such as:  natural fibers , natural dyes , vegetable dyes , botanical dyes , eco yarns , environmentally friendly linen , sustainable silks , organic cotton/hemp , recycled denim , recycled remnants , etc.

See also related headings such as:

Clothing and dress Environmental aspects

Clothing and dress Remaking

Clothing trade Environmental aspects

Clothing trade Waste minimization

Cotton weaving Health aspects

Fashion Environmental aspects

Fashion design  Environmental aspects

Fur trade  Moral and ethical aspects

Fur trade   Social aspects

Leather industry and trade Environmental aspects

Paper thread

Recycling (Waste, etc.)

Slow fashion

Smart materials

Sustainability

Textile design Environmental aspects

Textile fabrics Environmental aspects

Textile fabrics Technological innovations

Textile fibers Technological innovations

Textile industry Environmental aspects

Textile industry Waste disposal

Textile workers Health and hygiene

FASHION IN FILM

See specific costume designers such as: Adrian 1903-1959 ; Devine, Sophie, 1901- ; Head, Edith ; Irene, 1901-1962 ; Sartoria Farani ; Sharaff, Irene ; etc.

See also headings such as:

Academy awards Motion pictures History Pictorial works

Academy awards Motion pictures Pictorial works

Actresses Clothing

Celebrities Clothing

  See also: Celebrities California Beverly Hills ; Celebrities France Saint-Tropez

Celebrities Portraits

Clothing and dress in motion pictures

Clothing and dress on television

Costume Symbolic aspects

Costume design California Hollywood

Costume design California Hollywood History

Costume design California Los Angeles

Costume design Exhibitions

Costume designers California Hollywood

Costume designers California Los Angeles

Costume designers California Los Angeles Biography

Fashion design California Hollywood History

Fashion design California Los Angeles History

Fashion design in film

Fashion in motion pictures

Fashion in motion pictures Exhibitions

Fashion in motion pictures Quotations

Femmes fatales

Hollywood costume designers

Motion picture actors and actresses California Hollywood (Los Angeles, Calif.) Portraits

Motion picture actors and actresses Clothing

Motion picture actors and actresses Clothing Quotations

Motion picture actors and actresses Costume California Hollywood

Motion picture actors and actresses Costume California Los Angeles

Motion picture actors and actresses Portraits

Theatrical costume California Hollywood

Theatrical costume History

Theatrical costume History 20th century

FASHION, Art & Photography

Advertising Fashion

Art and photography

Fashion Periodicals

Fashion Pictorial works

Fashion photographs

Fashion photography

Fashion photography Exhibitions

Fashion photography New York State New York

Fashion shows Pictorial works

Fashion shows Slides

Glamour photography

Hollywood costume designers

Men Portraits

Models Persons

Photography Artistic

Photography Artistic Archival resources Catalogs

Photography Artistic History

Photography Erotic

Photography of men

Photography of the nude

Photography of women

Portrait photography

  See also headings subdivided by Portraits such as: Actors ; Celebrities ; Children ; Entertainers ; Motion picture actors and actresses ;  Musicians ; Princes ; Princesses ; Queens ; Rock musicians ; Women

Portrait photography History

Portrait photography Lighting and posing

Video art

Wedding photography


See also photographers such as:

Avedo, Richard

Dahl-Wolfe, Louise

Horst, 1906-

Mapplethorpe, Robert

FIT Archive on Demand, videos and DVDs include fashion runway videos as well as feature and documentary films.

See also related headings such as:

Costume Institute New York, NY

Council of Fashion Designer of America

House of Worth Firm

Mercedes Benz Australia Fashion Week

Rodeo Drive Beverly Hills Calif.

Savile Row London England

Shopping France Paris Guidebooks

Thrift shops France Paris Guidebooks

Vintage Showroom

Loading ...

Designer files & FITDIL (FIT digital image library)

FITdil

Search FITDIL for Designer Files: articles, newspaper clippings, ads, etc. from the 1970s to the present.  

Have a question or comment about these guides? Contact: libraryreference@fitnyc.edu