Skip to Main Content

Fashion and Clothing History

http://fitnyc.libguides.com/clothing

Menswear in History

Charicature of men's high fashion, 1818

1818, print on paper, "A Dandy Fainting; or, An Exquisite in Fits", Robert Cruikshank, Great Britain

detail of wool men's spat or footwear cover

c. 1918, wool, leather and horn, buttoned men's spat, Peal & Co., Great Britain

3 Congolese dandies show off their menswear style

2010, African sapeurs show off their bespoke style, Congo Brazzaville

British suiting fabrics in silks, wools, cottons

c. 1730-1780, men's suit fabrics, silk, cotton, wool and metal, Great Britain

detail of leather jacket and jeans worn by Marlon Brando in

1954, leather and cotton denim, Marlon Brando in movie "The Wild One", United States

Men at Roman symposium

c. 1st century C.E., wall fresco, men at banquet, Pompeii, Italy

1930s Osh Kosh B'Gosh overalls detail

1930s, cotton denim and brass, Osh Kosh B'Gosh overalls, United States

detail of men's 15th century helmet

1475, steel, sallet helmet, Germany

1820s wool and silk frock coat from Great Britain

1820s, wool with silk, men's frock coat, Great Britain

detail of Hogarth engraving of men gambling

1732, engraving on paper, "A Midnight Modern Conversation", William Hogarth, Great Britain

c. 1900, men's shirting cottons

c. 1900, cotton, men's shirts, T. Hodgkinson, Great Britain

miniature of Burgundian court around Philip the Good

1447, pigment on vellum, author presenting book to Duke Philip the Good, Rogier van der Weyden, Burgundy (now Belgium)

Engraved menswear advertisement from 1908, United States

1908, John J. Mitchell advertisement, United States

section of men's coat pocket in brocaded silk

1747, metal brocaded silk men's waistcoat, Anna Maria Garthwaite, Great Britain

Periodicals Accessible Online

DNR: Daily news record
trade publication
online: July 1996-November 2008
microfilm: July 1996-December 2005
Formerly Daily News Record
For textile manufacturers, men’s and boys’ clothing manufacturers, wholesalers, converters and retailers. Covers the menswear industry with news of the textile industry. Sister publication to Women’s Wear Daily. Includes classified section
Daily News Record
trade publication
January 1980-July 1988. Daily
online: February 1977-June 1996
microfilm: January 1966-June 1996
Continued by DNR
For textile manufacturers, men’s and boys’ clothing manufacturers, wholesalers, converters and retailers. Covers the menswear industry with news of the textile industry. Sister publication to Women’s Wear Daily. Includes classified section
The New York Times
Three-month retention. Daily
New York Times Historical: 1851-Current (Current FIT username and password required for access)
“All the News That’s Fit to Print”
WWD
trade publication
Current issues now online, only special issues printed
January 1980-January 1993; April 29, 2015-April 19 2017 + Special Issues. Weekly
Supplements: 2002-2017 (with gaps)
Formerly Women's Wear Daily
Women's Wear Daily Archive: January 3, 1980-Current (FIT username and password required for access)
Special Issues: WWD Book of Lists, WWD Century, WWD Ninety, and WWD: 100 years
Leading publication for the fashion industries
Wall Street Journal [Greater New York Edition]
Three-month retention. 6x per week. Includes monthly supplement, WSJ
Wall Street Journal Archive: January 2, 1984-Current (Current FIT username and password required for access)
National newspaper reporting on financial news, products, personnel changes and government affairs

Cosmopolitan
November 1972; January 1980-Current. Irregular
online: March 1886 - December 2005 (Current FIT username and password required for access)
For the contemporary woman. Features articles on beauty, health, fashion and social issues
Dazed
Spring 2014 (v4)-Current. Quarterly
online: 1991-Current (FIT username and password required for access)
Formerly Dazed & Confused
British style magazine covering music, fashion, film and art
Ebony
November 1969 (v25 n1)-September 2016 (v71 n11). 11x per year
Incorporating Ebony Man: EM
The Ebony Magazine Archive: November 1, 1945-Current (FIT username and password required for access)
Features African-Americans in politics, business and the arts. Earlier issues (1955-2001) available on microfilm
Vogue Italia
January 1970-Current. Monthly
Vogue Italia Archive: October 1965-current
In Italian. Features articles and images by leading fashion critics, photographers, stylists, illustrators, designers and models
World Footwear
trade publication
November/December 1988 (v2 n6)-Current. Quarterly
online: November 2013-current
Reports on the global shoe manufacturing industry. Emphasis on technical developments
WWD
trade publication
Current issues now online, only special issues printed
January 1980-January 1993; April 29, 2015-April 19 2017 + Special Issues. Weekly
Supplements: 2002-2017 (with gaps)
Formerly Women's Wear Daily
Women's Wear Daily Archive: January 3, 1980-Current (FIT username and password required for access)
Special Issues: WWD Book of Lists, WWD Century, WWD Ninety, and WWD: 100 years
Leading publication for the fashion industries

Emigre
1992 (n22)-Fall 2001 (n60) (with gaps). Semiannual
online: 1984-1994
A magazine published by Emigre Graphics to showcase the company’s cutting edge typeface designs and to comment on contemporary design.

Ad Age
trade publication
One-year retention. Quarterly
Formerly Advertising Age
online: June 1996-Sept 2017. (current FIT username and password required for access)
Special Issues: Fact Pack, Digital, Agency, and Annual
National newspaper for advertisers and marketers. Covers current advertising campaigns, advertising agency personnel changes and industry news. Includes classified section
Business of Fashion: BOF
trade publication
Autumn 2013-October 2019. Semiannual
online: January 2013-Current (Current FIT username and password required for access)
Publication providing an informed, analytical and opinionated point of view on the fashion business, delivering fashion intelligence on emerging designers, disruptive technologies and global brands that are making their mark on the industry
California Apparel News
trade publication
Three-year retention. Weekly
News for designers, manufacturers and retailers on the West Coast. Emphasis on swimwear and sportswear. Includes classified section
DNR: Daily news record
trade publication
online: July 1996-November 2008
microfilm: July 1996-December 2005
Formerly Daily News Record
For textile manufacturers, men’s and boys’ clothing manufacturers, wholesalers, converters and retailers. Covers the menswear industry with news of the textile industry. Sister publication to Women’s Wear Daily. Includes classified section
Daily News Record
trade publication
January 1980-July 1988. Daily
online: February 1977-June 1996
microfilm: January 1966-June 1996
Continued by DNR
For textile manufacturers, men’s and boys’ clothing manufacturers, wholesalers, converters and retailers. Covers the menswear industry with news of the textile industry. Sister publication to Women’s Wear Daily. Includes classified section
Ecotextile News
trade publication
online: February 2007-Current. 6x per year. (FIT username and password required for access)
An environmental magazine for the global textiles industry and the fashion supply chain. Published in eco-friendly offices in Normanton, Yorkshire, UK.
Home & Textiles Today
trade publication
May 25, 1987 (v8 n20)-Current. 12x per year
Special Issue: Business Annual
The trade newspaper of the home textiles industry. Includes sheets, blankets, curtains, towels, etc
The New York Times
Three-month retention. Daily
New York Times Historical: 1851-Current (Current FIT username and password required for access)
“All the News That’s Fit to Print”
Textiles (2005)
trade publication
2005 (v32 n3&4)-Current. 3x per year
Formerly Textiles Magazine
online: 2004-current (Current FIT username and password required for access)
Published by the Textile Institute in the U.K. Explanations of textile science and technology in non-technical language
Wall Street Journal [Greater New York Edition]
Three-month retention. 6x per week. Includes monthly supplement, WSJ
Wall Street Journal Archive: January 2, 1984-Current (Current FIT username and password required for access)
National newspaper reporting on financial news, products, personnel changes and government affairs
WGSN (Worth Global Style Network)
WGSN (Worth Global Style Network) provides forward trend analysis are creative intelligence for executives, designers, marketers and buyers. WGSN provides 24/7 access to future trends, color palettes and real-time trend tracking. Access commercial catwalk product direction, 1,500 brands per season, over 15,000 original sketches and graphics, and 4,000,000 product images.
WWD
trade publication
Current issues now online, only special issues printed
January 1980-January 1993; April 29, 2015-April 19 2017 + Special Issues. Weekly
Supplements: 2002-2017 (with gaps)
Formerly Women's Wear Daily
Women's Wear Daily Archive: January 3, 1980-Current (FIT username and password required for access)
Special Issues: WWD Book of Lists, WWD Century, WWD Ninety, and WWD: 100 years
Leading publication for the fashion industries

Dazed
Spring 2014 (v4)-Current. Quarterly
online: 1991-Current (FIT username and password required for access)
Formerly Dazed & Confused
British style magazine covering music, fashion, film and art
Dazed Beauty
Spring 2019. Semiannual
Published in London by the publishers of Dazed Magazine, a magazine “celebrating identity, self-expression and creativity through the transformational power of beauty. It’s a space to document, deconstruct and experiment with beauty in all it’s forms.”

Doneger Tobe This link opens in a new window
Trend reports & forecasting for fashion. Use the password listed for Doneger.

Essence
May 1970 (v1)-Current. Bimonthly
online: May 1970-December 2005 (FIT username and password required for access)
Fashion, beauty, home decorating, food and general features aimed at African-American women

Fashion Snoops This link opens in a new window
Users are required to create a MY FS account

Trend reports & forecasting for fashion. Use Mozilla/Firefox, Google Chrome, Safari and Internet Explorer (version 10 and up only - older versions of Internet Explorer are not compatible).
Fashion Studies Online: The Videofashion Library This link opens in a new window
Spanning almost 40 years, this collection includes over 1,200 hours of videos of runway shows, designer profiles, and documentary films including coverage of the major fashion weeks in Milan, Paris, New York and London, as well as Miami swim and New York bridal collections.

Harper's Bazaar
1930-Current. 10x per year
microfilm: November 1867-December 1923; January 1975-December 1976
The Harper's Bazaar Archive: November 2, 1867-Current (FIT username and password required for access)
(Earlier Issues available in Special Collections)
Leading American high fashion magazine.
Seventeen
March 1971 (v30 n3)-December/January 2018/2019 (v77 n5). 5x per year
microfilm: January 1967-December 1976
online: September 1944-December 2005 (FIT username and password required for access)
Directed at teenaged girls. Departments in fashion, beauty, entertainment, home furnishings, food and health
Vogue [American]
April -June 1927; Jan-Mar 1928; Jan 1933-Current (with gaps). 10x per year
Vogue Archive: all issues (FIT username and password required for access)
(Earlier issues available in Special Collections)
Widely-regarded as the most influential American fashion magazine; features articles and images by leading fashion critics, photographers, stylists, illustrators, designers and models
Vogue Italia
January 1970-Current. Monthly
Vogue Italia Archive: October 1965-current
In Italian. Features articles and images by leading fashion critics, photographers, stylists, illustrators, designers and models

WGSN Fashion This link opens in a new window
Trend reports & forecasting for fashion
Students must create an account and re-activate their account every 90 days: click to create or re-activate account:
https://www-wgsn-com.libproxy.fitsuny.edu/accounts/edu

Locked out of your account for too many incorrect login attempts? Reset your password here:
https://www.wgsn.com/auth/forgotpassword

To access WGSN Fashion

login via the proxy and then with your WGSN username and password
select the part of the site you wish to use from the top menu under "Fashion"
Use an incognito browser to access this resource.Students must create an account and re-activate their account every 90 days: click on re-activate account.

Clothing Cultures
scholarly
2014 (v1 n1); 2016 (v3 n1). 3x per year
online: October 2013 (v1 n1)-Current (Current FIT username and password required for access)
This journal discusses universal themes and issues on how clothes determine social interaction and behavior and their statement of one’s values or culture. It also offers a forum for the discussion of textiles and their significance in the production and consumption of clothing
Costume: The Journal of the Costume Society
scholarly
1967-Current. Semiannual
online: 1965/66-Current (Current FIT username and password required for access)
The journal of the Costume Society of the United Kingdom. Book reviews and scholarly articles about the history of dress and costume design
Critical Studies in Fashion & Beauty
scholarly
online: October 2010 (v1 n1)-Current
A journal dedicated to the examination of fashion and beauty systems as symbolic spaces of production and reproduction, representation and communication of artifacts, meanings, social practices, and renditions of cloth, clothing and appearance
Critical Studies in Men's Fashion
scholarly
2014 (v1 n1); 2015 (v2 n2/3). 3x per year
online: October 2013 (v1 n1)-Current (Current FIT username and password required for access)
Examines the multi-faceted dimensions of men’s appearance and provides a dedicated space for the discussion, analysis, and theoretical development of men’s appearance from multiple disciplines
Dress
scholarly
1975 (v1 n1)-Current. 2x per year
online: January 1975 (v1 n1)-Current (Current FIT username and password required for access)
The journal of the Costume Society of America. “Dedicated to the better understanding of the field of costume study in America”
Fashion, Style & Popular Culture
scholarly
2014 (v1 n1). 3x per year
online: October 2013 (v1 n1)-Current (Current FIT username and password required for access)
A peer-reviewed journal specifically dedicated to the area of fashion scholarship and its interfacings with popular culture. It was established to provide an interdisciplinary environment for fashion academics and practitioners to publish innovative scholarship in all aspects of fashion and popular culture relating to design, textiles, production, promotion, consumption and appearance-related products and services
Fashion Practice
scholarly
May 2009 (v1 n1)-Current. 2x per year
online: May 2009 (v1 n1)-Current. (Current FIT username and password required for access)
Peer-reviewed academic journal covering contemporary fashion design and garment manufacturing
Fashion Studies
scholarly
Online: June 2018 (v1 n1) - Current. Semiannual
This is an open access, peer reviewed academic journal in fashion studies, available to all at no cost to readers or authors. We believe in the democratic dissemination of scholarly and creative work that removes Western and elitist barriers and paywalls.
Fashion Theory
scholarly
March 1997 (v1 n1)-Current. 5x per year
online: February 1997 (v1 n1)-Current (Current FIT username and password required for access)
Social and psychological aspects of fashion presented in scholarly articles
Film, Fashion & Consumption
scholarly
online: January 2011 (v1 n1)-Current (Current FIT username and password required for access)
Film, Fashion & Consumption is a peer-reviewed journal designed to provide an arena for the discussion of research, methods and practice within and between the fields of film, fashion, design, history, art history and heritage.
International Journal of Fashion Studies
scholarly
2014 (v1 n1); 2015 (v2 n2). Semiannual
online: April 2014 (v1 n1)-Current (Current FIT username and password required for access)
A scientific peer-reviewed journal that fosters the worldwide diffusion of Fashion Studies. Fashion Studies is an interdisciplinary field of research that has been producing an extensive repertoire of theories, analyses and enquiries
Journal of Textile Design Research and Practice
scholarly
November 2013 (v1 n1)-Current. Semiannual
online: November 2013 (v1 n1)-Current. (FIT username and password required for access)
A journal that publishes research through textile designing and making, research informed by textiles, and research for textile design education
Textile: The Journal of Cloth & Culture
scholarly
March 2004 (v2 n1)-Current. 3x per year
online: March 2003 (v1 n1)-Current (FIT username and password required for access)
Peer-reviewed scholarly journal addressing histories and theories of the cultural meanings of textiles. Includes full-color illustrations. Published in the U.K.
Textile History (delayed)
scholarly
December 1971 (v2 n1)-Current. Semiannual
online: December 1968 (v1 n1)-Current (Current FIT username and password required for access)
Scholarly articles on the history and development of the textile industry

Better Homes & Gardens
March 1978-Current. (with gaps). Monthly
microfilm: September 1950-December 2000
online: July 1922-December 2005 (Current FIT username and password required for access)
A general circulation magazine concerned with gardens, interior decoration, etc.
Buildings
trade publication
online: January 1989-Current. Monthly (Current FIT username and password required for access)
Title serves building and facility professionals involved in new construction, management, and modernization of office, commercial spaces, or institutions
Ecotextile News
trade publication
online: February 2007-Current. 6x per year. (FIT username and password required for access)
An environmental magazine for the global textiles industry and the fashion supply chain. Published in eco-friendly offices in Normanton, Yorkshire, UK.
Furniture/Today
trade publication
Two-year retention. Weekly
(2001-Current available through link in record)
Special issues: The List, Retail Planning Guide. Buyer's Guide available through link in record
The business newspaper of the American furniture industry. Covers store openings, trade shows, marts, consumer buying habits, etc. Includes classified section
HFN: The Weekly Newspaper for the Home Furnishings Network
trade publication
One-year retention. Monthly
online: January 1995-June 2009.
microfilm: January 1995-December 2005.
Formerly HFD
For manufacturers and retailers of home furnishings. Includes classified section
Home & Textiles Today
trade publication
May 25, 1987 (v8 n20)-Current. 12x per year
Special Issue: Business Annual
The trade newspaper of the home textiles industry. Includes sheets, blankets, curtains, towels, etc
Home Accents Today
trade publication
January 2005 (v20 n1)-Current. Monthly
(issues from 2004-Current available through link in record)
The information source for the home accent industry.

AnOther Man
Autumn/Winter 2005 (n1)-Spring/Summer 2007 (n4); Autumn/Winter 2009 (n9)-Autumn/Winter 2019 (n 29). 2x per year
online: Autumn/Winter 2005 (n1)-Current. (FIT username and password required for access)
High-end men’s fashion magazine from the publishers of Dazed & Confused and AnOther Magazine. Combined with AnOther magazine and now published online only.
Daily News Record
trade publication
January 1980-July 1988. Daily
online: February 1977-June 1996
microfilm: January 1966-June 1996
Continued by DNR
For textile manufacturers, men’s and boys’ clothing manufacturers, wholesalers, converters and retailers. Covers the menswear industry with news of the textile industry. Sister publication to Women’s Wear Daily. Includes classified section
DNR: Daily news record
trade publication
online: July 1996-November 2008
microfilm: July 1996-December 2005
Formerly Daily News Record
For textile manufacturers, men’s and boys’ clothing manufacturers, wholesalers, converters and retailers. Covers the menswear industry with news of the textile industry. Sister publication to Women’s Wear Daily. Includes classified section
Ebony
November 1969 (v25 n1)-September 2016 (v71 n11). 11x per year
Incorporating Ebony Man: EM
The Ebony Magazine Archive: November 1, 1945-Current (FIT username and password required for access)
Features African-Americans in politics, business and the arts. Earlier issues (1955-2001) available on microfilm
Esquire
August 1979 (v92 n2)-Current. 6x per year
The Esquire Magazine Archive: October 15, 1933-March 2, 2014 (FIT username and password required for access)
Formerly Esquire Fortnightly
Men’s magazine covering men’s fashion and clothes, culture and entertainment and advice on money matte

AnOther Magazine
Autumn/Winter 2001 (n1) - Autumn/Winter 2021 (n39). (with gaps) 2x per year
online: Autumn/Winter 2001 (n1)-Current. (FIT username and password required for access)
Avant-garde culture and fashion magazine from the publishers of Dazed & Confused and AnOther Man
Better Homes & Gardens
March 1978-Current. (with gaps). Monthly
microfilm: September 1950-December 2000
online: July 1922-December 2005 (Current FIT username and password required for access)
A general circulation magazine concerned with gardens, interior decoration, etc.
Cosmopolitan
November 1972; January 1980-Current. Irregular
online: March 1886 - December 2005 (Current FIT username and password required for access)
For the contemporary woman. Features articles on beauty, health, fashion and social issues
Dazed
Spring 2014 (v4)-Current. Quarterly
online: 1991-Current (FIT username and password required for access)
Formerly Dazed & Confused
British style magazine covering music, fashion, film and art
Dazed Beauty
Spring 2019. Semiannual
Published in London by the publishers of Dazed Magazine, a magazine “celebrating identity, self-expression and creativity through the transformational power of beauty. It’s a space to document, deconstruct and experiment with beauty in all it’s forms.”
Ebony
November 1969 (v25 n1)-September 2016 (v71 n11). 11x per year
Incorporating Ebony Man: EM
The Ebony Magazine Archive: November 1, 1945-Current (FIT username and password required for access)
Features African-Americans in politics, business and the arts. Earlier issues (1955-2001) available on microfilm
Essence
May 1970 (v1)-Current. Bimonthly
online: May 1970-December 2005 (FIT username and password required for access)
Fashion, beauty, home decorating, food and general features aimed at African-American women
Good Housekeeping
February 1947 (v124 n2); April 1947 (v124 n4) - May 1958 (v146 n5); January 1972 (v174 n1) - Current (with gaps). 10x per year
microfilm: May 1885 - September 1909
microfilm: October 1909 - April 1916
microfilm: May 1916 - December 1924
online: May 1885 - December 2005 (Current FIT username and password required for access)
Women’s magazine with emphasis on home, family life, food, health, beauty, personalities and social issues
Ladies Home Journal
microfilm: January 1955 (v72) - December 1994 (v111); January 1975 - December 1976. Monthly
online: December 1885 - December 2005 (FIT username and password required for access)
(Earlier Issues available in Special Collections)
An American women's magazine first published in 1883
Seventeen
March 1971 (v30 n3)-December/January 2018/2019 (v77 n5). 5x per year
microfilm: January 1967-December 1976
online: September 1944-December 2005 (FIT username and password required for access)
Directed at teenaged girls. Departments in fashion, beauty, entertainment, home furnishings, food and health
Town & Country
October 1937- Current. Monthly
online: February 14, 1846 - December 2005 (FIT username and password required for access)
(Earlier issues available in Special Collections)
Magazine targeting American high society. Regular features of news, fashion, beauty/health, architecture/design, travel and society parties
Vogue Italia
January 1970-Current. Monthly
Vogue Italia Archive: October 1965-current
In Italian. Features articles and images by leading fashion critics, photographers, stylists, illustrators, designers and models
Woman's Day
May 9, 2000 (v63 n9)-Current. 9x per year
online: October 1937-December 2005 (Current FIT username and password required for access)
Provides articles on food and nutrition, health and fitness, beauty and fashion, as well as home and family

Menswear Books

Fashioning Masculinities

GT1710 .F37

Jocks and Nerds

TT617 .M375 1989

American Menswear

GT605 .H55 2011

cover of book One Hundred Years of Menswear

One Hundred Years of Menswear

TT617 .B52 2009

Reigning Men: fashion in menswear, 1715-2015

TT617 .L67 2016

A History of Men's Fashion

GT1710 .C54 1993

Fashionisto

GT1710 .W37 2010

Vintage Menswear

GT1710 .G95

The Cut of Men's Clothes, 1600-1900

TT504 .W38 1964

Ceremonial Costume

GT1755 .G7 M36

Ivy Style

GT738 .I79 2012

Men's Fashion in the Twentieth Century

GT1710 .C68 1997

The Male Image: men's fashion in Britain, 1300-1970

GT733 .B9

The Man of Fashion

GT1710 .M38 1997

Ten Kings' Clothes

GT1755 .D4 J6413

More menswear

Menswear Periodicals by Decade

Sears
store catalog
1960-Spring/Summer 1993. Semiannual
microfilm: 1888-1993
(Earlier issues available in Special Collections)
A chain department store that sells mid-range apparel, accessories, home décor and furnishings, appliances, electronics and more. Catalog now available online only

Sears
store catalog
1960-Spring/Summer 1993. Semiannual
microfilm: 1888-1993
(Earlier issues available in Special Collections)
A chain department store that sells mid-range apparel, accessories, home décor and furnishings, appliances, electronics and more. Catalog now available online only

Apparel Arts (1956)
July 1956 (v26 n7)-Winter 1957 (v27 n9). Monthly
Formerly Esquire's Apparel Arts, continued by Gentlemen’s Quarterly
Men’s fashion and lifestyle magazine. Includes color and fabric swatches
Esquire (1933)
March 1956 (v45 n3)-February 1978 (v89 n2) (with gaps). Monthly
The Esquire Magazine Archive: October 15, 1933-March 2, 2014 (FIT username and password required for access)
Continued by Esquire Fortnightly
Men’s magazine covering men’s fashion and clothes, culture and entertainment and advice on money matters
Gentlemen's Quarterly: GQ
Spring 1958 (v28 n2)-May 1983 (v53 n5). Monthly
microfilm:February 1969-January 1982
Formerly Apparel Arts (1956), Continued by GQ
Leading men’s fashion magazine, featuring interviews, financial news, health issues, food and travel
Gentry
Winter 1951 (n1)-Fall 1956 (n20). Quarterly
This stylish menswear magazine not only covered groundbreaking art and architecture, but also featured the best of 1950s graphic design. Created by the directors of American Fabrics , it was only published from 1951-1957.
Sears
store catalog
1960-Spring/Summer 1993. Semiannual
microfilm: 1888-1993
(Earlier issues available in Special Collections)
A chain department store that sells mid-range apparel, accessories, home décor and furnishings, appliances, electronics and more. Catalog now available online only

Daily News Record
trade publication
January 1980-July 1988. Daily
online: February 1977-June 1996
microfilm: January 1966-June 1996
Continued by DNR
For textile manufacturers, men’s and boys’ clothing manufacturers, wholesalers, converters and retailers. Covers the menswear industry with news of the textile industry. Sister publication to Women’s Wear Daily. Includes classified section
Esquire (1933)
March 1956 (v45 n3)-February 1978 (v89 n2) (with gaps). Monthly
The Esquire Magazine Archive: October 15, 1933-March 2, 2014 (FIT username and password required for access)
Continued by Esquire Fortnightly
Men’s magazine covering men’s fashion and clothes, culture and entertainment and advice on money matters
Gentlemen's Quarterly: GQ
Spring 1958 (v28 n2)-May 1983 (v53 n5). Monthly
microfilm:February 1969-January 1982
Formerly Apparel Arts (1956), Continued by GQ
Leading men’s fashion magazine, featuring interviews, financial news, health issues, food and travel
JC Penney
store catalog
Fall/Winter 1963; 1967-2011 (with gaps)
An American department store that sells apparel, home furnishings, jewelry, cosmetics, electronics, and more. Catalog also available online
MascuLines
trade publication
October/November 1969 (v13 n5); February/March 1971 (v15 n1)-August/September 1984 (v28 n4). Bimonthly
“The only magazine serving 10,325 masculine garment manufacturers, their production and merchandising executives”
Men's Wear
February 1964-August 1983. Biweekly
Upscale men’s magazine intended for both the consumer and the professional. Cultural and sporting events are covered, mostly as a means of displaying upscale menswear trends
[Menswear Magazine Collection]
1967-Current (with gaps)
A browsable collection of international and U.S. menswear magazines. See record for titles included in collection
Sears
store catalog
1960-Spring/Summer 1993. Semiannual
microfilm: 1888-1993
(Earlier issues available in Special Collections)
A chain department store that sells mid-range apparel, accessories, home décor and furnishings, appliances, electronics and more. Catalog now available online only
L'Uomo Vogue
1969 (n6)-November 2019 (n006).(with gaps). 10x per year
In Italian, with some English translations. Fashion reporting and photography on the menswear industry in Europe, especially Italy, and the U.S.

Daily News Record
trade publication
January 1980-July 1988. Daily
online: February 1977-June 1996
microfilm: January 1966-June 1996
Continued by DNR
For textile manufacturers, men’s and boys’ clothing manufacturers, wholesalers, converters and retailers. Covers the menswear industry with news of the textile industry. Sister publication to Women’s Wear Daily. Includes classified section
Esquire
August 1979 (v92 n2)-Current. 6x per year
The Esquire Magazine Archive: October 15, 1933-March 2, 2014 (FIT username and password required for access)
Formerly Esquire Fortnightly
Men’s magazine covering men’s fashion and clothes, culture and entertainment and advice on money matte
Esquire (1933)
March 1956 (v45 n3)-February 1978 (v89 n2) (with gaps). Monthly
The Esquire Magazine Archive: October 15, 1933-March 2, 2014 (FIT username and password required for access)
Continued by Esquire Fortnightly
Men’s magazine covering men’s fashion and clothes, culture and entertainment and advice on money matters
Esquire Fortnightly
March 1, 1978 (v89 n3)-July 3-19, 1979 (v91 n13). Monthly
The Esquire Magazine Archive: October 15, 1933-March 2, 2014 (FIT username and password required for access)
Formerly Esquire (1933), Continued by Esquire
Men’s magazine covering men’s fashion and clothes, culture and entertainment and advice on money matters
Gentlemen's Quarterly: GQ
Spring 1958 (v28 n2)-May 1983 (v53 n5). Monthly
microfilm:February 1969-January 1982
Formerly Apparel Arts (1956), Continued by GQ
Leading men’s fashion magazine, featuring interviews, financial news, health issues, food and travel
JC Penney
store catalog
Fall/Winter 1963; 1967-2011 (with gaps)
An American department store that sells apparel, home furnishings, jewelry, cosmetics, electronics, and more. Catalog also available online
MascuLines
trade publication
October/November 1969 (v13 n5); February/March 1971 (v15 n1)-August/September 1984 (v28 n4). Bimonthly
“The only magazine serving 10,325 masculine garment manufacturers, their production and merchandising executives”
Men's Harper's Bazaar Italia
February/March 1979 (n1)-July/August 1983 (n20). Bimonthly
Continued by Uomo Harper's Bazaar
In Italian. Fashions and features for men
Men's Wear
February 1964-August 1983. Biweekly
Upscale men’s magazine intended for both the consumer and the professional. Cultural and sporting events are covered, mostly as a means of displaying upscale menswear trends
[Menswear Magazine Collection]
1967-Current (with gaps)
A browsable collection of international and U.S. menswear magazines. See record for titles included in collection
L'Officiel Hommes
Continued by L'Officiel Hommes (2005)
September 1977-February/March 1991 (n86) (with gaps). Bimonthly
In French. A men’s fashion magazine
SIR: Men's International Fashion Journal
1971 (n3)-1978 (n2). (with gaps). Quarterly
Menswear fashion forecasting magazine published in the Netherlands in German, French, and English with some Italian and Spanish translations
Sears
store catalog
1960-Spring/Summer 1993. Semiannual
microfilm: 1888-1993
(Earlier issues available in Special Collections)
A chain department store that sells mid-range apparel, accessories, home décor and furnishings, appliances, electronics and more. Catalog now available online only
L'Uomo Vogue
1969 (n6)-November 2019 (n006).(with gaps). 10x per year
In Italian, with some English translations. Fashion reporting and photography on the menswear industry in Europe, especially Italy, and the U.S.
Vogue Hommes
Winter 1976/77 (n1)-December/January 1996 (n185). 10x per year
Continued by Vogue Hommes International Mode
In French. Devoted to current trends in menswear with emphasis on French industry
Vogue Hommes (Numero Hors-serie)
March 1973- Spring 1976. Quarterly
In French. Devoted to current trends in menswear with emphasis on French industry

Arena
March/April 1987 (n2)-December 2008 (n201). (with gaps). Bimonthly
British men’s magazine covering culture, fashion, lifestyles and women
Collezioni Uomo
runway
Spring/Summer 1988 (n1)-Spring/Summer 2020 (n96). Semiannual
In English and Italian. Features the Florence, Milan, Barcelona, Paris and Cologne runway
Daily News Record
trade publication
January 1980-July 1988. Daily
online: February 1977-June 1996
microfilm: January 1966-June 1996
Continued by DNR
For textile manufacturers, men’s and boys’ clothing manufacturers, wholesalers, converters and retailers. Covers the menswear industry with news of the textile industry. Sister publication to Women’s Wear Daily. Includes classified section
Details
June 1982-December/January 2015/2016. 10x per year
Features articles and photographs of new trends in fashion, art and life in New York
Esquire
August 1979 (v92 n2)-Current. 6x per year
The Esquire Magazine Archive: October 15, 1933-March 2, 2014 (FIT username and password required for access)
Formerly Esquire Fortnightly
Men’s magazine covering men’s fashion and clothes, culture and entertainment and advice on money matte
GQ
June 1983-Current. 8x per year
microfilm:January 1983-December 1998
Formerly Gentlemen's Quarterly: GQ
Leading men’s fashion magazine, featuring interviews, financial news, health issues, food and travel
Gentlemen's Quarterly: GQ
Spring 1958 (v28 n2)-May 1983 (v53 n5). Monthly
microfilm:February 1969-January 1982
Formerly Apparel Arts (1956), Continued by GQ
Leading men’s fashion magazine, featuring interviews, financial news, health issues, food and travel
JC Penney
store catalog
Fall/Winter 1963; 1967-2011 (with gaps)
An American department store that sells apparel, home furnishings, jewelry, cosmetics, electronics, and more. Catalog also available online
J. Crew
store catalog
1987; 1994-Current
A New York founded retail store that carries apparel and accessories for men, women, and children. Catalog also available online
MascuLines
trade publication
October/November 1969 (v13 n5); February/March 1971 (v15 n1)-August/September 1984 (v28 n4). Bimonthly
“The only magazine serving 10,325 masculine garment manufacturers, their production and merchandising executives”
Men's Guide to Fashion: MGF
August 1986-November 1991. Monthly
Fashions for young men
Men's Harper's Bazaar Italia
February/March 1979 (n1)-July/August 1983 (n20). Bimonthly
Continued by Uomo Harper's Bazaar
In Italian. Fashions and features for men
Men's Wear
February 1964-August 1983. Biweekly
Upscale men’s magazine intended for both the consumer and the professional. Cultural and sporting events are covered, mostly as a means of displaying upscale menswear trends
[Menswear Magazine Collection]
1967-Current (with gaps)
A browsable collection of international and U.S. menswear magazines. See record for titles included in collection
Mondo Uomo
November 1981; March/April 1983-November 1984; January/February 1994-July/August 1998. Semiannual
In Italian. Men’s fashion clothing and furnishings, with layouts on clothing, accessories and cologne. Also includes articles on current artists, movies, runway shows, cars, food and culture
Neiman Marcus
store catalog
1987; 1990; 1993-2019
A luxury department store which sells apparel, accessories, furniture, housewares, and more. Catalog also available online
L'Officiel Hommes
Continued by L'Officiel Hommes (2005)
September 1977-February/March 1991 (n86) (with gaps). Bimonthly
In French. A men’s fashion magazine
Per Lui
March 1985 (n27); February 1986 (n35)-September 1990 (n85). 11x per year
In Italian. A men’s fashion magazine
Sears
store catalog
1960-Spring/Summer 1993. Semiannual
microfilm: 1888-1993
(Earlier issues available in Special Collections)
A chain department store that sells mid-range apparel, accessories, home décor and furnishings, appliances, electronics and more. Catalog now available online only
Uomo Harper's Bazaar
September/October 1984 (n27); January/February 1985 (n29); May/June 1997 (n105). Bimonthly
Formerly Men's Harper's Bazaar Italia
In Italian. Fashions and features for men
Uomo Harper's Bazaar Collezioni Pret-a-Porter
runway
Autumn/Winter 1989/90 (n3). Semiannual
In Italian. Menswear runway shows
L'Uomo Vogue
1969 (n6)-November 2019 (n006).(with gaps). 10x per year
In Italian, with some English translations. Fashion reporting and photography on the menswear industry in Europe, especially Italy, and the U.S.
Vogue Hommes
Winter 1976/77 (n1)-December/January 1996 (n185). 10x per year
Continued by Vogue Hommes International Mode
In French. Devoted to current trends in menswear with emphasis on French industry
Vogue Hommes International Mode (hors-serie)
Autumn/Winter 1986/87 (n4)-Spring/Summer 1995 (n21). Semiannual
Continued by Vogue Hommes International Mode
In French with English translations. Devoted to current trends in menswear with emphasis on French industry

Arena
March/April 1987 (n2)-December 2008 (n201). (with gaps). Bimonthly
British men’s magazine covering culture, fashion, lifestyles and women
Barney's New York
store catalog
1999-2019
An upscale department store that sells designer apparel and accessories for men, women, and children. Catalog also available online
Bergdorf Goodman
store catalog
1990; 1993-2018
A luxury goods department store located in New York that sells clothing, footwear, bedding, furniture, jewelry, beauty products, and housewares. Catalog also available online
Collezioni Uomo
runway
Spring/Summer 1988 (n1)-Spring/Summer 2020 (n96). Semiannual
In English and Italian. Features the Florence, Milan, Barcelona, Paris and Cologne runway
DNR: Daily news record
trade publication
online: July 1996-November 2008
microfilm: July 1996-December 2005
Formerly Daily News Record
For textile manufacturers, men’s and boys’ clothing manufacturers, wholesalers, converters and retailers. Covers the menswear industry with news of the textile industry. Sister publication to Women’s Wear Daily. Includes classified section
Daily News Record
trade publication
January 1980-July 1988. Daily
online: February 1977-June 1996
microfilm: January 1966-June 1996
Continued by DNR
For textile manufacturers, men’s and boys’ clothing manufacturers, wholesalers, converters and retailers. Covers the menswear industry with news of the textile industry. Sister publication to Women’s Wear Daily. Includes classified section
Details
June 1982-December/January 2015/2016. 10x per year
Features articles and photographs of new trends in fashion, art and life in New York
Esquire
August 1979 (v92 n2)-Current. 6x per year
The Esquire Magazine Archive: October 15, 1933-March 2, 2014 (FIT username and password required for access)
Formerly Esquire Fortnightly
Men’s magazine covering men’s fashion and clothes, culture and entertainment and advice on money matte
GQ
June 1983-Current. 8x per year
microfilm:January 1983-December 1998
Formerly Gentlemen's Quarterly: GQ
Leading men’s fashion magazine, featuring interviews, financial news, health issues, food and travel
JC Penney
store catalog
Fall/Winter 1963; 1967-2011 (with gaps)
An American department store that sells apparel, home furnishings, jewelry, cosmetics, electronics, and more. Catalog also available online
J. Crew
store catalog
1987; 1994-Current
A New York founded retail store that carries apparel and accessories for men, women, and children. Catalog also available online
Lord & Taylor
store catalog
1993-2001; 2006-2007; 2012; 2015-2016
Known for being the oldest retail department store in the USA, this department store carries designer apparel, jewelry, beauty products, electronics, linens and more. Catalog now only available online
MR High Fashion
April 1995 (v72 n4)-June 2003 (n114). Irregular
In Japanese. Photos of the collections of the major menswear designers. Runway shots of streetwear, sportswear, outerwear, accessories. Some English captions
MR: The Magazine of Menswear Retailing
trade publication
January 1992 (v3 n1)-February 2020 (v31 n2). Quarterly
Special Issue: Market Guide
“The magazine of menswear retailing.” Features retail stores, fashion and trends
Men's Fashion
Spring/Summer 1991-Fall/Winter 1993/94. Semiannual
Continued by F, the fashion business
In German and English. German and international men’s fashion
Men's Fashion International
1993 (n2)-1996 (n1). Semiannual
Previously Men’s Fashion, Continued by Men’s Fashion International Business Guide
In English and German. “A shop window of German and international men’s fashion.” Features trends, designers, interviews, retail reports, manufacturer lists and promotions
Men's Fashion International Business Guide
1998 (n2)-2004 (n1). Semiannual
Previously Men’s Fashion International, Continued by F, The Fashion Business
In English and German. “A shop window of German and international men’s fashion.” Features trends, designers, interviews, retail reports, manufacturer lists and promotions
Men's Guide to Fashion: MGF
August 1986-November 1991. Monthly
Fashions for young men
[Menswear Magazine Collection]
1967-Current (with gaps)
A browsable collection of international and U.S. menswear magazines. See record for titles included in collection
Mondo Uomo
November 1981; March/April 1983-November 1984; January/February 1994-July/August 1998. Semiannual
In Italian. Men’s fashion clothing and furnishings, with layouts on clothing, accessories and cologne. Also includes articles on current artists, movies, runway shows, cars, food and culture
Neiman Marcus
store catalog
1987; 1990; 1993-2019
A luxury department store which sells apparel, accessories, furniture, housewares, and more. Catalog also available online
Nordstrom
store catalog
1990; 1993-2004; 2007; 2011-2017; 2019. (with gaps)
Originally founded as a shoe retailer, this upscale department store sells apparel, linens, furniture, accessories, and more. Catalog also available online
L'Officiel Hommes
Continued by L'Officiel Hommes (2005)
September 1977-February/March 1991 (n86) (with gaps). Bimonthly
In French. A men’s fashion magazine
Per Lui
March 1985 (n27); February 1986 (n35)-September 1990 (n85). 11x per year
In Italian. A men’s fashion magazine
Sears
store catalog
1960-Spring/Summer 1993. Semiannual
microfilm: 1888-1993
(Earlier issues available in Special Collections)
A chain department store that sells mid-range apparel, accessories, home décor and furnishings, appliances, electronics and more. Catalog now available online only
Uomo Harper's Bazaar
September/October 1984 (n27); January/February 1985 (n29); May/June 1997 (n105). Bimonthly
Formerly Men's Harper's Bazaar Italia
In Italian. Fashions and features for men
Uomo Harper's Bazaar Collezioni Pret-a-Porter
runway
Autumn/Winter 1989/90 (n3). Semiannual
In Italian. Menswear runway shows
L'Uomo Vogue
1969 (n6)-November 2019 (n006).(with gaps). 10x per year
In Italian, with some English translations. Fashion reporting and photography on the menswear industry in Europe, especially Italy, and the U.S.
Vogue Hommes
Winter 1976/77 (n1)-December/January 1996 (n185). 10x per year
Continued by Vogue Hommes International Mode
In French. Devoted to current trends in menswear with emphasis on French industry
Vogue Hommes International Mode
Spring/Summer 1997 (n1)-Autumn/Winter 1999/00 (n6). Semiannual
Formerly Vogue Hommes; Continued by Vogue Hommes International
In French with English text. Devoted to current trends in menswear with emphasis on French industry
Vogue Hommes International Mode (hors-serie)
Autumn/Winter 1986/87 (n4)-Spring/Summer 1995 (n21). Semiannual
Continued by Vogue Hommes International Mode
In French with English translations. Devoted to current trends in menswear with emphasis on French industry

10 Men
Autumn/Winter 2004 (iss3)-Summer/Autumn 2012 (iss30); Autumn 2014 (iss39)-Current (with gaps). Semiannual
Published in the UK, a combination of high street and couture fashion for men displaying a range of designers and celebrity inspiration, with interviews and profiles of actors, editors, designers, and photographers
American Apparel
store catalog
online: 2002-Current
American retailer and wholesaler that produces clothing and accessories for women, men, children, and babies. Catalog is available online
AnOther Man
Autumn/Winter 2005 (n1)-Spring/Summer 2007 (n4); Autumn/Winter 2009 (n9)-Autumn/Winter 2019 (n 29). 2x per year
online: Autumn/Winter 2005 (n1)-Current. (FIT username and password required for access)
High-end men’s fashion magazine from the publishers of Dazed & Confused and AnOther Magazine. Combined with AnOther magazine and now published online only.
Arena
March/April 1987 (n2)-December 2008 (n201). (with gaps). Bimonthly
British men’s magazine covering culture, fashion, lifestyles and women
Arena Homme + (delayed)
Autumn/Winter 1996/1997 (n6)-Autumn/Winter 2011/2012 (n36); Spring/Summer 2015 (n43)-Current. (with gaps). Semiannual
A style guide for men published in London highlighting emerging trends for the season presented with edgy photography and cutting-edge style
Barney's New York
store catalog
1999-2019
An upscale department store that sells designer apparel and accessories for men, women, and children. Catalog also available online
Bergdorf Goodman
store catalog
1990; 1993-2018
A luxury goods department store located in New York that sells clothing, footwear, bedding, furniture, jewelry, beauty products, and housewares. Catalog also available online
Close-Up: Bags & Accessories: Men
runway
July 2009 (n1) (Spring/Summer 2010)-July 2015 (n13) (Spring/Summer 2016). Semiannual
Continued by Fashion Focus: Bags: Accessories: Man
In Italian. Features images of men's bags and accessories from new runway collections, selected and categorized by analysts. Color photography, no text or advertisements. Part of the Close-Up series published by Collezioni
Close-Up: Denim & Casual: Men & Women
runway
July 2009 (n2) (Spring/Summer 2010-October 2011 (n11) (Spring/Summer 2012). Quarterly
Continued by Close-up: Denim & Casual: Women
In Italian. Features images of denim and casualwear from new runway collections, selected and categorized by analysts. Color photography, no text or advertisements. Part of the Close-Up series published by Collezioni
Close-Up: Formal Wear: Men
runway
July 2009 (n1) (Spring/Summer 2010)-July 2015 (n13) (Spring/Summer 2016). Semiannual
Continued by Fashion Focus: Formal: Man
In Italian. Features images of men's formal wear from new runway collections, selected and categorized by analysts. Color photography, no text or advertisements. Part of the Close-Up series published by Collezioni
Close-Up: Knit & T-Shirt: Men
runway
July 2009 (n1) (Spring/Summer 2010)-July 2011 (n5) (Spring/Summer 2012). Semiannual
Continued by Close-Up: Knitwear: Men
In Italian. Features images of men's knitwear from new runway collections, selected and categorized by analysts. Color photography, no text or advertisements. Part of the Close-Up series published by Collezioni
Close-Up: Leather & Fur: Men & Women
runway
November 2009 (n1) (Spring/Summer 2010)-October 2013 (n9) (Spring/Summer 2014). Semiannual
Continued by Close-Up: Leather & Fur: Woman
In Italian. Features images of men's and women's leather and fur apparel and accessories from new runway collections, selected and categorized by analysts. Color photography, no text or advertisements. Part of the Close-Up series published by Collezioni
Close-Up: Outerwear: Men
runway
July 2009 (n1) (Spring/Summer 2010)-July 2015 (n13) (Spring/Summer 2016). Semiannual
Continued by Fashion Focus: Outerwear: Man
In Italian. Features images of men's outerwear from new runway collections, selected and categorized by analysts. Color photography, no text or advertisements. Part of the Close-Up series published by Collezioni
Close-Up: Pants & Jeans: Men
runway
July 2009 (n1) (Spring/Summer 2010)-July 2014 (n11) (Spring/Summer 2015). Semiannual
Continued by Close-Up: Denim & Casual: Men
In Italian. Features images of men's pants and jeans from new runway collections, selected and categorized by analysts. Color photography, no text or advertisements. Part of the Close-Up series published by Collezioni
Close-Up: Shirt: Men
runway
July 2009 (n1) (Spring/Summer 2010)-February 2015 (n12) (Fall/Winter 2015/16). Semiannual
Continued by Fashion Focus:Shirts: Man
In Italian. Features images of men's shirts from new runway collections, selected and categorized by analysts. Color photography, no text or advertisements. Part of the Close-Up series published by Collezioni
Close-Up: Shoes: Men
runway
July 2009 (n1) (Spring/Summer 2010)-July 2015 (n13) (Spring/Summer 2016). Semiannual
Continued by Fashion Focus: Shoes: Man
In Italian. Features images of men's footwear from new runway collections, selected and categorized by analysts. Color photography, no text or advertisements. Part of the Close-Up series published by Collezioni
Collezioni Uomo
runway
Spring/Summer 1988 (n1)-Spring/Summer 2020 (n96). Semiannual
In English and Italian. Features the Florence, Milan, Barcelona, Paris and Cologne runway
DNR: Daily news record
trade publication
online: July 1996-November 2008
microfilm: July 1996-December 2005
Formerly Daily News Record
For textile manufacturers, men’s and boys’ clothing manufacturers, wholesalers, converters and retailers. Covers the menswear industry with news of the textile industry. Sister publication to Women’s Wear Daily. Includes classified section
Details
June 1982-December/January 2015/2016. 10x per year
Features articles and photographs of new trends in fashion, art and life in New York
Esquire
August 1979 (v92 n2)-Current. 6x per year
The Esquire Magazine Archive: October 15, 1933-March 2, 2014 (FIT username and password required for access)
Formerly Esquire Fortnightly
Men’s magazine covering men’s fashion and clothes, culture and entertainment and advice on money matte
F, The Fashion Business
trade publication
2005 (n2)-2007 (n6). Semiannual
Formerly Men’s Fashion International
German publication in English. The focus of this revamped publication has broadened from the German menswear business to the entire German fashion industry
Fantastic Man
Fall/Winter 2005/2006 (n2)-Current (with gaps).Semiannual
“The gentleman’s style journal”: high-end men’s fashion and lifestyle magazine featuring articles, interviews and photography
Gap Press Collections Men
runway
Fall/Winter 2003/2004 (v2)-Autumn/Winter 2019/2020 (v57) (with gaps). Semiannual
Publication is the menswear version of Gap Press Collections Prêt-à-Porter
In Japanese with English text. It presents runway coverage of menswear shows for both Fall/Winter and Spring/Summer for Paris and Milan
GQ
June 1983-Current. 8x per year
microfilm:January 1983-December 1998
Formerly Gentlemen's Quarterly: GQ
Leading men’s fashion magazine, featuring interviews, financial news, health issues, food and travel
GQ (UK ed.)
December 2005; April 2007; February-September 2008; February 2010; February 2011-January/February 2020. Monthly
The UK edition of the American men’s fashion magazine, featuring interviews, financial news, health issues, food and travel
H & M
store catalog
2000; 2007-2018
A Swedish retail clothing company with stores worldwide that carries men’s, women’s, and children’s apparel and accessories. Catalog also available online
JC Penney
store catalog
Fall/Winter 1963; 1967-2011 (with gaps)
An American department store that sells apparel, home furnishings, jewelry, cosmetics, electronics, and more. Catalog also available online
J. Crew
store catalog
1987; 1994-Current
A New York founded retail store that carries apparel and accessories for men, women, and children. Catalog also available online
The J. Peterman Company
store catalog
2007-2018
Online retailer that sells high quality men’s and women’s apparel, accessories, and luggage. Catalog also available online
L.L. Bean
store catalog
2001-2019
An online and retail company that specializes in casual apparel for men, women and children as well as outdoor equipment. Catalog also available online
Lands' End
store catalog
2001-2019
A clothing retailer that carries casual apparel, outerwear and swimwear for men, women and children as well as some home furnishings and gifts. Also carries school uniforms. Catalog also available online
Lord & Taylor
store catalog
1993-2001; 2006-2007; 2012; 2015-2016
Known for being the oldest retail department store in the USA, this department store carries designer apparel, jewelry, beauty products, electronics, linens and more. Catalog now only available online
MR High Fashion
April 1995 (v72 n4)-June 2003 (n114). Irregular
In Japanese. Photos of the collections of the major menswear designers. Runway shots of streetwear, sportswear, outerwear, accessories. Some English captions
MR: The Magazine of Menswear Retailing
trade publication
January 1992 (v3 n1)-February 2020 (v31 n2). Quarterly
Special Issue: Market Guide
“The magazine of menswear retailing.” Features retail stores, fashion and trends
Man about Town (delayed)
Autumn/Winter 2007/08 (n1); Spring/Summer 2010 (n6)-Current. Semiannual
High-end men’s fashion and lifestyle magazine in pseudo-book form. Sections include Arts, Business and Fashion
Men's Fashion International Business Guide
1998 (n2)-2004 (n1). Semiannual
Previously Men’s Fashion International, Continued by F, The Fashion Business
In English and German. “A shop window of German and international men’s fashion.” Features trends, designers, interviews, retail reports, manufacturer lists and promotions
Men's Journal
February 1999 (v8 n1); August 2002 (v11 n7)-Current. Bimonthly
For active men with an interest in participatory sports, travel, fitness and adventure
Men's Non-No
December 1999 (n193)-Current. Monthly
In Japanese. Men’s fashion publication covering lifestyle, interiors and trends
Men's Vogue
Fall 2005 (v1 n1)-December/January 2009 (v4 n10). 10x per year
Articles about fashion, food, travel, movies, books and the arts for men
[Menswear Magazine Collection]
1967-Current (with gaps)
A browsable collection of international and U.S. menswear magazines. See record for titles included in collection
Muse
Summer 2006 (n4); Spring 2007 (n7); Summer 2009 (n18)-Spring 2012 (n29); Autumn 2013 (n35)-Current (with gaps). Quarterly
An Italian fashion magazine in Italian with English text that combines all the relevant culture of art, design, architecture, cinema, and music with both womenswear and menswear
Neiman Marcus
store catalog
1987; 1990; 1993-2019
A luxury department store which sells apparel, accessories, furniture, housewares, and more. Catalog also available online
Nordstrom
store catalog
1990; 1993-2004; 2007; 2011-2017; 2019. (with gaps)
Originally founded as a shoe retailer, this upscale department store sells apparel, linens, furniture, accessories, and more. Catalog also available online
Numero Homme (delayed)
Spring/Summer 2001 (n1)-Current (with gaps). Semiannual
A French men’s fashion magazine featuring the latest and forthcoming seasons trends from the world of fashion for men, accessories, art, architecture, and more
L'Officiel Hommes (2005)
Formerly L'Officiel Hommes
Spring/Summer 2005 (n1)-Sep 2019 (n65). (with gaps) Semiannual
In French. A men’s fashion magazine
Spruce
Autumn/Winter 2001-Autumn/Winter 2002. 2x per year
Fashion magazine by the publishers of Wallpaper. Includes patterns
L'Uomo Vogue
1969 (n6)-November 2019 (n006).(with gaps). 10x per year
In Italian, with some English translations. Fashion reporting and photography on the menswear industry in Europe, especially Italy, and the U.S.
VMan
Fall/Winter 2003/04-Current. Semiannual
A large-format, glossy men’s magazine with an emphasis on high-end fashion and design
Vogue Hommes International
Spring/Summer 2000 (n7)-Fall/Winter 2004/05 (n16). Semiannual
Formerly Vogue Hommes International Mode; Continued by Vogue Hommes International (hors série)
In French. Library has Sport Supplement to issue 11. Devoted to current trends in menswear with emphasis on French industry
Vogue Hommes International (hors-serie)
Fall/Winter 2006/07 (n4)-Fall/Winter 2018/19 (n28) (with gaps). Semiannual
Formerly Vogue Hommes International
In French. Devoted to current trends in menswear with emphasis on French industry
Zoo
2004 (n4); Winter 2008/2009 (n21); Winter 2010/11 (n29)-Current. (with gaps) 4x per year
A magazine published in English with some German translations from the Netherlands that focuses on fashion, art, and literature

1 Granary
2016/2017 (iss4)-2019/2022 (iss6). Annual
Published in the UK, started by students at Central Saint Martins and now including the Royal College of Art in London, Parsons in New York and the Royal Academy of Fine Arts' Fashion Department in Antwerp. This title helps major fashion industry players learn about the current trends and upcoming designers, offers fashion designers a place to come together and showcase their work to the world, and celebrates both past and current students
10 Men
Autumn/Winter 2004 (iss3)-Summer/Autumn 2012 (iss30); Autumn 2014 (iss39)-Current (with gaps). Semiannual
Published in the UK, a combination of high street and couture fashion for men displaying a range of designers and celebrity inspiration, with interviews and profiles of actors, editors, designers, and photographers
American Apparel
store catalog
online: 2002-Current
American retailer and wholesaler that produces clothing and accessories for women, men, children, and babies. Catalog is available online
AnOther Man
Autumn/Winter 2005 (n1)-Spring/Summer 2007 (n4); Autumn/Winter 2009 (n9)-Autumn/Winter 2019 (n 29). 2x per year
online: Autumn/Winter 2005 (n1)-Current. (FIT username and password required for access)
High-end men’s fashion magazine from the publishers of Dazed & Confused and AnOther Magazine. Combined with AnOther magazine and now published online only.
Arena Homme + (delayed)
Autumn/Winter 1996/1997 (n6)-Autumn/Winter 2011/2012 (n36); Spring/Summer 2015 (n43)-Current. (with gaps). Semiannual
A style guide for men published in London highlighting emerging trends for the season presented with edgy photography and cutting-edge style
At Large Magazine
Winter 2014 (v1)-Spring/Summer 2017 (v8). Semiannual
A men's lifestyle magazine featuring commentary on art, travel, and fashion.
Barney's New York
store catalog
1999-2019
An upscale department store that sells designer apparel and accessories for men, women, and children. Catalog also available online
Bergdorf Goodman
store catalog
1990; 1993-2018
A luxury goods department store located in New York that sells clothing, footwear, bedding, furniture, jewelry, beauty products, and housewares. Catalog also available online
Close-Up: Bags & Accessories: Men
runway
July 2009 (n1) (Spring/Summer 2010)-July 2015 (n13) (Spring/Summer 2016). Semiannual
Continued by Fashion Focus: Bags: Accessories: Man
In Italian. Features images of men's bags and accessories from new runway collections, selected and categorized by analysts. Color photography, no text or advertisements. Part of the Close-Up series published by Collezioni
Close-Up: Casualwear: Men
runway
Spring/Summer 2010 (n1). Semiannual
(only one issue published)
In Italian. Features images of men's casualwear from new runway collections, selected and categorized by analysts. Color photography, no text or advertisements. Part of the Close-Up series published by Collezioni
Close-Up: Denim & Casual: Men
runway
February 2015 (n12) (Fall/Winter 2015/16)-July 2015 (Spring/Summer 2016). Semiannual
Formerly Close-Up: Pants & Jeans: Men and Close-Up: Sportswear: Men. Continued by Fashion Focus: Denim: Street: Man
In Italian. Features images of men's denim and casualwear from new runway collections, selected and categorized by analysts. Color photography, no text or advertisements. Part of the Close-Up series published by Collezioni
Close-Up: Denim & Casual: Men & Women
runway
July 2009 (n2) (Spring/Summer 2010-October 2011 (n11) (Spring/Summer 2012). Quarterly
Continued by Close-up: Denim & Casual: Women
In Italian. Features images of denim and casualwear from new runway collections, selected and categorized by analysts. Color photography, no text or advertisements. Part of the Close-Up series published by Collezioni
Close-Up: Formal Wear: Men
runway
July 2009 (n1) (Spring/Summer 2010)-July 2015 (n13) (Spring/Summer 2016). Semiannual
Continued by Fashion Focus: Formal: Man
In Italian. Features images of men's formal wear from new runway collections, selected and categorized by analysts. Color photography, no text or advertisements. Part of the Close-Up series published by Collezioni
Close-Up: KIT: Keep in Touch
forecast, runway
Fall Winter 2011/12 (n1)-June 2013 (n6 ). Semiannual
In Italian. Features retail, runway, streetwear, and sportswear selected and categorized by analysts with brief descriptions of trends. Each issue has a theme. Part of the Close-Up series published by Collezioni
Close-Up: Knit & T-Shirt: Men
runway
July 2009 (n1) (Spring/Summer 2010)-July 2011 (n5) (Spring/Summer 2012). Semiannual
Continued by Close-Up: Knitwear: Men
In Italian. Features images of men's knitwear from new runway collections, selected and categorized by analysts. Color photography, no text or advertisements. Part of the Close-Up series published by Collezioni
Close-Up: Knitwear: Men
runway
February 2012 (n6) (Autumn/Winter 2012/13)-July 2015 (n13) (Spring/Summer 2016). Semiannual
In Italian. Formerly Close-up: Knit & T-Shirt: Men, continued by Fashion Focus: Knitwear: Man
Features images of men's knitwear from new runway collections, selected and categorized by analysts. Color photography, no text or advertisements. Part of the Close-Up series published by Collezioni
Close-Up: Leather & Fur: Men & Women
runway
November 2009 (n1) (Spring/Summer 2010)-October 2013 (n9) (Spring/Summer 2014). Semiannual
Continued by Close-Up: Leather & Fur: Woman
In Italian. Features images of men's and women's leather and fur apparel and accessories from new runway collections, selected and categorized by analysts. Color photography, no text or advertisements. Part of the Close-Up series published by Collezioni
Close-Up: Outerwear: Men
runway
July 2009 (n1) (Spring/Summer 2010)-July 2015 (n13) (Spring/Summer 2016). Semiannual
Continued by Fashion Focus: Outerwear: Man
In Italian. Features images of men's outerwear from new runway collections, selected and categorized by analysts. Color photography, no text or advertisements. Part of the Close-Up series published by Collezioni
Close-Up: Pants & Jeans: Men
runway
July 2009 (n1) (Spring/Summer 2010)-July 2014 (n11) (Spring/Summer 2015). Semiannual
Continued by Close-Up: Denim & Casual: Men
In Italian. Features images of men's pants and jeans from new runway collections, selected and categorized by analysts. Color photography, no text or advertisements. Part of the Close-Up series published by Collezioni
Close-Up: Runway: Man
runway
January 2012 (n2) (Fall/Winter 2012/13)-July 2015 (n9) (Spring/Summer 2016). Semiannual
Continued by Fashion Gallery: Man
In Italian. Features images of men's new runway collections. Color photography, no text or advertisements. Part of the Close-Up series published by Collezioni
Close-Up: Shirt: Men
runway
July 2009 (n1) (Spring/Summer 2010)-February 2015 (n12) (Fall/Winter 2015/16). Semiannual
Continued by Fashion Focus:Shirts: Man
In Italian. Features images of men's shirts from new runway collections, selected and categorized by analysts. Color photography, no text or advertisements. Part of the Close-Up series published by Collezioni
Close-Up: Shoes: Men
runway
July 2009 (n1) (Spring/Summer 2010)-July 2015 (n13) (Spring/Summer 2016). Semiannual
Continued by Fashion Focus: Shoes: Man
In Italian. Features images of men's footwear from new runway collections, selected and categorized by analysts. Color photography, no text or advertisements. Part of the Close-Up series published by Collezioni
Close-Up: Sportswear: Men
runway
February 2010 (n2) (Fall/Winter 2010/11)-July 2014 (n11) (Spring/Summer 2015). Semiannual
Continued by Close-Up: Denim & Casual: Man
In Italian. Features images of men's sportswear from new runway collections, selected and categorized by analysts. Color photography, no text or advertisements. Part of the Close-Up series published by Collezioni
Close-Up: T-Shirt: Men & Women
runway
April 2010 (n1) (Fall/Winter 2010/11)-May 2011 (n3) (Fall/Winter 2011/12). Semiannual
Continued by Close-Up: T-Shirt: Women
In Italian. Features images of t-shirts from new runway collections, selected and categorized by analysts. Color photography, no text or advertisements. Part of the Close-Up series published by Collezioni
Collezioni Uomo
runway
Spring/Summer 1988 (n1)-Spring/Summer 2020 (n96). Semiannual
In English and Italian. Features the Florence, Milan, Barcelona, Paris and Cologne runway
Critical Studies in Men's Fashion
scholarly
2014 (v1 n1); 2015 (v2 n2/3). 3x per year
online: October 2013 (v1 n1)-Current (Current FIT username and password required for access)
Examines the multi-faceted dimensions of men’s appearance and provides a dedicated space for the discussion, analysis, and theoretical development of men’s appearance from multiple disciplines
Dapper Dan
Spring/Summer 2012 (n5); Spring/Summer 2015 (n11)-Current. Semiannual
Menswear magazine spanning fashion, culture and philosophy through striking photography and thoughtful texts
Details
June 1982-December/January 2015/2016. 10x per year
Features articles and photographs of new trends in fashion, art and life in New York
Dior Mag
runway
Current. Monthly
Free online magazine about House of Dior
Dust Magazine
Autumn/Winter 2016/2017 (n10). Semiannual
Published in Berlin in English, this fashion magazine desires to provide a new and different point of view of fashion from a youth perspective through art and fashion photography.
Esquire
August 1979 (v92 n2)-Current. 6x per year
The Esquire Magazine Archive: October 15, 1933-March 2, 2014 (FIT username and password required for access)
Formerly Esquire Fortnightly
Men’s magazine covering men’s fashion and clothes, culture and entertainment and advice on money matte
Esquire: The Big Black Book
Fall 2006 (n1); Fall 2010 (n11)-Fall/Winter 2015. Biennial
A magazine to guide the fashionable, successful man on living and dressing well
Fantastic Man
Fall/Winter 2005/2006 (n2)-Current (with gaps).Semiannual
“The gentleman’s style journal”: high-end men’s fashion and lifestyle magazine featuring articles, interviews and photography
Fashion Focus: Bags: Accessories: Man
runway
Autumn/Winter 2016/2017 (n1)-Spring/Summer 2018 (n4). Semiannual
Formerly Close-Up: Bags & Accessories: Men
In English and Italian. Features images of men's bags and accessories from new runway collections, selected and categorized by analysts. Color photography, no text or advertisements
Fashion Focus: Denim: Street: Man
runway
Autumn/Winter 2016/2017 (n1)-Spring/Summer 2017 (n2). Semiannual
Formerly Close-Up: Denim & Casual: Men, continued by Fashion Focus: Denim: Woman: Man and Fashion Focus: Sport: Street: Man
In English and Italian. Features images of men's denim and casualwear from new runway collections, selected and categorized by analysts. Color photography, no text or advertisements
Fashion Focus: Denim: Woman: Man
runway
Autumn/Winter 2017/2018 (n3)-Autumn/Winter 2018/2019 (n5). Semiannual
Formerly Fashion Focus: Denim: Street: Man and Fashion Focus: Denim: Street: Woman
In English and Italian. Features images of women's and men's denim from new runway collections, selected and categorized by analysts. Color photography, no text or advertisements
Fashion Focus: Formal: Man
runway
Autumn/Winter 2016/2017 (n1)-Spring/Summer 2018 (n4). Semiannual
Formerly Close-Up: Formalwear: Men
In English and Italian. Features images of men's formal wear from new runway collections, selected and categorized by analysts. Color photography, no text or advertisements
Fashion Focus: Knitwear: Man
runway
Autumn/Winter 2016/2017 (n1)-Spring/Summer 2018 (n4). Semiannual
Formerly Close-up: Knitwear: Men
In English and Italian. Features images of men's knitwear from new runway collections, selected and categorized by analysts. Color photography, no text or advertisements
Fashion Focus: Leather: Fur: Woman
runway
Spring/Summer 2017 (n2)-Spring/Summer 2018 (n4). Semiannual
Formerly Close-Up: Leather & Fur: Woman
Last issue Woman/Man
In English and Italian. Features images of women's and men's leather and fur from new runway collections, selected and categorized by analysts. Color photography, no text or advertisements
Fashion Focus: Outerwear: Man
runway
Autumn/Winter 2016/2017 (n1)-Spring/Summer 2017 (n2). Semiannual
Formerly Close-Up: Outerwear: Men
In English and Italian. Features images of men's outerwear from new runway collections, selected and categorized by analysts. Color photography, no text or advertisements
Fashion Focus: Shirts: Man
runway
Autumn/Winter 2016/2017 (n1)-Spring/Summer 2017 (n2). Semiannual
Formerly Close-Up: Shirt: Men
In English and Italian. Features images of men's shirts from new runway collections, selected and categorized by analysts. Color photography, no text or advertisements
Fashion Focus: Shoes: Man
runway
Autumn/Winter 2016/2017 (n1)-Spring/Summer 2018 (n4). Semiannual
Formerly Close-Up: Shoes: Men
In English and Italian. Features images of men's footwear from new runway collections, selected and categorized by analysts. Color photography, no text or advertisements
Fashion Focus: Sport: Street: Man
runway
Autumn/Winter 2017/18 (n3)-Spring/Summer 2018 (n4). Semiannual
Continues in part Fashion Focus: Denim: Street: Man
In Italian. Features images of men's sportswear from new runway collections, selected and categorized by analysts. Color photography, no text or advertisements.
Fashion for Men
Winter/Spring 2011/2012 (iss1)-Summer/Autumn 2020 (iss5). Biannual
A French men’s fashion publication in English covering current men’s fashion styles and trends
Fashion Gallery: Man
runway
February 2016 (n1) (Autumn/Winter 2016/2017)-July 2017 (n4) (Spring/Summer 2018). Semiannual
Formerly Close-up: Runway: Man
In Italian and English. Features images of men's new runway collections. Color photography, no text or advertisements
Free & Easy
August 2010 (v13 n142)-August 2014 (v17 n190). Monthly
In Japanese. A Japanese contemporary men's lifestyle magazine focusing on the rugged side of American Heritage featuring both new and vintage products
Gap Press Collections Men
runway
Fall/Winter 2003/2004 (v2)-Autumn/Winter 2019/2020 (v57) (with gaps). Semiannual
Publication is the menswear version of Gap Press Collections Prêt-à-Porter
In Japanese with English text. It presents runway coverage of menswear shows for both Fall/Winter and Spring/Summer for Paris and Milan
GQ
June 1983-Current. 8x per year
microfilm:January 1983-December 1998
Formerly Gentlemen's Quarterly: GQ
Leading men’s fashion magazine, featuring interviews, financial news, health issues, food and travel
GQ (UK ed.)
December 2005; April 2007; February-September 2008; February 2010; February 2011-January/February 2020. Monthly
The UK edition of the American men’s fashion magazine, featuring interviews, financial news, health issues, food and travel
H & M
store catalog
2000; 2007-2018
A Swedish retail clothing company with stores worldwide that carries men’s, women’s, and children’s apparel and accessories. Catalog also available online
Hercules
2006 (iss1)-Spring/Summer 2011 (iss10). Semiannual
Continued by Hercules Universal
Published in Spain in Spanish and English, this men’s fashion and style publication is tailored to men conscious of style, culture and the social life around him
Hercules Universal (delayed)
Spring/Summer 2012-Current. (with gaps). Semiannual
Formerly Hercules
Published in Spain, a men's fashion and lifestyle luxury publication serving as the perfect guide to men conscious of style, culture and lifestyle around them.
Hero
Summer/Autumn 2010 (n3)-Current (with gaps). Semiannual
Published in London, this men’s fashion magazine works with the fashion industry’s newest talented photographers and models from the world’s biggest modeling agencies
Highsnobiety
Winter 2011 (n2); Winter 2012 (n4); Autumn/Winter 2014 (n9); Autumn/Winter 2018 (n17)-Current.
Continued by Highstyle
Published in Germany in English, this magazine covers streetwear, footwear, and culture for men and women
Hypebeast
Summer 2012 (n1)-Current (with gaps). Quarterly
A fashion and culture magazine that features menswear from streetwear to high-end. It covers news within the fashion community as well as other aspects of culturally-relevant content such as art, music, design, and lifestyle
JC Penney
store catalog
Fall/Winter 1963; 1967-2011 (with gaps)
An American department store that sells apparel, home furnishings, jewelry, cosmetics, electronics, and more. Catalog also available online
J. Crew
store catalog
1987; 1994-Current
A New York founded retail store that carries apparel and accessories for men, women, and children. Catalog also available online
The J. Peterman Company
store catalog
2007-2018
Online retailer that sells high quality men’s and women’s apparel, accessories, and luggage. Catalog also available online
Jocks & Nerds: Style, History, Culture
Spring 2015 (v1 n15)-Autumn 2016 (iss20). Quarterly
A men's style magazine published in London known for its documentary style photography and journalistic integrity
L.L. Bean
store catalog
2001-2019
An online and retail company that specializes in casual apparel for men, women and children as well as outdoor equipment. Catalog also available online
Lands' End
store catalog
2001-2019
A clothing retailer that carries casual apparel, outerwear and swimwear for men, women and children as well as some home furnishings and gifts. Also carries school uniforms. Catalog also available online
Lord & Taylor
store catalog
1993-2001; 2006-2007; 2012; 2015-2016
Known for being the oldest retail department store in the USA, this department store carries designer apparel, jewelry, beauty products, electronics, linens and more. Catalog now only available online
MR: The Magazine of Menswear Retailing
trade publication
January 1992 (v3 n1)-February 2020 (v31 n2). Quarterly
Special Issue: Market Guide
“The magazine of menswear retailing.” Features retail stores, fashion and trends
Magazine Antidote (delayed)
Spring/Summer 2012 (n3)-Current (with gaps). Semiannual
Published in Paris in French, a magazine with the goal of bringing to its readers the greatest art, music and fashion from all across the globe
Man about Town (delayed)
Autumn/Winter 2007/08 (n1); Spring/Summer 2010 (n6)-Current. Semiannual
High-end men’s fashion and lifestyle magazine in pseudo-book form. Sections include Arts, Business and Fashion
Man of the World
Autumn/Winter 2012 (n1)-Summer 2013 (n4); Autumn 2014 (n9)-Spring 2015 (n11); Fall 2015 (n13); Spring 2016 (n15)-Fall 2016 (n16). Quarterly
A handbook for the truly modern man - a discerning guide to iconic style, travel, art, adventure, culture, and craft. Each issue takes readers inside the lives of men living life to the fullest, from explorers and sportsmen, to artists and entrepreneurs
Manifesto
October 2013 (n16); January/February 2015 (n26)-September 2016 (n39), March 2018 (n51)-March 2019 (n59). 8x per year
Published in Hong Kong in English, this title covers, fashion, pop culture, and design with fashion spreads, opinion columns, and trend reports
Men's Journal
February 1999 (v8 n1); August 2002 (v11 n7)-Current. Bimonthly
For active men with an interest in participatory sports, travel, fitness and adventure
Men's Non-No
December 1999 (n193)-Current. Monthly
In Japanese. Men’s fashion publication covering lifestyle, interiors and trends
[Menswear Magazine Collection]
1967-Current (with gaps)
A browsable collection of international and U.S. menswear magazines. See record for titles included in collection
Muse
Summer 2006 (n4); Spring 2007 (n7); Summer 2009 (n18)-Spring 2012 (n29); Autumn 2013 (n35)-Current (with gaps). Quarterly
An Italian fashion magazine in Italian with English text that combines all the relevant culture of art, design, architecture, cinema, and music with both womenswear and menswear
Neiman Marcus
store catalog
1987; 1990; 1993-2019
A luxury department store which sells apparel, accessories, furniture, housewares, and more. Catalog also available online
Next Look Close Up. Denim & Casual. Women/Men
runway
Spring/Summer 2019 (n5)-Fall/Winter 2020/2021 (n8). Semiannual
Published in Germany in English and German. Features images of women's and men's denim and casual attire from new runway collections, selected and categorized by analysts. Color photography, little text and few advertisements
Next Look Close Up. Formalwear. Men
runway
Spring/Summer 2019 (n5)-Fall/Winter 2020/2021 (n8). Semiannual
Published in Germany in English and German. Features images of men's formal attire from new runway collections, selected and categorized by analysts. Color photography, little text and few advertisements
Next Look Close Up. Knitwear. Men
runway
Spring/Summer 2019 (n5)-Autumn/Winter 2020/2021 (n8). Semiannual
Published in Germany in English and German. Features images of men's sweaters and knitwear from new runway collections, selected and categorized by analysts. Color photography, little text and few advertisements
Next Look Close Up. Leather & Fur. Women/Men
runway
Spring/Summer 2019 (n5)-Fall/Winter 2020/2021 (n8). Semiannual
Published in Germany in English and German. Features images of women's and men's leather and fur from new runway collections, selected and categorized by analysts. Color photography, little text and few advertisements
Next Look Close Up. Outerwear. Men
runway
Spring/Summer 2019 (n5)-Fall/Winter 2020/2021 (n8). Semiannual
Published in Germany in English and German. Features images of men's outerwear from new runway collections, selected and categorized by analysts. Color photography, little text and few advertisements
Next Look Close Up. Shirts. Men
runway
Spring/Summer 2019 (n5)-Fall/Winter 2020/2021 (n8). Semiannual
Published in Germany in English and German. Features images of men's shirting from new runway collections, selected and categorized by analysts. Color photography, little text and few advertisements
Next Look. Shoes, Bags & Accessories. Men
runway
Spring/Summer 2019 (n5)-Fall/Winter 2020/2021 (n8). Semiannual
Published in Germany in English and German. Features images of men's shoes and accessories from new runway collections, selected and categorized by analysts. Color photography, little text and few advertisements
Next Look Close Up. Tops & T-shirts. Men
runway
Spring/Summer 2019 (n5)-Fall/Winter 2020/2021 (n8). Semiannual
Published in Germany in English and German. Features images of men's casual shirts and t-shirting from new runway collections, selected and categorized by analysts. Color photography, little text and few advertisements
Nordstrom
store catalog
1990; 1993-2004; 2007; 2011-2017; 2019. (with gaps)
Originally founded as a shoe retailer, this upscale department store sells apparel, linens, furniture, accessories, and more. Catalog also available online
Numero Homme (delayed)
Spring/Summer 2001 (n1)-Current (with gaps). Semiannual
A French men’s fashion magazine featuring the latest and forthcoming seasons trends from the world of fashion for men, accessories, art, architecture, and more
ODDA
Spring/Summer 2013 (n4)-Spring/Summer 2014 (n6); Spring/Summer 2016 (n10)-Current. Semiannual
A boutique fashion magazine based in London that connects readers with the lifestyle of those at the core of the fashion and creative industries through interviews, artwork, illustrations and reviews
L'Officiel Hommes (2005)
Formerly L'Officiel Hommes
Spring/Summer 2005 (n1)-Sep 2019 (n65). (with gaps) Semiannual
In French. A men’s fashion magazine
Ponystep Magazine
Spring/Summer 2011 (n1)-(n5). Semiannual
A men's and women's fashion magazine published in London featuring interviews with creatives in a variety of industries including fashion, film and music
Port (delayed)
Summer 2011 (n2); Autumn/Winter 2015 (n17)-Current. Semiannual
The magazine for the man interested in the world around him. From style, travel, design and living, to architecture, literature, entertainment and global issues, this magazine provides engaging content for curious minds
L'Uomo Vogue
1969 (n6)-November 2019 (n006).(with gaps). 10x per year
In Italian, with some English translations. Fashion reporting and photography on the menswear industry in Europe, especially Italy, and the U.S.
VMan
Fall/Winter 2003/04-Current. Semiannual
A large-format, glossy men’s magazine with an emphasis on high-end fashion and design
Vogue Hommes International (hors-serie)
Fall/Winter 2006/07 (n4)-Fall/Winter 2018/19 (n28) (with gaps). Semiannual
Formerly Vogue Hommes International
In French. Devoted to current trends in menswear with emphasis on French industry
Zoo
2004 (n4); Winter 2008/2009 (n21); Winter 2010/11 (n29)-Current. (with gaps) 4x per year
A magazine published in English with some German translations from the Netherlands that focuses on fashion, art, and literature

1 Granary
2016/2017 (iss4)-2019/2022 (iss6). Annual
Published in the UK, started by students at Central Saint Martins and now including the Royal College of Art in London, Parsons in New York and the Royal Academy of Fine Arts' Fashion Department in Antwerp. This title helps major fashion industry players learn about the current trends and upcoming designers, offers fashion designers a place to come together and showcase their work to the world, and celebrates both past and current students
10 Men
Autumn/Winter 2004 (iss3)-Summer/Autumn 2012 (iss30); Autumn 2014 (iss39)-Current (with gaps). Semiannual
Published in the UK, a combination of high street and couture fashion for men displaying a range of designers and celebrity inspiration, with interviews and profiles of actors, editors, designers, and photographers
American Apparel
store catalog
online: 2002-Current
American retailer and wholesaler that produces clothing and accessories for women, men, children, and babies. Catalog is available online
Arena Homme + (delayed)
Autumn/Winter 1996/1997 (n6)-Autumn/Winter 2011/2012 (n36); Spring/Summer 2015 (n43)-Current. (with gaps). Semiannual
A style guide for men published in London highlighting emerging trends for the season presented with edgy photography and cutting-edge style
Collezioni Uomo
runway
Spring/Summer 1988 (n1)-Spring/Summer 2020 (n96). Semiannual
In English and Italian. Features the Florence, Milan, Barcelona, Paris and Cologne runway
Critical Studies in Men's Fashion
scholarly
2014 (v1 n1); 2015 (v2 n2/3). 3x per year
online: October 2013 (v1 n1)-Current (Current FIT username and password required for access)
Examines the multi-faceted dimensions of men’s appearance and provides a dedicated space for the discussion, analysis, and theoretical development of men’s appearance from multiple disciplines
Dapper Dan
Spring/Summer 2012 (n5); Spring/Summer 2015 (n11)-Current. Semiannual
Menswear magazine spanning fashion, culture and philosophy through striking photography and thoughtful texts
Dior Mag
runway
Current. Monthly
Free online magazine about House of Dior
Esquire
August 1979 (v92 n2)-Current. 6x per year
The Esquire Magazine Archive: October 15, 1933-March 2, 2014 (FIT username and password required for access)
Formerly Esquire Fortnightly
Men’s magazine covering men’s fashion and clothes, culture and entertainment and advice on money matte
Fantastic Man
Fall/Winter 2005/2006 (n2)-Current (with gaps).Semiannual
“The gentleman’s style journal”: high-end men’s fashion and lifestyle magazine featuring articles, interviews and photography
Fashion for Men
Winter/Spring 2011/2012 (iss1)-Summer/Autumn 2020 (iss5). Biannual
A French men’s fashion publication in English covering current men’s fashion styles and trends
Gap Press Collections Men
runway
Spring/Summer 2005 (v5)-Current. Semi-annual
Publication is the menswear version of Gap Press Collections Prêt-à-Porter
In Japanese with English text. It presents runway coverage of menswear shows for both Fall/Winter and Spring/Summer for Paris and Milan
GQ
June 1983-Current. 8x per year
microfilm:January 1983-December 1998
Formerly Gentlemen's Quarterly: GQ
Leading men’s fashion magazine, featuring interviews, financial news, health issues, food and travel
GQ (UK)
December 2005; February-September 2008; February 2010-2017. Monthly
The UK edition of the American men’s fashion magazine, featuring interviews, financial news, health issues, food and travel
Hercules Universal (delayed)
Spring/Summer 2012-Current. (with gaps). Semiannual
Formerly Hercules
Published in Spain, a men's fashion and lifestyle luxury publication serving as the perfect guide to men conscious of style, culture and lifestyle around them.
Hero
Summer/Autumn 2010 (n3)-Current (with gaps). Semiannual
Published in London, this men’s fashion magazine works with the fashion industry’s newest talented photographers and models from the world’s biggest modeling agencies
Hypebeast
Summer 2012 (n1)-Current (with gaps). Quarterly
A fashion and culture magazine that features menswear from streetwear to high-end. It covers news within the fashion community as well as other aspects of culturally-relevant content such as art, music, design, and lifestyle
J. Crew
store catalog
1987; 1994-Current
A New York founded retail store that carries apparel and accessories for men, women, and children. Catalog also available online
Lifewear
store catalog
Fall/Winter 2019 (n 1)-Current. Semiannual
online: current issue
Japanese clothing company featuring simple, inexpensive clothing for men, women, teens, and children. Magazine includes interviews of famous athletes and media figures with a focus on equity and inclusion
Magazine Antidote (delayed)
Spring/Summer 2012 (n3)-Current (with gaps). Semiannual
Published in Paris in French, a magazine with the goal of bringing to its readers the greatest art, music and fashion from all across the globe
Man about Town (delayed)
Autumn/Winter 2007/08 (n1); Spring/Summer 2010 (n6)-Current. Semiannual
High-end men’s fashion and lifestyle magazine in pseudo-book form. Sections include Arts, Business and Fashion
Men's Journal
February 1999 (v8 n1); August 2002 (v11 n7)-Current. Bimonthly
For active men with an interest in participatory sports, travel, fitness and adventure
Men's Non-No
December 1999 (n193)-Current. Monthly
In Japanese. Men’s fashion publication covering lifestyle, interiors and trends
[Menswear Magazine Collection]
1967-Current (with gaps)
A browsable collection of international and U.S. menswear magazines. See record for titles included in collection
MR: The Magazine of Menswear Retailing
trade publication
January 1992 (v3 n1)-Current. 4x per year
Special Issue: Market Guide
“The magazine of menswear retailing.” Features retail stores, fashion and trends
Muse
Summer 2006 (n4); Spring 2007 (n7); Summer 2009 (n18)-Spring 2012 (n29); Autumn 2013 (n35)-Current (with gaps). Quarterly
An Italian fashion magazine in Italian with English text that combines all the relevant culture of art, design, architecture, cinema, and music with both womenswear and menswear
Next Look. Shoes, Bags & Accessories. Men
runway
Spring/Summer 2019 (n5)-Fall/Winter 2020/2021 (n8). Semiannual
Published in Germany in English and German. Features images of men's shoes and accessories from new runway collections, selected and categorized by analysts. Color photography, little text and few advertisements
Next Look Close Up. Tops & T-shirts. Men
runway
Spring/Summer 2019 (n5)-Fall/Winter 2020/2021 (n8). Semiannual
Published in Germany in English and German. Features images of men's casual shirts and t-shirting from new runway collections, selected and categorized by analysts. Color photography, little text and few advertisements
Next Look Close Up. Formalwear. Men
runway
Spring/Summer 2019 (n5)-Fall/Winter 2020/2021 (n8). Semiannual
Published in Germany in English and German. Features images of men's formal attire from new runway collections, selected and categorized by analysts. Color photography, little text and few advertisements
Next Look Close Up. Knitwear. Men
runway
Spring/Summer 2019 (n5)-Autumn/Winter 2020/2021 (n8). Semiannual
Published in Germany in English and German. Features images of men's sweaters and knitwear from new runway collections, selected and categorized by analysts. Color photography, little text and few advertisements
Next Look Close Up. Outerwear. Men
runway
Spring/Summer 2019 (n5)-Fall/Winter 2020/2021 (n8). Semiannual
Published in Germany in English and German. Features images of men's outerwear from new runway collections, selected and categorized by analysts. Color photography, little text and few advertisements
Next Look Close Up. Shirts. Men
runway
Spring/Summer 2019 (n5)-Fall/Winter 2020/2021 (n8). Semiannual
Published in Germany in English and German. Features images of men's shirting from new runway collections, selected and categorized by analysts. Color photography, little text and few advertisements
Next Look Close Up. Denim & Casual. Women/Men
runway
Spring/Summer 2019 (n5)-Fall/Winter 2020/2021 (n8). Semiannual
Published in Germany in English and German. Features images of women's and men's denim and casual attire from new runway collections, selected and categorized by analysts. Color photography, little text and few advertisements
Next Look Close Up. Leather & Fur. Women/Men
runway
Spring/Summer 2019 (n5)-Fall/Winter 2020/2021 (n8). Semiannual
Published in Germany in English and German. Features images of women's and men's leather and fur from new runway collections, selected and categorized by analysts. Color photography, little text and few advertisements
Next Look Men Trend: styles & colour
runway
Autumn/Winter 2023/2024-Current. Semiannual
Trend coverage provides analysis of leading menswear designer shows from international fashion capitals and consolidates innovative and market-driven trends for the design professional.
Numero Homme (delayed)
Spring/Summer 2001 (n1)-Current (with gaps). Semiannual
A French men’s fashion magazine featuring the latest and forthcoming seasons trends from the world of fashion for men, accessories, art, architecture, and more
ODDA
Spring/Summer 2013 (n4)-Spring/Summer 2014 (n6); Spring/Summer 2016 (n10)-Current. Semiannual
A boutique fashion magazine based in London that connects readers with the lifestyle of those at the core of the fashion and creative industries through interviews, artwork, illustrations and reviews
Popeye
April 2022 (n900)-Current. Monthly
Japanese magazine with fashion, shopping advice, and pop-culture aimed at sophisticated college-age men.
Port
Summer 2011 (n2); Autumn/Winter 2015 (n17)-Current. Semi-annual
The magazine for the man interested in the world around him. From style, travel, design and living, to architecture, literature, entertainment and global issues, this magazine provides engaging content for curious minds
VMan
Fall/Winter 2003/04-Current. Semiannual
A large-format, glossy men’s magazine with an emphasis on high-end fashion and design
Zoo
2004 (n4); Winter 2008/2009 (n21); Winter 2010/11 (n29)-Current. (with gaps) 4x per year
A magazine published in English with some German translations from the Netherlands that focuses on fashion, art, and literature

Have a question or comment about these guides? Contact: libraryreference@fitnyc.edu