GT1565 .C68 2017
GT1565 .L44 2005
TT505.R785 A4 2017
(View the Original Exhibition from Seoul Fashion Week Online)
GT1565 .L44 2013
Here are some suggested search terms to use in OneSearch:
Fashion -- Korea
Korea -- Social life and customs
Costume -- Korea -- History
Textile design -- Korea -- History
Wrapping cloths -- Korea
Clothing and dress -- Korea
Costume -- Korea
Embroidery -- Korea
Search Tip:
The search term "Korea" will bring you different results than the search term "Korean". If you want to search both at the same time, simply type the root of both words followed by an asterisk "Korea*" into OneSearch and the computer will search both terms at once.
For example, a search for "costume korea*" is the same as searching "costume korea" AND "costume korean" giving you more results:
Books about Korean Costume can be in a number of different sections of the library depending on if the book's focus is medium, time period, or art by country. Here are some suggested call numbers to start browsing:
GT1565- Clothing, Korea
N7360-7369- Fine Arts, Korea
NK8884.6- Textile Arts, Korea
NK9284.6- Embroidery, Korea
Historical Research:
The Berg Fashion Library contains fashion specific dictionaries and encyclopedias. It's a great place to get definitions and overviews on a topic.
ARTSTOR is an image database and has thousands of examples of both historical and modern Korean art and textiles from museum collections around the world. Images are available in hi-res and are downloadable. You can browse by Country of Origin, Museum, Medium and Time Period.
Gale Virtual Reference Library also contains fashion specific dictionaries and encyclopedias.Modern Research:
The Fashion Studies Online: The Videofashion Library has streaming video of runway shows starting from the 1970s.
Women's Wear Daily (WWD) Archive covers fashion and business news. The library's subscription covers 1910 to the present day.
The Vogue Archive has the full text of every issue of Vogue magazine from 1892 to the present day.Other Resources on Korean Fashion:
Here are some excellent websites for exploring and learning about Korean costume history and modern fashion.
From Google Arts & Culture Po, the Seonbi Spirit in Clothing is an online exhibition of Hanbok created by the Arumjigi Culture Keepers Foundation.
Hanbok is an online exhibit from Google Arts & Culture on korean traditional attire.| Have a question or comment about these guides? Contact: libraryreference@fitnyc.edu |
