LibGuides: FM114 and Beyond: Trend Forecasting and Retail

Online Trend Services

Doneger Tobe This link opens in a new window
Requires an extra username and password. Login with your FIT username and password first, Use the password listed for Doneger.
Fashion Snoops This link opens in a new window
Users are required to create a MY FS account to use tools & workspace. Use your FIT email address as your username.
Use Mozilla/Firefox, Google Chrome, Safari and Internet Explorer (version 10 and up only - older versions of Internet Explorer are not compatible and will not allow images to display correctly).
Sophicolor This link opens in a new window
A color service with more than 4,500 unique colors. Includes Trend Intelligence with the latest color palettes.
Users are required to create an individual account:
1. Register for an account using link on our Library database page, using your FIT email.
2. In the Company field, enter "FIT," and for job title enter "FIT Student" or "FIT Faculty"
3. You will receive an email from Sophicolor once your account has been approved.
WGSN Fashion This link opens in a new window
Users are required to create an individual WGSN account
To access WGSN:
1. On the "Library Database A to Z List" page (https://www.fitnyc.edu/library/databases/a-to-z.php). select WGSN and login using your FIT username and password.
2. Before you proceed CLICK ON THE "+" sign for directions on how to login.
3. Students must create an account and re-activate their account every 90 days: click on "re-activate account". URL= https://www.wgsn.com/accounts/edu/
Students must create an account and re-activate their account every 90 days: click to create or re-activate account:
https://www-wgsn-com.libproxy.fitsuny.edu/accounts/edu

Locked out of your account for too many incorrect login attempts? Reset your password here:
https://www.wgsn.com/auth/forgotpassword

To access WGSN Fashion

login via the proxy and then with your WGSN username and password
select the part of the site you wish to use from the top menu under "Fashion"
Use an incognito browser to access this resource.Students must create an account and re-activate their account every 90 days: click on re-activate account.
WGSN Interiors This link opens in a new window
Trend reports & forecasting for home products. Users are required to create a WGSN account.
Follow instructions above to create an individual WGSN account.
WGSN Insight This link opens in a new window
Intelligence & research on latest consumer, marketing, retail, and innovation trends.
Users are required to create a WGSN account.
Follow instructions above to create an individual WGSN account.
WindowsWear This link opens in a new window
Contains images, 360 degree panoramas, and descriptions of physical and digital window displays in a real-time, searchable database of community-generated content that provides data on what retail environments look like around the world with coverage from 1931 to present.
1. Visit WindowsWear
2. Click “Join now” on the top right
3. Select "Academic" on the right
4. Under "existing members" select "FIT"
5. Create profile
6. Under "get started" select "student" or "faculty"
7. Use your FIT email and create a password
8. Click "join"
You will need to login to WindowsWear after authenticating via the proxy to use the site.

Current Print Forecasts TItle List

These Forecasts are restricted to current FIT students, faculty and staff. Visitors may only view the past issues of these forecasts.

The Current Seasons are S/S 2023, F/W 2023/24, and S/S 2024.

(Please note: we may not have each forecast for each season. If we do not have the forecast you requested, we will ask if you would like to see the forecast from a different season or substitute a different forecast from the same season)

Color Association of the United States
more...less...
Fashion Color Forecast: Women-Men-Youth
Children, Color, Men, Women: color swatches, themes
Interiors/Environmental Color Forecast
Color, Interiors: color swatches; includes swatch fan
Color Solutions International (Firm)
more...less...
Color Analysis
Color: color swatches, themes, and palettes
Pantone
more...less...
Fashion Home + Interiors
Color: FHI Color Guide; color fan
Fashion Home + Interiors/Color Guide: New Colors
Color: color fan
Fashion Home + Interiors FHI Color Specifier: New Colors
Color: color chips
Precision Textile Color (Firm)
more...less...
Sophicolor Collections: Botanical Index
Color: color swatches for botanical themed palette
Sophicolor Collections: Celestial Index
Color: color swatches for celestial themed palette
Sophicolor Collections: Earthen Index
Color: color swatches for earthen themed palette
Trend Union (Firm)
more...less...
Colours
Color: Color combinations, themes

Fashion Blogs

The following blogs provide a personal perspective on how people within, and outside, the fashion industry create personal style while utilizing trends and fashions from the past and present.

Periodicals

Titles in red show current subscriptions. Bold dates show Periodicals Department holdings.

Apparel Merchandising
trade publication
March 1982 (v1 n3)-October/November 1990 (v9 n9). Monthly
Trade magazine for clothing buyers and merchandisers
Chain Store Age
trade publication
Three-year retention. Bimonthly
Reports on retailer trends, tips from successful business people and consumer forecasting
Clothes
trade publication
April 1, 1966 (v1 n2)-December 1, 1977 (v12 n18). Semiweekly
Continued by Clothes Etc
Contains articles about apparel retailing and manufacturing
Clothes Etc.
trade publication
January 01, 1978-May 1978. Semiweekly
Formerly Clothes, Continued by Retail Week
Contains articles about apparel retailing and manufacturing, home furnishings and fabric
Internet Retailer
trade publication
online: March 1999-Current. Monthly
Covers the latest trends, news and developments in e-retailing
Niche
trade publication
Fall 1992 (v4 n4)-Summer 1994 (v6 n3). Quarterly
Each issue offers creative business strategies for fine art galleries and craft art retailers
Retail Ad Week
trade publication
May 7, 1984 (v50 n19)-April 28/May 5, 1997 (v63 n8). Weekly
Continued by Retail Ad World
Retail advertising for mens-, womens- and childrenswear reprinted from U.S. newspapers
Retail Ad World
trade publication
August 2000-March 2009. Quarterly
Formerly Retail Ad Week
Retail advertising for mens-, womens- and childrenswear reprinted from U.S. newspapers
Retailweek
trade publication
June 1, 1978 (v13 n6)-October 15, 1981 (v16 n15). Semimonthly
Formerly Clothes Etc.
Contains articles about apparel retailing and manufacturing, home furnishings and fabric
Stores (NRDGA)
trade publication
January 1972 (v54 n1)-December 2019 (v101 n9). Monthly
Special Issues: Global Powers of Retailing, Software Sourcebook, and Buyers Guide
Published by the National Retail Federation. Management of department, specialty, chain and variety store operations
Tobe
forecast
July 6, 1976-November 30, 1995; January 07/14, 1999-Current. Monthly
(Earlier issues available in Special Collections)
Special Issues: Quarterly Index, Product Workbook, Shopping Guide
Reports on the New York market. Includes wholesale prices and style numbers. Picks up fashion trends in influential New York stores. Includes both sketches and photographs
Tobe Evolve
forecast
2013 (v1)-2015 (v6). Bimonthly
An expert eye trained on how each consumer segment is dressing, how they are incorporating new items and classifications into their wardrobes and how they are styling themselves, with special attention to emerging silhouettes, essential items and the totality of apparel and accessories from head-to-toe