Five floors below the FIT Library is the Museum at FIT! Check out their website for information on the collection, current and past exhibits as well as their Pinterest page for all things fashion history.
The Asian Fashion Archive is a digital resource project, which highlights Asian fashion, culture, and history.
A database with the goal of centering and amplifying voices voices of those who have been racialized (and thus marginalized) in fashion, illuminate under-examined histories and address racism throughout the fashion system. Featuring resources, digital objects, biographical profiles, essays, directory and calendar of events
The Met's collection includes more than 40,000 items dating from contemporary fashion back to 4,000 B.C. ranging from recent couture to textiles and accessories that give insight into life from the pre-Columbian era.
KCI's collection currently ranges from the 17th century to the present day, with holdings of 12,000 items of clothing and 16,000 documents.
BSM celebrates the style and function of footwear in four impressive galleries. Footwear on display ranges from Chinese bound foot shoes and ancient Egyptian sandals to chestnut-crushing clogs and glamorous platforms.
The Fashion Museum Bath holds a world-class collection of over 100,000 objects of contemporary and historic dress dating back to the 16th century.
The collection spans works from pre-Columbian textiles to contemporary couture and includes over 35,000 objects representing more than 100 cultures and over 2,000 years of dress and human creativity in the textile arts,
More then 20,000 objects (980 online) of clothing and accessories belonging to Canadian men, women and children, covering three centuries; garments from Montreal designers, manufacturers and retailers; quilts, coverlets and other hand-made domestic textiles.
Opened in 1977 the museums 70,000 items are organized in 7 different departments: 18th Century Dress, 19th Century Costumes, Fashion of the 20th Century, Haute Couture, Contemporary, Undergarments and Accessories.
The collection covers fashionable dress from the 17th century to the present day, with the emphasis on progressive and influential designs from the major fashion centers of Europe.
The Kent State Museum contains important collections of fashion and decorative arts from the 18th century to the present. Its eight galleries feature changing exhibitions of work by many of the world's great artists and designers.
Many historic sources exist that include clothing information incidentally. These can be great sources for information about what middle class and poorer people wore. These include newspapers, court records, and contemporary accounts. We've listed some suggestions here.
Blogs can be a great source of information on niche fashion history topics. Scroll to see some of our favorite costume and fashion history blogs and sites.
Fashion-era contains 890 content rich, illustrated pages of Fashion History, Costume History, Clothing, Fashions and Social History. Fashion-Era.com looks at women's costume and fashion history and analyzes the mood of an era.
A project created by FIT art history faculty and students, the Fashion History Timeline features overviews of time periods, and definition of key fashion history terms. It provides hundreds of visual examples as well as lists of primary and secondary resources for further research.
The official blog of SPARC, the Special Collections and College Archives department at FIT Library.
A blog originating in the Periodicals unit at FIT library. It explores fashion and related news and ideas in magazines, books, and online.
Bissonnette on Costume
http://www.teacheroz.com/fashionhistory.htm
A Visual Dictionary of Fashion, Kent State University Museum. You can search this site by using a Geographic Search, a Time Search, or a Subject Search.
The Costume Page
http://www.costumepage.org/
Links related to the study of Costume and Costume History
The Costumer's Manifesto
http://www.costumes.org/history/100pages/costhistpage.htm
Links related to Western Costume History, by period. With links to Patterns, Specialty and Ethnic costumes, and more.
Fashion - Era
http://www.fashion-era.com
Fashion – Era contains images of Fashion History, Costume History, Clothing, Textiles and Social History.
Footwear of the Middle Ages
http://www.personal.utulsa.edu/~marc-carlson/shoe/SHOEHOME.HTM
An ongoing examination of the history and development of Footwear and Shoemaking Techniques up to the end of the sixteenth century.
Helibrunn Timeline: Costume in the Metropolitan Museum of Art
https://www.metmuseum.org/toah/hd/cost/hd_cost.htm
Fashion history timeline created by the Metropolitan Museum of Art, from pieces in their collection.
Kent State University - Fashion Resources: Clothing & Costume
https://libguides.library.kent.edu/dresshistory
Compendium of useful links for the student of fashion and costume.
| Have a question or comment about these guides? Contact: libraryreference@fitnyc.edu |
