Cosmetics & Fragrances

Also search OneSearch by company or person's name, e.g. Evyan or Coco Chanel.

Aveline, Françoise.  Chanel : Perfume.  New York: Assouline, 2003.
Main Stacks HD9999 .P3934 C5 2003

Barillé, Elisabeth. Coty: Parfumeur and Visionary. 1st ed. Paris: Editions Assouline, 1996?
Main Stacks Oversize   TP 983.A66 C6813

Burr, Chandler. The Emperor of Scent : a Story of Perfume, Obsession, and the Last Mystery of the Senses. New York: Random House, 2002.
Main Stacks QP458 .B83 2002

Burr, Chandler. The Perfect Scent : a year inside the perfume industry in Paris and New York. New York : Henry Holt, 2008
Main Stacks HD9999.P3932 B87 2008

Dayagi-Mendeles, Mikhal. Perfumes and Cosmetics in the Ancient World. Jerusalem: Israel Museum, 1989.
Main Stacks  TP 983 .D39 1989

Dove, Roja. The Essence of Perfume. London : Black Dog, 2008. 
Main Stacks TP983 .E87 2008

Ellena, Jean-Claude. Perfume : The Alchemy of Scent. New York : Arcade Pub., 2011. 
Main Stacks TP983 .E3813 2011

Genders, Roy. A History of Scent. London: H. Hamilton, 1972.
Main Stacks TP 983.G38 1972

Lefkowith, Christie Mayer. Masterpieces of the Perfume Industry. New York: Editions Stylissimo, 2000.
Main Stacks   NK 5440.B6 L384 2000

Lyttelton, Celia. The Scent Trail : how one woman’s quest for the perfect perfume took her around the world.
New York : New American Library, 2007. 
Main Stacks GT2340 .L98 2007        

Magnan, Pierre.  The Essence of Provence: The Story of L'Occitane.  New York: Arcade Pub., 2003.
Main Stacks HD9970.5.C674 O2313 2003

Morris, Edwin T. Fragrance: The Story of Perfume From Cleopatra to Chanel. New York: Scribner, 1984.
Main Stacks   TP 983.M86 1984

Trueman, John. The Romantic Story of Scent. Garden City, NY: Doubleday, 1975.
Main Stacks   GT 2340.T78

Williams, David G.  Perfumes of Yesterday. Port Washington, NY: Micelle Press, 2004.
Main Stacks TP983 .W48 2004

Curtis, Tony and David G. Williams. Introduction to Perfumery. New York; London: Ellis Horwood, 1994.
Main StacksMain Stacks   TP 983 .C87 1994

Dictionnaire des Parfums = Dictionary of Perfumes. Paris; New York: Editions Sermadiras, 9e ed. 1987-88.
Main Stacks   TP 983 .A6 D53

Edwards, Michael.  Perfume Legends: French Feminine Fragrances. Levallois, France: HM Editions, 1996.
Main Stacks   GT 2340 .E38 1996

Fragrance & Olfactory Dictionary & Directory. New York: Fragrance Foundation, 1981.
Main Stacks   TP 983.F62 1981

Gaborit, Jean-Yves. Perfumes: The Essences and Their Bottles. New York: Rizzoli, 1985.
Main Stacks   TP 938.G2513 1985

Groom, N. St. J.  Perfume: The Ultimate Guide to the World’s Finest Fragrances. Philadelphia: Running Press, 1999.
Reference Desk Directory K TP 983.G74 1999

Haarman & Reimer. Fragrance Guide: Fragrances on the International Market. 4th rev. and updated ed. Hamburg: Glöss Verlag, c1997.
Main Stacks   TP 983.F65 1997

Herman, Barbara. Scent & subversion : decoding a century of provocative perfume .Guilford, Connecticut : Lyons Press, an imprint of Globe Pequot Press, [2013]                                                 
Main Stacks GT2340 .H46 2013

Herman, Stephen J.  Fragrance Applications : A Survival Guide. Carol Stream,IL: Allured Publishing Corp., 2002.
Main Stacks TP983 .H47 2002

Lefkowith, Christie Mayer. Masterpieces of the Perfume Industry. New York: Editions Stylissimo, 2000.
Main Stacks   NK 5440.B6 L384 2000

Malle, Frédéric. On Perfume Making. Berlin : Angelika, c2011. 
Main Stacks Oversize HD9999.P3933 F76 2011

Moran, Jan. Fabulous Fragrances: How to Select Your Perfume Wardrobe: The Women's Guide to Prestige Perfumes. Beverly Hills: Crescent House, 1994.
Main Stacks   TP 983.M817 1994

Newman, Cathy. Perfume: The Art and Science of Scent. [Washington, DC]: National Geographic Society, 1998.
Main Stacks    TP 983.N45 1998

Perfumery: The Psychology and Biology of Fragrance. Edited by Steve Van Toller and George H. Dodd. London; New York: Chapman and Hall, 1988.
Main Stacks    TP 983.P36 1988

Perfumes: Art, Science and Technology. Ed. by P.M. Müller and D. Lamparsky. London; New York: Elsevier, 1991.
Main Stacks    TP 983.P365 1991

Rimmel, Eugene.  Book of Perfumes   2nd ed.  Whitefish, MT : Kessinger Publishing Co., [2004?].  [Note: Originally published: London : Chapman and Hall, 1865.]
Main Stacks TP983 .R46 2004

Secondini, Olindo. Handbook of Perfumes and Flavors. New York: Chemical Pub. Co., 1990.
Main Stacks   TP 983. S4 1990

Sell, Charles. Understanding fragrance chemistry . Carol Stream, IL : Allured, 2008. 
Main Stacks TP 983 .S45 2008

Turin, Luca, and Tania Sanchez. The Little Book of Perfumes : The Hundred Classics. New York : Viking, 2011. 
Main Stacks TP983 .T868 2011

Williams, Tessa, Cult perfumes : the world’s most exclusive perfumeries London ; New York : Merrell, 2013. 
Main Stacks TP983 .W49 2013

NEW! "8 out of the top 10 global premium fragrance houses are fashion brands" according to Passport (Euromonitor), viewed March 3, 2015. Log into Passport database to see the detailed market share chart

Different takes on the connection?
"BCBG Max Azria is a lifestyle brand and fragrance is an important part of that,” said Azria. “It started with a dress, and for 25 years, we have been known for dresses, especially for occasions and special moments. Our brand mission is to make women look beautiful and feel confident. Fragrance is the final touch.” WWD Online 4/30/14

"He was a complete failure in economic terms. I mean, he made only a handful of dresses, and there are no perfumes associated with his name." Valerie Steele, curator of the Museum at FIT, on Charles James in Style.Com

• "Guides and overviews" (right) : Listings/directories of fragrances, their launch dates, characteristics etc.
• Forecasting and trend services (Current FIT user name and password required to access)
• Selected databases (Current FIT user name and password required to access)
  • Vogue Archive --Includes all articles, editorial features and ads; you may be able to use a combination of these to see how and when fragrances and designer clothing collections overlap.
  • WWD Online (1994-current)and WWD Archive (1980-one year ago)
  • Trade publications (what are they?) searchable through databases such as Business Source Complete or General Business File ASAP
     
• Books with both "fashion designers" and "perfumes" as subject headings. e.g
  • Fragrance and fashion. New York, NY : TODTRI Book Publishers, c2002.  
    Main Stacks TP983 .F64 2002
     
  • Temptation, joy & scandal : fragrance & fashion 1900-1950, The Museum at FIT, February 24-April 10, 2004. New York : The Museum at FIT, [2004]. (14 page pamphlet)
    Access Services Desk, Reserves MFIT Exhibition Brochures Binder   GT2340 .T44 2004
    "The exhibition explores an alliance between two French luxury industries - fragrance and fashion - which gave birth to products of enduring glamour and romance. Highlighted in the exhibition are legendary perfumes created during the first half of the 20th century by such fashion houses as Poiret, Chanel, Lanvin, Vionnet, Patou, Lelong, Schiaparelli, and Dior, as well as by fashion accessory houses such as André Perugia, Caroline Reboux, and Louis Vuitton"--Excerpt from press release.
  • Fashion scents [VHS videorecording].New York, NY : Videofashion, Inc., c1991.
    Circulation Desk Video Video TT500 .V536 v.4 no.9
    "An examination of some of the important names in the world of scents and perfumes, featuring the House of Worth, Jean Patou, Karl Lagerfeld, perfume bottle designer Desgrippes, and Nina Ricci"
  • Search OneSearch  using [designer name] and perfumes, e.g. Dior perfumes
  • More suggestions for researching fashion designers.