"Lash Lure was an aniline (coal tar-based) eyelash and eye brow dye that promised consumers more lasting beauty effects than mascara or eyebrow pencil. However, in reality, the toxic dye was highly irritating and caused eyebrow and eyelash loss, as well as vision impairment and even blindness. Like many cosmetics of the time, it was not tested for safety and did not disclose ingredients, so consumers had no way of knowing the real danger it posed to their health"
Visit the "American Chamber of Horrors" web page and watch the video to learn more!
Facial mask ingredients preferred by women in the United States as of December 2017, by type
The Flavorists: Tweaking tastes and creating cravings
"Meet the scientists who create flavors that make foods and beverages so tasty that critics say they're addictive. Morley Safer reports"
From 60 Minutes, CBS News, published online November 27, 2011
Check Journal Finder for access to these and other magazines through our databases
Also see the list of industry supplier directories
Appell, Louis. The Formulation and Preparation of Cosmetics, Fragrances and Flavors. Weymouth, Dorset, England: Micelle Press, 1994.
Main Stacks TP 938.A7 1994
Arctander, Steffen. Perfume & Flavor Chemicals. 2 Vols. Montclair, NJ: Author, 1960.
Main Stacks TP 983.A77
Begoun, Paula. Don't Go to the Cosmetics Counter Without Me. Renton, WA : Beginning Press, 2010.
Main Stacks RA778 .B423 2010
RELATED WEBSITE: Paula's Choice Skincare Ingredient Dictionary
Bennett's Cosmetic Formulary. New York: Chemical Publishing Co., 1993.
Main Stacks TP 983.B395 1993
Compendium: Containing Abstracts, Discussions and Conclusions of CIR Cosmetic Ingredient Safety Assessments. Washington: Cosmetic Ingredient Review, annual.
Main Stacks RA 1270.C65 C65
COSING: Cosmetics Ingredients Database. European Commission, Health & Consumers Directorate-General: Brussels, Belgium.
Cosmetic Bench Reference. Wheaton, IL: Allured Publishing, annual.
Main Stacks TP 983.C776
CBR Online (free, but registration required)
Cosmetic Ingredient Review. Cosmetic Ingredient Review:Washington DC.
CosmeticsInfo.org. Personal Care Products Council, Washington DC.
Federal and state government and other organizations' related links
Flavor and Fragrance Materials. Wheaton, IL: Allured Publishing, 1993.
Main Stacks TP 450.F63 1993
The Formulator's Handbook. Edison, NJ: Amerchol Corp., 1979.
Main Stacks TP 983.F59 1979
Harry’s Cosmeticology . 9th editon. Editor in chief Meyer R. Rosen. [Los Angeles] : Chemical Publishing Company, [2015]
Circulation Desk TP983 .H32 2015
International Buyer's Guide. Washington: Cosmetic, Toiletry and Fragrance Association, Annual.
Main Stacks TP 983.C955
Khan. Ikhlas A. and Ehab A. Abourashed. Leung’s encyclopedia of common natural ingredients : used in food, drugs, and cosmetics. 3rd ed. Hoboken : Wiley, 2010.
Main Stacks QD415.A25 L48 2010
Michalun, Natalia, with M. Varinia Michalun. Milady's Skin Care and Cosmetic Ingredients Dictionary. Albany: Milady Publishing, 1994.
Main Stacks TP 983.M498 1994
Poucher, W.A. Perfumes, Cosmetics and Soaps. Vols. 1-3 Revised by A.J. Jouhar and Hilda Butler. 9th ed. London: Chapman and Hall, 1991-93.
Main Stacks TP 983.P723 1991-1993
Product and Ingredient Safety [Cosmetics]: United States Food & Drug Administration: Washington DC.
Romanowski, Perry. Beginning cosmetic chemistry : practical knowledge for the cosmetic industry. 3rd. ed. Carol Stream, IL : Allured, 2009.
Main Stacks TP983 .S38 2009
Schroeder, Wen. Sustainable Cosmetic Product Development . Carol Stream, IL : Alluredbooks, 2011.
Main Stacks HD9970.5.C672 S37 2011
Skin Deep Cosmetics Database. Environmental Working Group; Washington DC
Wells, F.V. and Marcel Billot. Perfumery Technology: Art , Reference , Science, Industry. 2nd ed. New York: Halsted Press, 1981.
Main Stacks TP 983.W38 1981
Winter, Ruth. A Consumer's Dictionary of Cosmetics Ingredients. 7th ed. New York : Three Rivers Press, 2009..
Main Stacks TP 983. A55 W57 2009
| Have a question or comment about these guides? Contact: libraryreference@fitnyc.edu |
