This is the "Home" page of the "Image Searching and Image Collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Image Searching and Image Collections  

http://fitnyc.libguides.com/images
Last Updated: Apr 23, 2014 URL: http://fitnyc.libguides.com/images Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What's not in this guide

There are many other guides that have exhaustive lists of museum and other fine and decorative art collections. This isn't one of them!
(Our Art research guide suggests some relevant websites)

This guide emphasizes strategies to find any kind of image you might be looking for, primarily online, but also in printed materials. It also lists some of the best and broadest coverage websites, and highlights a few exemplary online collections.


 

US National Archive images on FLICKR

Like these? See other online image collections

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Ask A Librarian - Chat

Text a Librarian

Chat with a librarian

Chat/IM with us . Click on the Green "Ask a Question" tab on the right-hand edge of the page.

Text a librarian
Monday-Thursday 10:00am to 8:00pm
Friday 10am to 5:00pm
Saturday 11:00am to 4:00pm
Sunday 1:00pm to 8:00pm
Have a quick question that can't wait?  Have a cell phone? 
Text the keyword fitlibrary to 66746.

 

About this guide

The resources here guide you to collections of images, or search engines that will help you find specific images on web pages.  The unique or useful features of specific search engines are also covered.

Current FIT students and employees also have access to  FIT Library Databases

All applicable copyright restrictions still apply; see the U.S. Copyright Office or The Copyright Website for more information.

Note that “copyright-free” indicated on some sites does not necessarily mean that there is no fee for the use of the images. Check the details on each site for updated use information and charges.
Plagiarism issues also arise when you use images found on the web without properly citing the source.

What's your favorite image search engine or website? Tell us in the "comments" section below

nsb 1/2014

 

"Time LightBox": Pictures of the week

Loading Loading...
blank padding

Welcome

Profile Image
FIT Library
Contact Info
7th Ave at 27th St
New York, NY 10001
Reference (212) 217-4400
Instruction (212) 217-4407
Links:
Website / Blog
Profile & Guides

Highlight: New York Public Library image collections online

  • NYPL Digital Gallery
    The New York Public Library's gateway to its digital image collections.
    Over 700,000 digitized images of items from the New York Public Library's collections, including photographs, postcards, posters, fashion plates, ephemera, manuscripts and much more.

    Includes many subcollections such as:
  • Dress and Fashion: Design and Manufacture
  • NYPL Picture Collection Online
    Digitized version of the out-of-copyright material (mostly published prior to 1923) from the New York Public Library’s (Mid-Manhattan branch) extensive picture file collection, “the largest of its kind in any public library system.” Contains over 30,000 images, strong in areas of costume, and New York and American history.
  • NYPL on The Commons on Flickr
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip