Skip to main content

Special Collections & College Archives

Special Collections is a highly-specialized repository of primary source research materials related to the fields of fashion and design.

How to Cite Primary Source Documents

Identifying and locating primary sources in Gladys Marcus Library Special Collections & College Archives (SPARC) at FIT. 

Citing a primary source document, from Special Collections, varies depending on the preference of your instructor, the publication you are submitting the article, or the discipline in which you are operating.  The particular style may be the American Psychological Assocaition (APA), the Modern Language Association (MLA), the Chicago Manual of Style (Turabian), etc.

There are several elements to the citation which may be necessary to properly cite a document such as the sketch to the left.

The document: The creator or author, specific item title, page, section, date.

Accession number or call number: These are a string of letters and numbers that relate to specific materials and can be found on the spine of a book or the exterior of an archival box, which are used for organization and record keeping. For example, the collection number for the sketch on this page is US.NNFIT.SC.20.

Folder number: The majority of materials found in archives, that are not books, are housed in some sort of archival container and within the container the various items are separated for various reasons into folders.

Repository: This is the name of the archives, i.e. FIT Special Collections & College Archives 


Citation Example

Bergdorf Goodman Custom Salon sketchesThe sketch shown is found in the:

Collection: US.NNFIT.SC.20 Bergdorf Goodman Custom Salon sketches, 1930s-1969

Series: US.NNFIT.SC.20.1

Folder: US.NNFIT.SC.20.1.25, Balmain, Spring 1963- Fall 1967

Archives: FIT Special Collections & College Archives 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


The sketch could be cited in the following ways:

American Psychological Association:

Bergdorf Goodman. (Spring 1963-Fall 1967). [Balmain Sketch].  Bergdorf Goodman Custom Salon Sketches, 1930's-1969, Gladys Marcus Library Special Collections & College Archives (Folder 25), Fashion Institute of Technology, New York, NY.

Modern Language Association:

Bergdorf Goodman.  Balmain Sketch. 1963-1967.  Bergdorf Goodman Custom Salon Sketches, 1930's-1969. Gladys Marcus Library Special Collections & College Archives, Fashion Institute of Technology, New York, NY. 

Chicago Manual of Style:

Bergdorf Goodman Balmain Sketch, 1963-1967, Folder 25, Bergdorf Goodman Custom Salon Skecthes, Gladys Marcus Library Special Collections & College Archives, Fashion Institute of Technology, New York, NY.

Have a question or comment about these guides? Contact: libraryreference@fitnyc.edu