The most frequently-used databases
Mostly scholarly articles from 1995 - current, indexing (including of 200,000+ Artnet e-productions) and abstracting 1984- current.
Database of art images from museums and other institutions included in JSTOR
E-books and scholarly articles on fashion topics. It also offers an extensive image collection including 1400+ selections from CoPA (Commercial Pattern Archive 1868 to 2000) and a fashion museum directory.
Real-time access to retail data to make informed product, marketing and pricing decisions.
Spanning almost 40 years, this collection includes over 1,200 hours of videos of runway shows, designer profiles, and documentary films including coverage of the major fashion weeks in Milan, Paris, New York and London, as well as Miami swim and New York bridal collections.
Trend reports & forecasting for fashion and other industries. Formerly called “Fashion Snoops.”
Harper's Bazaar (US): 1867-Current
Harper's Bazaar (UK):
April 1930-Dec 1969
Harpers and Queen (UK):
Jan 1972-Dec 2000
Harper's Bazaar (UK):
Jan 2007-Dec 2007
Hoover’s, a subsidiary of The Dun and Bradstreet Corporation (D&B), offers proprietary business information Hoover's provides data on more than 85 million corporations, 100 million people, and 1,000 industries.
Scholarly articles on a wide range of subjects. Includes access to Artstor, with millions of images from museums and other institutions.
Original market research on product categories, consumer groups, and general trends. Mostly US and Europe-focused.
A profiling system to gain insights and to understand consumer’s media and product usage.
Access to nytimes.com website including most of the archive
Full text of Grove Art Online
There is a 3-user limit to this database -- please log off when you are finished
Fashion and trend forecasting service
FIT Library Research Guide providing information about how to access Simply Analytics through the New York Public Library. This database is a possible alternative to Demographics Now, which has been discontinued.
Contains every issue of Vogue from 1892 to present. Each issue can be browsed cover-to-cover in searchable full-text format. Each page and image is reproduced in high-resolution color with indexing, enabling images to be searched by garment type, designer, and brand names, among others. All covers, advertisements, fold outs and pictorial features are captured as separate documents,which are also indexed, searchable, and viewable in high-resolution color.
Trend reports & forecasting for fashion.
Our WGSN subscription includes access to Fashion, Interiors, and Coloro (Workspace only). Insight is no longer offered as a separate section, but the content is featured across WGSN.
We do not have access to Beauty, Food & Drink, Consumer Tech, Sports & Outdoor, Barometer, Advisory
Full-text coverage of Woman’s Wear Daily from 1994 - current.
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Full access to WSJ.com. Includes company research, comprehensive global news, and articles on career job preperation.
Guides by Subject
