LibGuides: Case Studies: Home

Harvard Business Case Studies

The sources linked on this guide will help you to find access to hundreds of case studies across many topics. We know some faculty are interested in Harvard Business School Case Studies, so we wanted to mention specifically that we cannot provide access to those cases. Unfortunately, Harvard Business School does not make those cases available to libraries in any format. They can only be purchased by individuals.

Recommended Book

Fashion Business Cases by Leslie Davis Burns
Call Number: HD9940.A2 F3673 2021
ISBN: 9781501362996
Publication Date: 2021-02-11
Helpful for both students new to the case method and faculty using cases in their classes.

Guide Editor

Carli Spina

Email Me

Contact:

Gladys Marcus Library
27th Street & 7th Ave
New York, NY

212.217-4396

About This Guide

The FIT Library provides access to a number of databases and resources that include high-quality case studies. This guide will help you to find case studies that will work for your specific courses. Please feel free to visit us online to ask questions or get additional support.

Bloomsbury Fashion Business Cases This link opens in a new window
Bloomsbury Fashion Business Cases "is global in focus and presents real-world cases on challenges facing the business of fashion, tackling important issues such as sustainability, technology, ethics, and leadership."

Business of Fashion Case Studies
Case studies focused on the fashion and beauty markets. They promise to offer "shorter, more focused learning formats tailored to professionals and entrepreneurs."

Business Source Complete - EBSCO Interface This link opens in a new window
Includes full-text coverage for scholarly business journals and other business resources. In this database, users can limit results to case studies only by using the Advanced Search feature and selecting "Case Study" in the Document Type OR Publication Type menu.
Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
General-audience, trade publication and scholarly articles on a wide range of subjects, 1980-current. This database includes academic and popular case studies, from magazines and journals, including peer-reviewed case studies from the journal Fashion and Textiles. These case studies are searchable by selecting a Document Type of "Case Study" in the Advanced Search feature.
Hoover's Online This link opens in a new window
Hoover’s, a subsidiary of The Dun and Bradstreet Corporation (D&B), offers proprietary business information Hoover's provides data on more than 85 million corporations, 100 million people, and 1,000 industries. In the Browse News section of this database, you can limit your results to "Case Study" by selecting it under Business Topics. Most of these cases are shorter and from the popular business media as opposed to academic journals.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and general-audience articles, case studies, and more, some 1887-current but mostly 1980-current. Much like Business Source Complete, in this database you can find case studies by limiting your Document Type to "Case Study" in the Advanced Search feature.

Gale Hospitality and Tourism
For hospitality, tourism, and leisure activity-related case studies, this database offers the option to limit results to "Business Case Study" or "Case Study" in the Document Type menu under the Advanced Search.
Fine Arts and Music Collection
A collection of articles, case studies, transcripts, videos, and images from a range of publications, including peer-reviewed, scholarly, industry-focused, and general audience from 1980 to present. The database includes case studies on arts and related topics, which are searchable by selecting a Document Type of "Case Study" in the Advanced Search feature.
Business Economics and Theory
General-audience and scholarly articles, case studies, some e-books, government and NGO reports, 1980 - current. This database includes case studies from both magazine and academic journals. To limit your results to case studies, use the Advanced Search feature and select "Case Study" in the Document Type menu.
Entrepreneurial Studies Source
Trade publication, general-audience and scholarly articles, some as far back as the 1950s - current; Company reports, case studies, SWOT analyses from MarketLine. This database has a similar format to Business Source Complete and users can limit results to case studies only by using the Advanced Search feature and selecting "Case Study" in the Document Type OR Publication Type menu.
Gale Business Collection
Trade publications, scholarly articles, and case studies, 1983 - current. This database includes the option to limit search results to case studies by selecting either "Business Case Study" or "Case Study" from the Document Type menu in the Advanced Search feature.

WGSN Insight This link opens in a new window
WGSN Insight contains a number of case studies on a range of topics that goes far beyond fashion, including retail, branding, technology, and cases about individual companies. You can find all of these by clicking on Reports in the topic menu and then filtering by the Case Studies content type.
To access WGSN Insight: login via the proxy and then with your WGSN username and password select the part of the site you wish to use from the top menu under "Fashion" Use an incognito browser to access this resource.

Free & Open Access Case Studies

Daniels Fund Ethics Initiative
This initiative out of the University of New Mexico offers free access to a number of case studies, mostly related to business topics, with a few about apparel, beauty, or lifestyle companies. Faculty must email the initiative for (free) access to case notes.
MIT Sloan School Case Studies
MIT's Sloan School makes some case studies available for free to educators. Faculty will need to request cases a few days in advance so that their faculty status can be verified. Cases cover a range of topics, including entrepreneurship, sustainability, and strategy.
Markkula Center for Applied Ethics
This organization offers a number of free case studies on topics related to ethics. Faculty will need to email for permission to use in a class.
The University of British Columbia Open Case Studies
This is a collection of Open Access case studies covering a wide range of topics.
Journal of Business Case Studies
This Open Access journal publishes business and marketing case studies that are freely available online.