LibGuides: For Fun: Free Online Offerings: Museum Collections & Tours

Museum Collections Online

Explore Museum Collections Online

Lectures
Art galleries
Virtual 360° tours
Remote book clubs

Image: Detail of an embroidered panel for a cabinet door
(Cooper Hewitt Smithsonian Design Museum)

Activities in Art

Explore Colors in Classic Art (Google Arts & Culture)
Click on a color to see classic artwork from world-famous artists. Zoom in to see fine details.

Select a color to see matching Classic Artworks - Google Art & Culture (free)

Fine Artwork - Google Arts & Cultures - Art Camera
High resolution images showing fine artwork details from Google Arts & Culture

Art Camera:
ZOOM INTO THE THREADS

High resolution images showing fine details
from Google Arts & Culture Collections

Image: Detail from Sarah Burton for Alexander McQueen A/W 2016 (British Fashion Council)

Zoom Into The Threads - McQueen (Google Arts & Cultures)
Dress detail from Sarah Burton for Alexander McQueen A/W 2016 (British Fashion Council)
Art Camera - Zoom Into The Threads (Google Arts & Cultures)
Scroll down to the ZOOM INTO THE THREADS section to see the very fine details of embroidery and textiles

Museum Lists

These articles list numerous museums offering online activities:

Google Arts & Culture
"The Art Project is a collaboration between Google and 151 acclaimed art partners from across 40 countries"
The Londonist - 23 Museums to Visit Virtually
"23 Of The World's Most Marvellous Museums That You Can Visit Virtually"
Museum Tours (Google Arts & Culture)
"10 Top Museums You Can Explore Right Here, Right Now"
My Modern Met - 1,200 Virtual Museum Tours
Virtual exhibitions in Google Arts & Culture
Thought Gallery (Talks, Museums, and Performances to Enjoy From Home)
A list of virtual museum tours and collections of New York venues. Livestream talks, readings, & performances from around the world.

Museum Digital Exhibitions and Tours

Contemporary Muslim Fashions Exhibition

Cooper Hewitt, Smithsonian Design Museum
(Image from online exhibition)

Exhibition features approximately 80 ensembles drawn from established and emerging designers in high-end fashion, streetwear, sportswear, and couture, as well as about 40 photographs.

To view all CHSDM exhibitions click on this Contemporary Muslim Fashions link.

The Brooklyn Museum
This Brooklyn institution has created virtual gatherings to replace their monthly dances, posted lectures and activities for families, as well as having information on their collections.
Cooper Hewitt - Smithsonian Design Museum - Virtual Exhibits
Virtual exhibitions in Google Arts & Culture
Cooper Hewitt Smithsonian Design Museum - Contemporary Muslim Fashions
To "View All Exhibition Objects" click on this Contemporary Muslim Fashions link.
The Frick Museum - Virtual Tour
Explore the galleries online with audio and 360º views: Lectures, tours, remote book club.
Getty Museum Art Collections
Digital images from the Getty Museum Collections: Antiquities, Drawings, Manuscripts, Paintings, Photographs, Sculpture & Decorative Arts
Hermitage Museum Virtual Tour
Virtual video tour of the Russian State Museum in St. Petersburg.
Metropolitan Museum - Now At The Met - Digital Blog
Explore rich articles and multimedia features about the Museum's current exhibitions, events and performances, announcements, behind-the-scenes activities, and more.
Metropolitan Museum - Online Features
Art lectures, tours,, study guides, videos, and collection searches
Monterey Bay Aquarium
This museum of aquatic life includes games and activities for kids at home, live cams on different sea creatures (see: Jellycam!), and detailed information on animals, fish and invertebrates who live at, on, or in the water.
Morgan Library & Museum
Online access to over 57,000 digitized images from medieval and Renaissance manuscripts and other art objects.
The Museum at FIT's Online Collection
Virtual exhibition tours, collection searches
National Museum of African American History & Culture
NMAAHC has posted virtual exhibitions, video archives, and stories from its collections.
New Museum: First Look (online exhibitions)
First Look: New Art Online is a series of innovative online projects and new commissions.

Art Outside Museums

9 Amazing Street Art Murals in New York City

For Fun: Free Online Offerings