LibGuides: Integrative Wellness &amp; Meditation: Recommended Online Resources

Recommended Online Sources

It is important to remember that not all websites contain reliable, accurate, up-to-date information, particularly when researching scientific and health sciences topics. The websites below provide resources that are from authoritative sources and may help to guide you to scholarly and peer-reviewed research on these topics.

Meditation: In Depth
This resource form the National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health provides a summary of the current research on meditation and links to research articles and other scholarly sources.
Yoga: What You Need To Know
Maintained by the National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health, this page offers data on Yoga in the United States as well as information on recent research on topics related to Yoga and wellness.
National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health
The website of the "Federal Government’s lead agency for scientific research on the diverse medical and health care systems, practices, and products that are not generally considered part of conventional medicine." Includes informational content and research results.

eBooks

Yoga for Health

Taoist Meditation

Smart Guide to Yoga

Healing Ways

Routledge Handbook of Complementary and Alternative Medicine

Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine

Pain: Considering Complementary Approaches

Databases

PubMed
A free database with citations for over 30 million items related to biomedical sciences. While it does not have full text for all articles, it is possible to request any items that are not full text via InterLibrary Loan.
PubMed Central
This is a "free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM)." It is a more limited counterpart to PubMed that does offer full-text access.

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals related to psychology and behavioral sciences. Includes some content related to meditation and complementary health.

Alt-HealthWatch
Database of articles and pamphlets related to complementary and integrative health. Full text items are available from 1990 and indexing extends back to 1984.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Database of full-text articles and abstracts for nursing and allied health journals. Extends back to 1937 and covers 770 journals.

Gale OneFile Psychology This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles, general interest items, and some ebooks on psychology topics from 1980-present.

Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine
Database that "contains full text articles, abstracts, and citation indexing for more than 2,500 periodicals, reference books, pamphlets from 1983 to present."
Health Source: Consumer Edition
Database that "contains full-text articles, magazines, and reports from 1984 to present on fitness, nutrition, diabetes, aging, women's health, children's health and more with access to 80 full-text magazines, 110 full-text reference books, more than 18,800 Clinical Reference Systems reports."

MEDLine with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Database with medical journals from the 1940's to present. A mix of full-text, abstracts, and citations.

Integrative Wellness & Meditation

Guide Editor