LibGuides: Interior Design Materials and Technology: Find Books, Articles and Images

Find Books, Articles and Images

Begin your search in OneSearch

Electronic resources (ebooks and databases) require current FIT username and password for access.

Click to see our Interior Design, Shelter & Architectural Design Magazines (Journals)

To see FIT ONLINE Journal Titles : Click here and then Interior Design / Shelter

Interior Design Materials Books

Interior Design Materials and Specifications

Interior Graphic Standards (2nd ed.)

Material Health: Design Frontiers

Sustainability in Interior Design

Virtual Aesthetics in Architecture

Interior Design

OneSearch

Search for books, ebooks, articles, and more

Drag or type the Subject Terms / Headings / Keyword(s) into the OneSearch box. See Search Terms tab for extensive keyword lists and search tips.

Note: Explore these databases independently since OneSearch does NOT include Home Furnishings Retailers Database - Chain Store Guide, Materials Connexion and WGSN - Lifestyle & Interiors

Search for these keywords in OneSearch

Interior decoration -- Materials
House furnishings -- Materials
Interior decoration accessories -- Materials
Interior Design and Furnishings
Building materials -- Recycling
Building materials -- Environmental aspects
Sustainable buildings
Sustainable architecture -- Materials

Find Interior Design & Architectural Design books in OneSearch

OneSearch - Subject - Interior Decoration - Books
Interior Decoration - Subject Search - MultiSearch - OneSearch - Books
OneSearch - Subject - Architecture - Books
Architecture - Subject Search - MultiSearch - OneSearch - Books
OneSearch - Subject - Buildings - Books
Buildings - Subject Search - MultiSearch - OneSearch - Books
Open Library - Interior Design (Internet Archive)
Open access to older, public domain versions of Interior Design books, images, movies and more. Register for free access.

Interior and Architectural Design Databases

List of all FIT Library Interior & Architecture Design Databases

Artstor on JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digital library of art images from museums and other institutions.

Registration for an individual account is required for some features.
Gale OneFile Home Improvement This link opens in a new window
Contains full text articles, abstracts, and citation indexing from 1984 to present for more than 4.5 million articles from more than 200 construction, architecture, materials, and home improvement focused titles, covering topics including techniques, tool and material selection, zoning requirements, and more.
Home Furnishings Retailers Database [Chain Store Guide] This link opens in a new window
Covers buyer contacts and basic information on home furnishings retailers such as IKEA, Rooms To Go, Pier 1 Imports, and more. (To be included, retailers must have two units or operate one unit with sales of at least $10 million. Wholesalers and distributors must have sales of at least $1 million.)
Material Connexion This link opens in a new window
A material database with access to innovative, sustainable materials and technologies from 75+ industries.

New users may set up an account by clicking on “Log In” at the upper right corner and following the prompts.

Faculty may book class tours to visit Material Connexion. Appointments are required. Please contact Lana Bittman - lana_bittman[at]fitnyc.edu for details.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Full text of Grove Art Online
There is a 3-user limit to this database -- please log off when you are finished
WGSN Interiors This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Trend reports & forecasting for lifestyles and interiors.
Students must create an account and re-activate their account every 90 days: click to create or re-activate account
Locked out of your account for too many incorrect login attempts? Reset your password here.
To access WGSN Lifestyle & Interiors:
- login via the proxy and then with your WGSN username and password select the part of the site you wish to use from the top menu
Use an incognito browser to access this resource