LibGuides: Interior Design Materials and Technology: Sustainable Interior Design

Sustainable Interior & Architectural Design

Sustainable Interior Design Environments

Subscription & electronic resources (ebooks and databases) require current FIT username and password for access. Internet resources are available to all users.

Sustainability in Interior Design (Books)

Green Interior Design : the guide to sustainable high style

Sustainability in Interior Design

Radical Matter : rethinking materials for a sustainable future

Sustainable Fashion & Textiles: Design Journeys

Green Architecture for a Sustainable Future

Botanical Buildings : plants + architecture

Embedded sustainability : the next big competitive advantage

Textile Technology and Design : from interior space to outer space

OneSearch

Search for books, ebooks, articles, and more

Searching for "SUSTAINABLE INTERIOR DESIGN" or "SUSTAINABLE ARCHITECTURE" as words in the subject will result in some of the following topics:

Architecture -- Environmental Aspects
Buildings -- Environmental Engineering
Ecological Houses
Environmental Engineering (Broader search)
Green Products
Green Technology
Housing and Health
Interior Decoration -- Environmental Aspects
Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design Green Building Rating System (LEEDS)
Sustainable Architecture
Sustainable Buildings -- Design and Construction
Sustainable Construction -- Certification

Databases and Online Resources

Journal of Green Building
Please note that we do not yet subscribe to this journal. It is searchable via Google Scholar and articles can be requested by means of InterLibrary Loan.

Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text database that provides access to environment journals and monographs
Gale OneFile Environmental Studies & Policy This link opens in a new window
Contains articles from journals and books related to environmental studies and policy
Greenfile This link opens in a new window
Access to peer-reviewed, scholarly, governmental and popular resources with information on environmental impacts by corporations, governments, and individuals as well as resources for minimizing those impacts.

Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
Mostly scholarly articles from 1995 - current, indexing (including of 200,000+ Artnet e-productions) and abstracting 1984- current.
Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Indexing (not full text) of mostly scholarly journals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles on a wide range of subjects
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and general-audience articles, some 1887-current but mostly 1980-current.
Gale OneFile Home Improvement This link opens in a new window
Contains full text articles, abstracts, and citation indexing from 1984 to present for more than 4.5 million articles from more than 200 construction, architecture, materials, and home improvement focused titles, covering topics including techniques, tool and material selection, zoning requirements, and more.

Material Connexion This link opens in a new window
A material database with access to innovative, sustainable materials and technologies from 75+ industries.

New users may set up an account by clicking on “Log In” at the upper right corner and following the prompts.

Faculty may book class tours to visit Material Connexion. Appointments are required. Please contact Lana Bittman - lana_bittman[at]fitnyc.edu for details.
WGSN Interiors This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Trend reports & forecasting for lifestyles and interiors.
Students must create an account and re-activate their account every 90 days: click to create or re-activate account
Locked out of your account for too many incorrect login attempts? Reset your password here.
To access WGSN Lifestyle & Interiors:
- login via the proxy and then with your WGSN username and password select the part of the site you wish to use from the top menu
Use an incognito browser to access this resource
Fashion Snoops This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Trend reports & forecasting for fashion.
Users are required to create a MY FS account
Use Mozilla/Firefox, Google Chrome, and Safari

Mindful Materials Library
Search for building products, components, materials and systems. Sign up for a free account to see full library.

BREEAM
US Green Building Council & LEED
American National Standards Institute
New York City Department of Buildings (DOB)
NYC Construction Codes, etc..

Dissertations & Theses @ Fashion Institute of Technology (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the dissertations and theses produced by students at FIT.

Magazines - Sustainability (by decade)

Dwell
June 2004 (v4 n6); September 2005 (v5 n8)-Current. 10x per year
Brings together modern concepts of architecture, design, home décor and socially-responsible development. Reviews new products, international residential design and trade shows; includes interviews with designers.
Includes floor plans of residential interiors
Frontiers in Ecology and the Environment
scholarly
June 2005 (v3 n5)-February 2010 (v8 n1). 10x per year
(Issues from 2003-current available online through link in record)
Journal from the Ecological Society of America focusing on ecological issues and environmental challenges
Matter
trade publication
2008 (v5 n3)-2015 (v10 n4). Quarterly
Published by Material Connexion; “uses science and design to create practical manufacturing solutions”

Citizen
Summer 2019. Quarterly
Published by the London School of Architecture, Citizen champions interdisciplinary ideas that help people living in cities have more fulfilled and sustainable lives.
Dwell
June 2004 (v4 n6); September 2005 (v5 n8)-Current. 10x per year
Brings together modern concepts of architecture, design, home décor and socially-responsible development. Reviews new products, international residential design and trade shows; includes interviews with designers.
Includes floor plans of residential interiors
Environmental Building News
trade publication
March 2011 (v20 n3)-February 2013 (v22 n2). Monthly
continued by The Building Green Report. Issues from 1992-Current available online through link
Publication that covers sustainable design, construction and green building solutions
Environment and Behavior
scholarly
September 2011 (v43 n5)-October 2013 (v45 n7). Bimonthly
A scholarly journal that publishes articles that explore varied topics covering the relationship of humans to the natural environment
Frontiers in Ecology and the Environment
scholarly
June 2005 (v3 n5)-February 2010 (v8 n1). 10x per year
(Issues from 2003-current available online through link in record)
Journal from the Ecological Society of America focusing on ecological issues and environmental challenges
Journal of Architectural and Planning Research
scholarly
Spring 2011 (v28 n1)-Winter 2012 (v29 n4). Quarterly
A scholarly journal that covers research findings and new practices in the architecture, design and planning field for scholars and professionals
Includes floor plans and elevations
Matter
trade publication
2008 (v5 n3)-2015 (v10 n4). Quarterly
Published by Material Connexion; “uses science and design to create practical manufacturing solutions”
Patagonia
store catalog
2017-2020
Patagonia is a designer of outdoor clothing and gear for the silent sports: climbing, surfing, skiing and snowboarding, fly fishing, and trail running focusing on sustainable business practices
Peppermint
Winter 2019 (no.42)-Current. Semiannual
This Australian quarterly print magazine focuses on style, sustainability and substance. Covering slow food, ethical fashion, natural living, health and beauty, diversity, and social entrepreneurs who appreciate good design and creativity, but also care about social and environmental issues.
Sustainability
trade publication
February 2012 (v5 n1)-December 2013 (v6 n6). Bimonthly
Journal that covers information about the preservation and sustainability of global resources from higher education, design, products, laws, government initiatives and more.

Citizen
Summer 2019. Quarterly
Published by the London School of Architecture, Citizen champions interdisciplinary ideas that help people living in cities have more fulfilled and sustainable lives.
Dwell
June 2004 (v4 n6); September 2005 (v5 n8)-Current. 10x per year
Brings together modern concepts of architecture, design, home décor and socially-responsible development. Reviews new products, international residential design and trade shows; includes interviews with designers.
Includes floor plans of residential interiors
Patagonia
store catalog
2017-2020
Patagonia is a designer of outdoor clothing and gear for the silent sports: climbing, surfing, skiing and snowboarding, fly fishing, and trail running focusing on sustainable business practices
Peppermint
Winter 2019 (no.42)-Current. Semiannual
This Australian quarterly print magazine focuses on style, sustainability and substance. Covering slow food, ethical fashion, natural living, health and beauty, diversity, and social entrepreneurs who appreciate good design and creativity, but also care about social and environmental issues.
The Spin Off: modern. matters.
Spring 2021 (n1)-Winter 2021 (n4). Quarterly
trade publication
Formerly Sportswear International
Published in Germany in English. Focuses on fashion business approaches to sustainability and opportunities created by new technologies and intelligent fabrics, and progressive brands, trends, and products that are sustainable.