LibGuides: Interior Design Professional Practice: Find Books, Articles and Images

Find Interior & Architectural Design Books, Articles and Images

Begin your search in OneSearch

Electronic resources (ebooks and databases) require current FIT username and password for access.

Click to see our Interior Design, Shelter & Architectural Design Magazines (Journals)

To see FIT ONLINE Journal Titles : Click here and then Interior Design / Shelter

Interior Design and Architecture Books

Interior Design Materials and Specifications

Interior Graphic Standards (2nd ed.)

Interior Design

OneSearch

Search for books, ebooks, articles, and more

Drag or type the Subject Terms / Headings / Keyword(s) into the OneSearch box. See Search Terms tab for extensive keyword lists and search tips.

Note: Explore these databases independently since OneSearch does NOT include Home Furnishings Retailers Database - Chain Store Guide, Materials Connexion and WGSN - Lifestyle & Interiors

Find Interior Design & Architectural Design books in OneSearch

Interior Decoration - Books
Architecture - Books
Buildings - Books
Open Library - Interior Design (Internet Archive)
Open access to older, public domain versions of Interior Design books, images, movies and more. Register for free access.

Encyclopedia References

Reference materials from Dictionaries, Encyclopedias & Handbooks
Click to see Discussions - Images - Topic Pages - Mind Maps (visual relationships)

Interior Design (Credo Reference)
References to Interior Design: Styles - Time Periods - Terminology
Credo Reference - Architectural Style
References to Architecture: Periods and Styles
Architecture (Credo Reference)
References to the Art of Building.
Architecture (in The Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia with Atlas and Weather guide) (Credo Reference)
References to Architecture: Regions - Styles - Time Periods - Terminology

Color, Space, and Style: all the details interior designers need to know but can never find. by Chris Grimley; Mimi Love
Publication Date: 2007

Interior and Architectural Design Databases

List of all FIT Library Interior & Architecture Design Databases

Artstor on JSTOR
Database of art images from museums and other institutions included in JSTOR
Future Snoops
Trend reports & forecasting for fashion and other industries. Formerly called “Fashion Snoops.”
Gale OneFile Home Improvement
Contains full text articles, abstracts, and citation indexing from 1984 to present for more than 4.5 million articles from more than 200 construction, architecture, materials, and home improvement focused titles, covering topics including techniques, tool and material selection, zoning requirements, and more.
Home Furnishings Retailers Database [Chain Store Guide]
Covers buyer contacts and basic information on home furnishings retailers such as IKEA, Rooms To Go, Pier 1 Imports, and more. (To be included, retailers must have two units or operate one unit with sales of at least $10 million. Wholesalers and distributors must have sales of at least $1 million.)
Material Connexion
A material database with access to innovative, sustainable materials and technologies from 75+ industries.

New users may set up an account by clicking on “Log In” at the upper right corner and following the prompts.

Faculty may book class tours to visit Material Connexion. Appointments are required. Please contact Lana Bittman - lana_bittman[at]fitnyc.edu for details.
Oxford Art Online
Full text of Grove Art Online
There is a 3-user limit to this database -- please log off when you are finished