Start with a fashion encyclopedia.
Browse the shelves.
Be creative with search terms.
1920s Nineteen twenties 20s 20s fashion Flapper era Art Deco fashion
Researching a designer from a specific period?
Available Online
Available Online
NK8806 .T45 1993
| GT 509-510 Fashion history GT 511 Fashion, modern GT 520 Fashion, social aspects GT 530 Fashion by time period GT 596 Fashion 20th century GT 601 Fashion U.S. GT 615 Fashion U.S. 20th century GT 720-1310 Fashion Europe GT 1370-1565 Fashion Asia GT1580 Fashion Africa GT 1710 Menswear GT 1730 Children's clothing GT 1747 Types of clothing (masks, theater, wedding) GT 2050 Articles of clothing (shirts, pants, hats, etc.) GT 2073 Underwear, Lingerie GT 2077 Bathing suits GT 2085 Denim GT2110 Hats GT 2130 Shoes GT 2180 Handbags GT 2290 Hair GT2340 Tattoos GV 749.S64 Sneakers NK 2115.5.F3 Fabrics in interior decoration NK 4700 Costume collections NK 4890.S45 T-Shirts NK 8800-9505 Textile arts NK 8804.5 Conservation NK 8806 Textile history, ethnic groups, by region
|
NK 8906 History, Region and time period |
Can't find what you need in our library? Try requesting a book from another library through Interlibrary Loan. To search books in other libraries try WorldCat. Or visit one of our partner libraries by making a METRO appointment.
TR679 .L5482 2016
F128.9 .N4 S53 2001
TR679 .A933 2009
TR679 .E95 1986
TR654 .P446 1997
Available either online or in print in the Periodicals Department, Library 4th floor.
See the full list at History of Dress & Fashion Theory Periodicals list.
Archaeological Textiles Review
online: November 1985 (n1)-Current. Annual
Published in Copenhagen, Denmark, in English, the journal includes investigation and technical analysis of all textile materials with a focus on archaeological textiles
Open Access Resource Available 1990-2024
Conference proceedings of the International Committee for Museums (ICOM) Costume Committee Annual Meeting. Research presented by museum professionals and costume historians from all over the world committed to the study of all aspects of presenting, preserving, researching and collecting apparel and textiles.
March 2004 (v2 n1)-Current. 3x per year
online: March 2003 (v1 n1)-Current
A peer-reviewed journal that features research on the cultural, technical, historical and aesthetic significance of textiles from all around the world.
Open Access Journal Available Online 2018-Current
online: from 2003-Current
Publishes research in textiles, cloth, and raw materials with their social, personal and cultural meanings in material history and visual culture worldwide.
2014 (v1 n1); 2016 (v3 n1). 3x per year
online: October 2013 -Current
This journal discusses how clothes determine social interaction and behavior and their statement of one’s values or culture. It also covers textiles and their significance in the production and consumption of clothing.
online: 2001-2018
Founded in 1971, the company specializes in museum quality antique costume of the 18th and 19th centuries and in European embroideries, silks, and printed textiles of the 17th - 20th centuries
1967-Current. Semi-annual
online: 1965/66-Current
The journal of the Costume Society of the United Kingdom. Book reviews and scholarly articles about the history of dress and costume design
online: October 2010 (v1 n1)-Current
A journal dedicated to the examination of fashion and beauty systems as symbolic spaces of production and reproduction, representation and communication of artifacts, meanings, social practices, and renditions of cloth, clothing and appearance
scholarly
2014 (v1 n1); 2015 (v2 n2/3). 3x per year
online: October 2013 (v1 n1)-Current (Current FIT username and password required for access)
Discussion, analysis, and theoretical development of men’s appearance from multiple disciplines
scholarly
2014 (v1 n1). 3x per year
online: October 2013 (v1 n1)-Current (Current FIT username and password required for access)
A peer-reviewed journal specifically dedicated to the area of fashion scholarship and its interfacings with popular culture.
scholarly
March 1997 (v1 n1)-Current. 5x per year
online: February 1997 (v1 n1)-Current (Current FIT username and password required for access)
Social and psychological aspects of fashion presented in scholarly articles
scholarly
online: January 2011 (v1 n1)-Current (Current FIT username and password required for access)
Film, Fashion & Consumption is a peer-reviewed journal designed to provide an arena for the discussion of research, methods and practice within and between the fields of film, fashion, design, history, art history and heritage.
scholarly
2014 (v1 n1); 2015 (v2 n2). Semi-annual
online: April 2014 (v1 n1)-Current (Current FIT username and password required for access)
A scientific peer-reviewed journal that fosters the worldwide diffusion of Fashion Studies. Fashion Studies is an interdisciplinary field of research that has been producing an extensive repertoire of theories, analyses and enquiries
scholarly
online: April 2016 (v1 n1)-Current (Current FIT username and password required for access)
This title aims to encourage, generate and disseminate critical discourse on costume and the relationship between costume and performance.
scholarly
December 1971 (v2 n1)-Current. Semi-annual
online: December 1968 (v1 n1)-Current (Current FIT username and password required for access)
Scholarly articles on the history and development of the textile industry
Open Access Journal Available Online 2017-Current
Thousands of recent and historical articles, books and images. Access it online with your FIT username and password.
Directory of fashion shows from 1941-2014
Need New York Public Library card for Access.
A multi-year global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the nineteenth century. The content is sourced from the world's preeminent libraries and archives.
Need New York Public Library card for Access.
Provides full text, digital images of books, pamphlets, broadsides and other materials published in the United Kingdom between 1701-1800.
contains fashion specific dictionaries and encyclopedias. It's a great place to get definitions and overviews on a topic.
has thousands of images from museum collections around the world. You can browse by Country of Origin, Museum, Medium and Time Period.
digital repository database of approximately 64,000 digital images intended for both research and instructional use by FIT students and faculty. Includes our designer files.
Pulls from multiple scholarly databases and open access publications. Great for interdisciplinary research.
We have full-text access to the following Taylor & Francis publications:
Please note, some of our magazines are available digitally and some are only available in print in the Periodicals room on the 4th floor for in-library use. Visit our Periodicals LibGuide to see all of our periodicals by decade.
This privately run website has digitized Sears, JC Penney, and Montgomery Ward Catalogs from 1940-2017.
A list of 655 periodicals held in Special Collections. To view in person, please make an appointment.
A list of 346 freely available, digitized periodicals from the 18th, 19th, and 20th century related to fashion. Includes sections on international and menswear magazines.