LibGuides: Toy Design: Trends and Materials

Databases

Material Connexion This link opens in a new window
A innovative materials library where you can search by properties, specifications and order samples.
New users may set up an account by clicking on “Log In” at the upper right corner and following the prompts.

Faculty may book class tours to visit Material Connexion. Appointments are required. Please contact Lana Bittman - lana_bittman[at]fitnyc.edu for details.

Safety Standards

Trend & Color Forecasting Web Sites

Toy Trends
The Toy Industry Association publishes annual trend reports from the toy industry and toy fairs.
Fast Company - Create
Follows trends in creativity, culture and commerce.
CSI: Color Solutions International
Aspires to be the leading global supplier of color communication products & services for retailers and brands
more...less...
"With our CSI Color Inspirations we help the designer to visualize and plan the upcoming season. To give the designer quick access to a large variety of colors we provide one of the biggest selections of Ready Made Colors. If there is a design color so unique that it is not available as a Ready Made Color, we can tailor this color in our custom color matching process. Our repertoire of design tools is the right equipment for a designer's internal color communication."
Pantone/North America
Trendzoom
On-line Forecast, Trend Reporting & News Service

Online Services

Doneger Tobe This link opens in a new window
Requires an extra username and password. Login with your FIT username and password first, Use the password listed for Doneger.
Use the password listed for Doneger
Fashion Snoops This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Users are required to create a MY FS account to use tools & workspace. Use your FIT email address as your username.
Use Mozilla/Firefox, Google Chrome, Safari and Internet Explorer (version 10 and up only - older versions of Internet Explorer are not compatible and will not allow images to display correctly).
Users are required to create a MY FS account
Use Mozilla/Firefox, Google Chrome, and Safari
WGSN Fashion This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Users are required to create an individual WGSN account
To access WGSN:
1. On the "Library Database A to Z List" page (https://www.fitnyc.edu/library/databases/a-to-z.php). select WGSN and login using your FIT username and password.
2. Before you proceed CLICK ON THE "+" sign for directions on how to login.
3. Students must create an account and re-activate their account every 90 days: click on "re-activate account". URL= https://www.wgsn.com/accounts/edu/
Students must create an account and re-activate their account every 90 days: click to create or re-activate account
Locked out of your account for too many incorrect login attempts? Reset your password here.
To access WGSN Fashion login via the proxy and then with your WGSN username and password select the part of the site you wish to use from the top menu.
Use an incognito browser to access this resource.
WGSN Interiors This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Trend reports & forecasting for home products. Users are required to create a WGSN account.
Follow instructions above to create an individual WGSN account.
Students must create an account and re-activate their account every 90 days: click to create or re-activate account
Locked out of your account for too many incorrect login attempts? Reset your password here.
To access WGSN Lifestyle & Interiors:
- login via the proxy and then with your WGSN username and password select the part of the site you wish to use from the top menu
Use an incognito browser to access this resource
WindowsWear This link opens in a new window
Contains images, 360 degree panoramas, and descriptions of physical and digital window displays in a real-time, searchable database of community-generated content that provides data on what retail environments look like around the world with coverage from 1931 to present.

1. Visit WindowsWear
2. Click “Join now” on the top right
3. Select "Academic" on the right
4. Under "existing members" select "FIT"
5. Create profile
6. Under "get started" select "student" or "faculty"
7. Use your FIT email and create a password
8. Click "join"
You will need to login to WindowsWear after authenticating via the proxy to use the site.
Peclers(+) This link opens in a new window
Fashion and trend forecasting service
To access Peclers(+):

Use activation code: JXWYEND7
Use your FIT email address
For "position" type student or employee job title