LibGuides: Fashion Design: Inspiration, Illustration, and Tools: Sustainability and Fashion

FIT Databases

Fashion Snoops This link opens in a new window
Trend reports & forecasting for fashion.
Users are required to create a MY FS account
Use Mozilla/Firefox, Google Chrome, and Safari
Sourcing Journal This link opens in a new window
Sourcing Journal is the premiere trade publication for apparel and textile executives focused on sourcing and manufacturing. Try searching with terms such as, sustainability, green fashion and ethical fashion.
WGSN Fashion This link opens in a new window
Consumer, marketing, retail, and innovation trends. Go to TRENDS tab and see SUSTAINABILITY.
Students must create an account and re-activate their account every 90 days: click to create or re-activate account
Locked out of your account for too many incorrect login attempts? Reset your password here.
To access WGSN Fashion login via the proxy and then with your WGSN username and password select the part of the site you wish to use from the top menu.
Use an incognito browser to access this resource.
WGSN Insight This link opens in a new window
Consumer, marketing, retail, and innovation trends. Go to TRENDS tab and see SUSTAINABILITY.
Students must create an account and re-activate their account every 90 days: click to create or re-activate account.
Locked out of your account for too many incorrect login attempts? Reset your password here.
To access WGSN Insight:
- login via the proxy and then with your WGSN username and password select the part of the site you wish to use from the top menu
Use an incognito browser to access this resource.
Woodhead Textile eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
A collection of ebooks on textile technology and science from Woodhead.
Material Connexion This link opens in a new window
Material ConneXion is the leading materials-driven design platform.
See their "Sustainability" tab.
New users may set up an account by clicking on “Log In” at the upper right corner and following the prompts.

Faculty may book class tours to visit Material Connexion. Appointments are required. Please contact Lana Bittman - lana_bittman[at]fitnyc.edu for details.
Fashion Studies Online: The Videofashion Library This link opens in a new window
This collection includes over 1,200 hours of videos that retrace the history of fashion, clothing, and costume worldwide, covering the major fashion weeks in Milan, Paris, New York and London, as well as Miami swim and New York bridal collections.

Projects around FIT

Muslin Composting Project
"Muslin Composting Project
In 2015, Textile Development and Marketing students Lydia Baird and Willa Tsokanis took their own idea to the Clinton Global Initiative University (CGI U) conference, where they presented a proposal for a muslin composting system.

Baird and Tsokanis developed the project because much of the cotton muslin used by designers goes to waste: "It is undyed and unbleached and minimal. What makes cotton-muslin lifespan so short is also what makes it perfect for our project...without a compost collection system or a means for properly recycling the fibers, it must get tossed away."

Muslin composting is a perfect companion to FIT's natural dye garden, which will benefit from the nutrient-rich material it creates."
FIT Sustainability Council
The Sustainability Council was established by the President to develop and foster sustainability initiatives throughout the FIT Community.
Faculty Senate Committee on Sustainability
The committee's responsibilities are:
Initiate, develop and recommend policies and procedures across all areas of the college for best practices in sustainability related issues.
Develop and maintain a sustainability handbook.
Initiate and support communication for disseminating pertinent information regarding sustainability to the college community.
Sustainability at FIT
There is an active and diverse group within the FIT community working together to incorporate sustainability into all that we do.
TechFit
Ethics and Sustainability Club
Please contact EthicsSustainability@fitnyc.edu if you are interested in joining.

Committee on Sustainability