Student Guide to The Library

Goodman Center - 5th floor
Seventh Avenue at 27 Street
New York, NY 10001-5992
Recorded Info    212 217.4340
Telephone     212 217.4370
Fax     212 217.4371 
 

FIT's Library supports the academic and research needs of the FIT community. A well-selected collection of more than 175,000 volumes of print materials (and over 300,000 combined print ,non-print, and electronic) supports the instructional programs in art and design, business and technology, liberal arts and our Graduate School. Collections also include specialized electronic and digital resources and materials not often found in conventional academic libraries, such as the fashion and trend forecasting services, sketch collections, clipping files, and fashion show DVDs. Our newspapers and periodicals include more than 400 current subscriptions and extensive back issue runs.  Databases, provided by FIT, SUNYConnect, and the New York State Library, provide access to thousands of full-text journal articles, books, images, research reports and other resources.  Most are available remotely.

Special areas and projects include:  Special Collections with scrapbooks, archives, illustrations, and other primary research material in their original formats; the Interior Design Resource Center, a professional-level product literature collection; and the FIT Digital Image Library (FITDIL), a database of approximately 66,000 digital images.

Superblock. Digital image. AAP NYC. Cornell University, 25 Mar. 2010. Web. 12 Apr. 2017. <http://blogs.cornell.edu/aapnyc/2010/03/25/living-histories-new-york-city-and-rome/>.