Skip to main content

Start Here: How do I pick the right materials for my research?: Finding magazine, journal, and newspaper articles

http://fitnyc.libguides.com/start

Why? Why not?

Why? For more current or detailed information, or if you cannot find any books on your topic 
Why not?
Not for broad overview of a topic, articles from general (as opposed to scholarly) periodicals won't have bibliographies referring you to other related sources, or acknowledging the sources the author used.

Check your spelling and typing

In most databases, missing even one letter can get you incorrect or even no results.

Though autocomplete suggestions are sometimes available, you usually won't get a hint -- like Google's "did you mean...? -- to help you see your mistake.

If you get a “0” result for a search, go back one step to check if you’ve made a spelling or typing mistake. Ask for help if you’re still not sure!

 

Searching for Articles

Databases and other periodical indexes help you find articles on a specific topic without having to flip through hundreds or thousands of issues.

  • Most of the FIT Library's periodical indexes are available online through the FIT Databases.
  • If you're looking for older or specialized materials, you may want to use some of the older periodical indexes to find articles. Then you'd have to go through a second step to see if the FIT library has the article you want , either in print or online.
  • The articles in an online database or index may be from a newspaper, a news wire service, a consumer magazine, a trade publication, or a scholarly journal. There's a good explanatory chart or ask a librarian about the different types of publications and which may be most appropriate for your particular purpose.

Finding a specific magazine/journal/newspaper

Use the Journal Finder (EBSCO A-Z) to find:

  • online magazines to browse, year by year, issue by issue (but without ads and sometimes other images), article by article OR
  • a specific magazine and then search within that magazine for a specifc topic

When you can't find the whole article

If the article you want is not available full-text online in a database you're using, it's probably because :

  • the whole database is an index only    OR
  • most articles are available full-text, but the ones from this specific magazine or journal are not    OR
  • there's an "embargo" date for certain magazines where the publisher only allows "older" articles (typically 1-3 years and older) to be seen

To try to get an article you found listed in a printed index,  or to see if another database, website , or other format has the full text of article when the database you searched did not, try these steps:

  • Look for, and click on a "Find This Article" or "Other holdings" link
  • Use the E-journal Portal to see if the FIT library has either the printed or online version of the magazine you want. Note the dates indicated because we may have the ttle you want, but not the correct year. Also try the related Citation Linker
  • Try Google Scholar which searches academic-oriented and publishers' sites only and may link to an open access version of the article you want.
    Through settings>library links, you can indicate which libraries you are affiliated with (e.g. FIT and NYPL); the search results may then include direct links to an article through one of the library databases you can log into.
  • Check StyleCat  (under the name of the magazine, not the name of the specific article) to see if the library owns the magazine you need.
  • See the booklet "Periodicals Listed by Title" found on tables in the Reference Room, 4th floor, to see if the Library has printed copies of the magazin

If the FIT library doesn't have access to the article either in print or online, you can try to get it through InterLibrary Loan , try a public library, or Ask a librarian (in person) for a pass to visit another college or university library in the NYC area.

Have a question or comment about these guides? Contact: helen_lane@fitnyc.edu