LibGuides: Food & Culinary History: Menu, Cookbooks, and Recipes

Menu and Cookbook Collections

Menus

Community Cookbooks - Library of Congress
Charity and community cookbooks from across the United States and digitized from the Library of Congress collections
Cookbooks from the Internet Archive
Digitized english language cookbooks
Culinary Institute of America - Menu Collection
The Culinary Institute of America’s special collection of 30,000 historical menus includes menus from CIA restaurants and donations from major menu collectors. Assembled over decades, the collection illustrates the history of dining in America and abroad, with menus from all of the states and over 80 countries, as well as ships, railroads and airlines.
Feeding America - MSU Libraries Cookbook Collection
Feeding America is an online collection of some of the most important and influential American cookbooks from the late 18th to early 20th century
Food52
Brings cooks together from all over to exchange recipes and much more
Gallica - Patrimoine Gourmand
Culinary materials from BNF Gallica (Bibliotheque Nationale de France)
Mexican Cookbook Collection
UTSA’s Mexican Cookbook Collection is comprised of more than 2,000 cookbooks, from 1789 to the present, with most books dating from 1940-2000. In addition to broad general coverage, the collection includes concentrations in the areas of regional cooking, healthy and vegetarian recipes, corporate advertising cookbooks, and manuscript recipe books.
NYPL Menu Collection
Search the digitized menu collection
Szathmary Recipe Pamphlets - Iowa University
Recipes from commercial food product promotions.
What's on the Menu? NYPL Digital Humanities Project
Dig for data, dishes, and help transcript the NYPL menu collection!

Popular Magazine Archives - Search for recipes

Women's Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Contains an archive starting in 1883 to 2005 for eleven magazines typically marketed to women, with high-resolution color scans and feature detailed article-level indexing. Titles and specific coverage includes:

- Better Homes & Gardens (1922 - 2005)
- Chatelaine (1928 - 2005)
- Cosmopolitan (1926 - 2004)
- Essence (1970 - 2005)
- Good Housekeeping (1885 - 2005)
- Ladies’ Home Journal (1883 - 2005)
- Parents (1926 - 2005)
- Redbook (1903 - 2005)
- Seventeen (1944 - 2005)
- Women’s Day (1937-2005)
- Women’s International Network News (WIN News) (1975-2005)

Food, culture, & society
Explores the complex relationships among food, culture, and society from numerous disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Google Books - Magazines
Includes 20th and early 21st Century coverage of many popular magazines, including Life, New York, Jet, Ebony, The Advocate, Billboard, Spin and Spy.