LibGuides: Feminism: Articles, News & Magazines

Periodical Literature

Here is a sample of a few current and historical popular magazines marketed to women. Popular magazines can give you a view into the concerns and everyday lives of women past and present.

Azizah
March 2002; April 2007-May 2009. (with gaps). Quarterly
Geared to the interests of Muslim women
Bust
June/July 2011 (v69)-Current. (with gaps). Quarterly
An independently run women's lifestyle magazine that addresses a variety of women's interests, including pop culture, crafting, music, fashion, and celebrity interviews
Charm
May-September 1947; March-December 1948; June-October 1949; September 1950-February 1951; July 1951-December 1954. Monthly
Absorbed by Glamour
A fashion and lifestyle magazine aimed at women who work with fashion, beauty, travel and lifestyle articles and advice
Cosmopolitan
November 1972; January 1980-Current. Irregular
online: March 1886 - December 2005 (Current FIT username and password required for access)
For the contemporary woman. Features articles on beauty, health, fashion and social issues
Darling: The Art of Being a Woman
Fall 2015 (n13)-Current. Quarterly
Aims to redefine femininity and beauty through thought-provoking and counter-cultural perspectives
Essence
May 1970 (v1)-Current. Bimonthly
online: May 1970-December 2005 (FIT username and password required for access)

Fashion, beauty, home decorating, food and general features aimed at African-American women
Honey
August 2002 (v3 n6)-September 2003 (v4 n6). 10x per year
“Urban, smart, stylish, sexy” fashion, beauty and entertainment magazine
Latina
May 2008 (v12 n7)-March/April 2017 (v21 n2). 10x per year
A style magazine for Latina women, covering fashion, beauty, music, entertainment, recipes and events in New York, Chicago and Los Angeles
More
February 2001 (v4 n1)-April 2016 (v19 n3). 10x per year
General interest magazine targeted at female professionals over 30. Features interviews with women in leadership roles, book reviews and short non-fiction pieces
Ms.
January 1980 (v7 n7)-Current. Quarterly
Political, health and social issues; fiction, poetry and essays
Riposte
2016 (n6); 2017 (n9)-Current. Semiannual
A smart magazine for woman published in the UK with each issue featuring five ideas, four meetings, three features, two essays, and one icon with honest interviews and essays covering a broad range of issues including art, design, music, business, innovation, politics, food and travel.
Woman's Day
May 9, 2000 (v63 n9)-Current. 9x per year
online: October 1937-December 2005 (Current FIT username and password required for access)
Provides articles on food and nutrition, health and fitness, beauty and fashion, as well as home and family

A search of these databases will result in articles from scholarly journals, specialized magazines, and newspapers.

Gale OneFile Gender Studies This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed, scholarly, and popular resources on gender studies, LGBTQIA+ topics, women's studies, family, and more from 1980 to present.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
English language journals in the field of social sciences.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and general-audience articles, some 1887-current but mostly 1980-current.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles on a wide range of subjects

Consider browsing and searching these Jstor collections

Popular magazines can give you a view into the concerns and everyday lives of women past and present.

Women's Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Contains an archive starting in 1883 to 2005 for eleven magazines typically marketed to women, with high-resolution color scans and feature detailed article-level indexing. Titles and specific coverage includes:

- Better Homes & Gardens (1922 - 2005)
- Chatelaine (1928 - 2005)
- Cosmopolitan (1926 - 2004)
- Essence (1970 - 2005)
- Good Housekeeping (1885 - 2005)
- Ladies’ Home Journal (1883 - 2005)
- Parents (1926 - 2005)
- Redbook (1903 - 2005)
- Seventeen (1944 - 2005)
- Women’s Day (1937-2005)
- Women’s International Network News (WIN News) (1975-2005)

The 19th
A independent, nonprofit newsroom reporting on gender, politics and policy.
New York Times - Gender and Society
Stories and editorials from the NY Times that have been tagged as belonging to the topic of Gender and Society. Includes views some may not consider to be feminist.
The Guardian - Women's Rights and Gender Equality
Articles with a specific focus on the pressing issues affecting women, girls and transgender people around the world, and the critical work being carried out by women’s rights movements
Feminist Majority - Newswire
The name Feminist Majority Foundation is a consciousness-raiser, inspired by a 1986 Newsweek/Gallup public opinion poll that showed the majority of women (56%) in the United States self-identified as feminists.