LibGuides: Interior Design History and Theory: Interior Designers and Architects

Interior Designers and Architects

Interior Designers and Architects from the past to the present. Search for Biographies

Electronic resources (ebooks and databases) require current FIT username and password for access.

Designers - Books in the Library

Zaha Hadid : the explosion reforming space

Architecture Visionaries

Livable Luxe (Brigette Romanek)

India Mahdavi

Contemporary Japanese Architects

Billy Baldwin: the great American decorator

The Architect: Women In Contemporary Architecture

Contemporary Architects

Women of Steel and Stone : 22 inspirational architects, engineers, and landscape (ebook)

OneSearch

Search for books, ebooks, articles, and more

History Articles / Resources (Online)

21 Famous Women Architects - Thought Co (web site)
Meet architecture's pioneering female influencers past and present. Written by Jackie Craven of Thought Co.
Columbia University Libraries, Avery Drawings & Archives
Avery Library’s Drawings & Archives department collects drawings, photographs, and architectural records documenting architecture and design practices and also include project and building files, business records, correspondence, and faculty and personal papers.

more... less...

Major architects and firms whose drawings and records are represented in our archival collections include Louis Sullivan, the Guastavino Company, Emery Roth, Hugh Ferriss, Kahn & Jacobs, Philip Johnson, Gordon Bunshaft, J. Max Bond Jr., Felix Candela, Wallace Harrison, and Max Abramovitz.

Our largest collection is the Frank Lloyd Wright Foundation Archives. Jointly acquired with The Museum of Modern Art in 2012, it is one of the most comprehensive archives of an American architect.
Pioneering Women In Architecture
A collection of profiles of fifty women who have made important contributions to American architecture since the 1870s.
SAH Archipedia
SAH Archipedia is a free, expert-written, online educational resource that provides open access to the history of the U.S. built environment from the earliest settlements to contemporary buildings, landscapes and cities. (Society of Architectural Historians)

Articles on Designers and Architects

Art Full Text
Mostly scholarly articles from 1995 - current, indexing (including of 200,000+ Artnet e-productions) and abstracting 1984- current.
Art Index Retrospective
Indexing (not full text) of mostly scholarly journals.
Academic Search Complete
Scholarly and general-audience articles, some 1887-current but mostly 1980-current.
JSTOR
Scholarly articles on a wide range of subjects
ABC-CLIO eBook Collection
ABC-CLIO contains hundreds of e-books covering a multitude of popular culture topics, including cinema, literature, sports, and research topics. An audio device feature is included for every article/book.
Credo
Online reference library containing full-text dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference books.
Gale eBooks (GVRL)
Searchable e-books providing quick information on a variety of topics including business, history, countries of the world, science, education, multicultural studies, social science, and more.
Oxford Art Online
Full text of Grove Art Online
There is a 3-user limit to this database -- please log off when you are finished

Reference Books and eBooks

The 70s House by David Heathcote
Publication Date: 2006
African American Architects by Dreck Spurlock Wilson (Editor)
Publication Date: 2004
The Architect: Women In Contemporary Architecture by Maggie Toy
Publication Date: 2001
Contemporary Architects by Muriel Emanuel (Editor)
Publication Date: 1994
Contemporary Designers by Sara Pendergast
Publication Date: 1996
Contemporary European Architects by Wolfgang Amsoneit
Publication Date: 1994
Contemporary Japanese Architects by Dirk Meyhöfer
Publication Date: 1994
A History of Interior Design by John Pile; Judith Gura; Drew Plunkett
Publication Date: 2023

Designers - Books in the Library

Alexander Girard by Alexander Girard (Artist); Todd Oldham; Kiera Coffee
Publication Date: 2011
Architecture Visionaries by Richard Weston
Publication Date: 2015
Billy Baldwin by Adam Lewis; Albert Hadley (Foreword by)
Publication Date: 2010
The Great Lady Decorators by Bunny Williams (Foreword by); Adam Lewis; Jeremiah Goodman (Illustrator)
Publication Date: 2010
India Mahdavi by India Mahdavi
Publication Date: 2021
Livable Luxe by Brigette Romanek; Gwyneth Paltrow (Foreword by)
Publication Date: 2023
Louis I. Kahn - Beyond Time and Style by Carter Wiseman
Publication Date: 2007
Peter Marino: Art Architecture by Peter Marino; Brad Goldfarb (Editor)
Publication Date: 2015
Zaha Hadid : the explosion reforming space by Philip Jodidio
Publication Date: 2016

Historical Designers (Books)

Who were the pioneers of interior design? What did they bring to design that was unique? What were their influences? How are their designs used in their time and today?

African American Architects : a biographical dictionary, 1865-1945 by Dreck Spurlock Wilson (Editor)
Publication Date: 2004
Architecture Visionaries by Richard Weston
Publication Date: 2015
Art Deco Architecture : design, decoration, and detail from the twenties and thirties by Patricia Bayer
Publication Date: 1992
The Great Lady Decorators by Bunny Williams (Foreword by); Adam Lewis; Jeremiah Goodman (Illustrator)
Publication Date: 2010