LibGuides: Interior Design History and Theory: Forecasting and Trends

Forecasting and Trends

Click to see our forecasting database services online. Click on the + sign for login and registration instructions.

Please open a new Private (Firefox) or Incognito (Chrome) browser tab when accessing our databases.

Subscription & Electronic resources (ebooks and databases) require current FIT username and password for access. Internet resources are available to all users.

Forecasting & Trend Reporting Databases

Interior Design Trends, Forecasts and Marketing (Online)

Fashion Snoops This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Users are required to create a MY FS account. Click on "HOME" to see Trend Reports & Forecasting for Fashion and Interior Design. Use Mozilla/Firefox, Google Chrome, Safari and Internet Explorer (version 10 and up only - older versions of Internet Explorer are not compatible).
Users are required to create a MY FS account
Use Mozilla/Firefox, Google Chrome, and Safari
Home Furnishings Retailers Database [Chain Store Guide] This link opens in a new window
Covers buyer contacts and basic information on home furnishings retailers such as IKEA, Rooms To Go, Pier 1 Imports, and more. (To be included, retailers must have two units or operate one unit with sales of at least $10 million. Wholesalers and distributors must have sales of at least $1 million.)
Statista This link opens in a new window
A resource for global market and consumer data.
Search for "Interior Design" (in quotes) to also see the annual "U.S. Interior Design Monitor" report.
WGSN Insight This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Consumer, marketing, retail, and innovation trends
Select "Insight" from the top menu.
Use an incognito browser to access this resource.
Students must create an account and re-activate their account every 90 days: click to create or re-activate account.
Locked out of your account for too many incorrect login attempts? Reset your password here.
To access WGSN Insight:
- login via the proxy and then with your WGSN username and password select the part of the site you wish to use from the top menu
Use an incognito browser to access this resource.
WGSN Interiors This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Design space forecasts, business trend analysis and colour trends.
Select "Interiors" from the top menu.
Use an incognito browser to access this resource.
Students must create an account and re-activate their account every 90 days: click to create or re-activate account
Locked out of your account for too many incorrect login attempts? Reset your password here.
To access WGSN Lifestyle & Interiors:
- login via the proxy and then with your WGSN username and password select the part of the site you wish to use from the top menu
Use an incognito browser to access this resource
WindowsWear This link opens in a new window
Contains images, 360 degree panoramas, and descriptions of physical and digital window displays in a real-time, searchable database of community-generated content that provides data on what retail environments look like around the world with coverage from 1931 to present. [Join the site by using your FIT email and create a unique password]
1. Visit WindowsWear
2. Click “Join now” on the top right
3. Select "Academic" on the right
4. Under "existing members" select "FIT"
5. Create profile
6. Under "get started" select "student" or "faculty"
7. Use your FIT email and create a password
8. Click "join"
You will need to login to WindowsWear after authenticating via the proxy to use the site.

Current Print Forecasts Title List

These Forecasts are restricted to current FIT students, faculty and staff. Visitors may only view the past issues of these forecasts.

The Current Seasons are S/S 2023, F/W 2023/24, and S/S 2024.

(Please note: we may not have each forecast for each season. If we do not have the forecast you requested, we will ask if you would like to see the forecast from a different season or substitute a different forecast from the same season)

Color Association of the United States
more...less...
Fashion Color Forecast: Women-Men-Youth
Children, Color, Men, Women: color swatches, themes
Interiors/Environmental Color Forecast
Color, Interiors: color swatches; includes swatch fan
Color Solutions International (Firm)
more...less...
Color Analysis
Color: color swatches, themes, and palettes
Pantone
more...less...
Fashion Home + Interiors
Color: FHI Color Guide; color fan
Fashion Home + Interiors/Color Guide: New Colors
Color: color fan
Fashion Home + Interiors FHI Color Specifier: New Colors
Color: color chips
Precision Textile Color (Firm)
more...less...
Sophicolor Collections: Botanical Index
Color: color swatches for botanical themed palette
Sophicolor Collections: Celestial Index
Color: color swatches for celestial themed palette
Sophicolor Collections: Earthen Index
Color: color swatches for earthen themed palette
Trend Union (Firm)
more...less...
Colours
Color: Color combinations, themes

Who can use the Forecasts

Please Note:

Use of these services is restricted to the Forecast Area located in the FIT Periodicals and Electronic Resource Services Unit.
Current Forecasts are restricted to current FIT students, faculty, and staff. Please see "How to request forecasts" page for more information.
Older forecasts are not restricted and may be used by all Library visitors with an appointment. Please see "How to request forecasts" page for more information.
Click "more" for title information. Click on title for library catalog record. See the record or Finding Aid for holdings information. Titles in red are titles for which the Library has current seasons.

Material Trend & Innovations

Spec Simple
Resource for samples: Materials, Furniture, Fixtures, and Equipment (FF&E) and CSI. Explore Inspiration Types:
Innovation, Introducing (New Products), Sustainability, Palettes, Trends
Students must sign-in with their personal account assigned by the Interior Design Department.