LibGuides: Misinformation, Disinformation, and Polarization: Real News &amp; Opposing Views

Burst the Bubble - Read Across Party Lines

It is safe to assume that all news media is biased to some extent. Regardless, it is important to under those with different opinions than our own. It's equally important to know which sources meet journalistic standards and which do not. The following are links to resources that can help you discover worthwhile content from an opposing or different view from your own.

AllSides
AllSides uses its media bias ratings to provide a breadth of perspectives on today's news, issues and opinion. Ratings are based on subscription users self-assessments.
Media Bias / Fact Check
MBFC News claims to follow "a strict methodology" for determining the biases of sources. Dave Van Zandt is the primary editor for sources. He is assisted by a collective of volunteers who assist in research for many sources listed on these pages." Unfortunately there are lots of ads
10 Journalism Brands Where You Find Real Facts Rather Than Alternative Facts
Expresses the opinion of Forbes contributor Paul Glader
Both Sides Now - Thomas G. Carpenter Library, University of North Florida
A descriptive list of long-standing trade and popular magazines representing liberal, conservative and centrist points of view. Magazines for Libraries and Ulrichsweb Global Serials Directory are the sources for this information.
Consider the Source - Prepared by Harold Washington College Reference Librarians
A listing of scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers listed by political leaning.
Pew Research Center - Where News Audiences Fit on the Political Spectrum
A Pew Research Center study based on a representative online survey finds striking differences in news habits along the ideological spectrum.

Databases Covering News and Current Issues at the FIT Library

The library suscribes to databases that aggregate articles from leading newspapers, magazines and journals. The following are database recommendations for researching current events and controversial issues.

Gale in Context Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Articles, essays, videos, statistics, maps etc. about recent and current social issues.
Gale in Context Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Articles, essays, videos, statistics, maps etc. about recent and current social issues.
Gale OneFile News This link opens in a new window
Full-text database consisting of several New York State newspapers as well as over 1,000 major regional, national, and local newspapers and feeds from other parts of the United States.
New York Times (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Full-text of the The New York Times from 1985-current. May not contain content exclusive to nytimes.com
New York Times (NYTimes.com) This link opens in a new window
Please click here for full instructions on how to access New York Times Academic Pass: https://it.fitnyc.edu/kb/nytimes-com-academic-pass/

· NEW subscribers to NYT can visit accessnyt.com to create an account (register). They type in the school name and follow the instructions based on their location. If the new subscriber encounters an error message that subscriber can email edu@nytimes.com.

· EXISTING registered subscribers with ACTIVE PAID subscriptions need to cancel their personal subscription by connecting with a chat agent on the site, or calling 800-698-4637 before creating an account. Once the subscription is canceled, they can visit accessnyt.com, type in the school name and follow the instructions based on their location. Since the subscriber “Already has an account " they click “Log In" (Found below "Create an Account"). Input their email address and the same “Password” created for their previous account. If the subscriber encounters an error message that subscriber can email with edu@nytimes.com.

· EXISTING registered subscribers that DO NOT HAVE ACTIVE NYT subscription can visit accessnyt.com , type in the name of the school and follow the instructions based on their location. Since the subscriber "Already has an account " they click “Log In" (Found below "Create an Account"). Input their email address and the same “Password” created for their previous account. If the subscriber encounters an error message that subscriber can email edu@nytimes.com.
Wall Street Journal (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text, abstracts, indexing for all articles from the Wall Street Journal from 1984 to present with top news stories and detailed information on the arts, sports, business, and popular culture.