This link opens in a new windowSearch for books, ebooks, articles, and more
Here is just a selection of books that the library has on East Asian arts, history, and culture.
Encyclopedia of Asian History by 
Three Thousand Years of Chinese Painting by
From Neolithic era painted petroglyphs, early paintings on silk, and landscapes by 12th-century literati to the traditional handscrolls being produced today, this book recounts the history of Chinese painting over a span of some 3000 years. Drawing on museum collections, archives, and archaelogical sites in China - including many resources never before available to western scholars - as well as on collections in other countries, the authors present and analyze examples of Chinese painting: nearly 300 of them are reproduced here in colour. Both accessible to the general reader and useful for the scholar, the book provides an up-to-date and detailed history of China's pictorial art.
Dictionary of Japanese Artists by 
Asian Art Now by
The remarkable phenomenon of the twenty-first-century art world is contemporary Asian art. Fueled by a newfound openness in the East, and by an economic boom that has promoted a vibrant cultural confidence, art made in Asia or by Asian artists since the 1990s has become dynamic and exciting, acknowledged and appreciated by collectors, critics, and curators. This authoritative, wide-ranging volume surveys the contemporary art of Asia, examining key issues and themes: art's relationship to history and tradition, its engagement with politics, society, and the state, its exploration of consumerism and popular culture, and its interplay with the urban environment. Artists range from the established--Nam June Paik, On Kawara, Yoko Ono, Cai Guo-Qiang, Takashi Murakami--to the emerging--Indonesian cartoon artist Wedhar Riyadi, Mongolian site-specific artist Chaolun Baatar, Pakistani graffiti artist Naiza Khan, Vietnamese-American photo artist Dinh Q. Le, and many more. Together, these artists represent the range of Asian countries, from Indonesia to Japan, Uzbekistan to South Korea, Iran to China. More than 230 sumptuous illustrations capture the full scope of the artists' practice, from calligraphy, painting, sculpture, and photography to performance, installation, video, and Internet art. Complete with comprehensive biographies, Asian Art Now is both a superb critical overview and the consummate visual reference.
The Arts of China by
For the fifth edition of his internationally renowned The Arts of China, Michael Sullivan has thoroughly revised and expanded every chapter of this classic history of Chinese art from the Neolithic period to the present day. This new edition reflects the latest archaeological discoveries, pays greater attention to the art of calligraphy, provides more information on Chan (Zen) art, and takes a close look at contemporary art. New images have been added to almost every chapter: the work now features more than four hundred photographs, maps, and illustrations, with more than two-thirds of them in full color. Written in the engaging and lucid style that is Sullivan's hallmark, The Arts of China is readily accessible to general readers as well as serious students of art history. Sullivan's approach remains true to the way the Chinese themselves view art, providing readers with a sense of the sweep of history through China's dynasties. This organizational strategy makes it easy for readers to understand the distinct characteristics of each period of art and to gain a clearer view of how Chinese art has changed in relation to its historical context. With many improvements that bring it fully up to date, The Arts of China will remain the most comprehensive and widely read introduction to the history of Chinese art.
Modern Chinese Artists by 
Buddhist Art and Architecture by
To guide and inspire believers, innumerable symbols and images were made, beginning in India in the 3rd century BC. This phenomenally diverse tradition includes not only frescoes, relief carvings, colossal statues, silk embroideries and bronze ritual objects but also rock-cut shrines with a thousand Buddhas, the glorious stupas of South-East Asia and the pagodas of the Far East, the massive "mandala in stone" of Borobudur in Java and entire 13th-century temple complexes at Angkor in Cambodia. The author describes all the Buddhist schools and cultures, and explains their imagery, from Tibetan cosmic diagrams and Korean folk art to early Sri Lankan sites and Japanese Zen gardens.
A History of Far Eastern Art by
For Freshman/Senior-level courses covering all Asian Art including China, Japan, SE Asia, and India. This extensively-illustrated, comprehensive survey history of ALL of Far Eastern art from 5000 B.C. to A.D. 1860 follows a chronological, geographical/cultural, medium organization throughout.
Modern and Contemporary Art in Korea by
Modern and Contemporary Art in Korea deals with issues of tradition, modernity, and identity in modern and contemporary Korean art in Korea. On a deeper level, this is one of the only books of its kind in English that exposes readers to specific artists and their works, an especially useful resource for those who wish to know more than just surface level facts about Korean art.
New China New Art by 
Korea by
The geographical location of the Korean peninsula, which lies at the eastern edge of Asia between China, Russia, and Japan, has been crucial to its history and culture. Divided into several states or kingdoms from early times and suffering invasion and occupation from China, Manchuria, Mongolia, and Japan, Korea nevertheless remained a unified country from the seventh century to the twentieth.This book traces the development of its culture through art and archaeology, beginning in the Neolithic period (c. 6000 B.C.). Buddhism, introduced to Korea from China during the first millennium A.D., was to become the dominant religion throughout the succeeding centuries, reaching its height of wealth and influence in the Koryo dynasty (918-1392) as the aristocratic lifestyle at court became increasingly lavish. Confucianism replaced Buddhism during the Choson dynasty (1392-1910), but both traditions continued to be represented. The illustrations include some of the highest achievements of Korean craftsmen, from precious metalwork, sculpture, and lacquer to celadons, painting, and printing.
