Waterproof and Water Repellent Textiles and Clothing [e-book]
Waterproof and Water Repellent Textiles and Clothing provides systematic coverage of the key types of finishes and high performance materials, from conventional wax and silicone, through controversial, but widely used fluoropolymers and advanced techniques, such as atmospheric plasma deposition and sol-gel technology. The book is an essential resource for all those engaged in garment development, production and finishing, and for academics engaged in research into apparel technology and textile science. Rapid innovation in this field is driving new performance demands in many areas, including the sporting and military sectors. However, another innovation driver is the regulatory framework in the USA, Europe and globally, addressing both health concerns (e.g. with PFOS / PFOA) and environmental impacts (e.g. C8 fluorocarbon finishes). Both of these aspects are fully covered, along with the replacement materials / technologies currently available and under development. In addition, oleophobic and multifunctional coatings are discussed, as are aspects of performance, testing and applications in sportswear, protective clothing, and footwear. Introduces innovative materials and technologies, exploring their current and potential use across different sectors Provides expert guidance on the health and environmental aspects of key waterproof materials and coatings and their associated regulations Demystifies testing processes and design principles
High-Performance Apparel: Materials, Development, and Applications [e-book]
High-Performance Apparel: Materials, Development, and Applications covers the materials and techniques used in creating high-performance apparel, the technical aspects of developing high-performance garments, and an array of applications for high-performance clothing and wearable technology. Part One covers fabric construction for high-performance garments, from fiber types and spinning methods, to weaving, knitting, finishing, and joining techniques. Development of high-performance apparel is covered in Part Two, with particular emphasis on design and product development for function and wearer comfort. Part Three covers a range of applications and wearable technology that make use of high-performance apparel, including chapters on sportswear, protective clothing, and medical, military, and intelligent textiles. The book provides an excellent resource for all those engaged in garment development and production, and for academics engaged in research into apparel technology and textile science. Offers a range of perspectives on high-performance apparel from an international team of authors with diverse expertise Provides systematic and comprehensive coverage of the topic from fabric construction, through apparel design and development, to the range of current and potential applications Presents an excellent resource for all those engaged in garment development and production, and for academics engaged in research
Handbook of Technical Textiles, 2nd. edition, vol. 1 [e-book]
The second edition of Handbook of Technical Textiles, Volume 1: Technical Textile Processes provides readers with a comprehensive understanding of the latest advancements in technical textiles. With revised and updated coverage, including several new chapters, this volume reviews recent developments and technologies in the field, beginning with an overview of the technical textiles industry that includes coverage of technical fibers and yarns, weaving, spinning, knitting, and nonwoven production. Subsequent sections include discussions on finishing, coating, and the coloration of technical textiles. Provides a comprehensive handbook for all aspects of technical textiles Presents updated, detailed coverage of processes, fabric structure, and applications An ideal resource for those interested in high-performance textiles, textile processes, textile processing, and textile applications Contains contributions from many of the original, recognized experts from the first edition who update their respective chapters
Handbook of Technical Textiles, 2nd edition, vol. 2 [e-book]
The first edition of Handbook of Technical Textiles has been an essential purchase for professionals and researchers in this area since its publication in 2000. With revised and updated coverage, including several new chapters, this revised two volume second edition reviews recent developments and new technologies across the field of technical textiles. Volume 2 - Technical Textile Applications offers an indispensable guide to established and developing areas in the use of technical textiles. The areas covered include textiles for personal protection and welfare, such as those designed for ballistic protection, personal thermal and fire protection, and medical applications; textiles for industrial, transport and engineering applications, including composite reinforcement and filtration; and the growing area of smart textiles. Comprehensive handbook for all aspects of technical textiles Provides updated, detailed coverage of processes, fabric structure, and applications Ideal resource for those interested in high-performance textiles, textile processes, textile processing, and textile applications Many of the original, recognized experts from the first edition update their respective chapters
Smart Textiles for Designers: Inventing the Future of Fabrics by
We are on the cusp of a revolution, where the intersection of technology, the human body, and everyday objects will become completely seamless. Smart textiles are a key part of this revolution. Smart Textiles for Designers introduces the different qualities and properties that can be embedded in, integrated with, and applied to fabrics, and looks at the different contexts in which these smart textiles can be used. A survey of specific fabrics grouped by properties provides a core reference section and a palette for the designer to work from. The book also examines five different design approaches and features interviews with leading designer and design teams, showing their processes and working methods. The first book to look at smart textiles through the eyes of a designer, this is both a core reference work and an inspirational guide for students and professionals alike.
Crafting Wearables by
Enter the exciting intersection of technology and fashion known as wearable computing. Learn about the future of electronics in clothing and textiles, and be a part of creating that future! Crafting Wearables begins with the history of the field, then covers current practices and future trends. You will gain deeper insight into the strategy behind the design of wearable devices while learning about the tools and materials needed to start your own wearables toolbox. In a time when consumer electronics are becoming smaller and seamlessly integrated into our lives, it is important to understand how technology can improve and augment your lifestyle. Wearables are in a sense the most organic and natural interface we can design, yet there is still doubt about how quickly wearable technologies will become the cultural norm. Furthermore, skills that have become less valuable over the years, such as sewing, are making a return with the wearables movement. Gives a better understanding of wearable technology and how it has evolved. Teaches basic skills and techniques to familiarize you with the tools and materials. Showcases breakthrough designs and discoveries that impact our everyday interactions. What You'll Learn Learn the history of how technology in fashion has evolved over time Discover interesting materials and fabrics for use in wearable technology Glimpse new tools for designing wearable technology and fashion Rediscover sewing and related skills that every wearables enthusiast should learn Learn how new techniques in textile manufacturing could disrupt the fashion industry Understand and respond to the cultural and societal developments around wearables Who This Book Is For The curious designer, engineer, or creative who is looking for insight into the world of fashion technology. It is for someone who wants to start exploring wearables with basic projects and dig deeper into the methods and tools of an expert. Crafting Wearables is intended to impart comprehensive general knowledge of the state of wearables in different industries while providing a well-curated list of example projects and resources by which to begin your personal journey into e-textiles. It is a wonderful read for those who are looking to expand their understanding of fashion and technology from both a hands-on and research-based perspective.
Electronic Textiles: Smart Fabrics and Wearable Technology [e-book]
The integration of electronics into textiles and clothing has opened up an array of functions beyond those of conventional textiles. These novel materials are beginning to find applications in commercial products, in fields such as communication, healthcare, protection and wearable technology. Electronic Textiles: Smart Fabrics and Wearable Technology opens with an initiation to the area from the editor, Tilak Dias. Part One introduces conductive fibres, carbon nano-tubes and polymer yarns. Part Two discusses techniques for integrating textiles and electronics, including the design of textile-based sensors and actuators, and energy harvesting methods. Finally, Part Three covers a range of electronic textile applications, from wearable electronics to technical textiles featuring expert chapters on embroidered antennas for communication systems and wearable sensors for athletes. Comprehensive overview of conductive fibres, yarns and fabrics for electronic textiles Expert analysis of textile-based sensors design, integration of micro-electronics with yarns and photovoltaic energy harvesting for intelligent textiles Detailed coverage of applications in electronic textiles, including wearable sensors for athletes, embroidered antennas for communication and electronic textiles for military personnel
| Have a question or comment about these guides? Contact: libraryreference@fitnyc.edu |
