LibGuides: CM 442 Global Brand Management: Technological & Digital Ecosystem for Your Market

Suggested Databases

Passport (Euromonitor) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides international market intelligence, including economic statistics, on industries, countries, and consumers.

Suggested paths for this part of the assignment;

Economies > Business Dynamics > Country Reports
e.g. Business Dynamics: Chile (Country Report 20 Jul 2018)
Consumers >Digital Consumer >Country Reports
e.g. Digital Landscape: Philippines

Business Source Complete - Business Searching Interface This link opens in a new window
Includes CountryWatch "Country Review" reports, with annual summaries going back to 2000 for many countries.
Covers political, economic, investment, social and environmental overviews.
"OECD Economic Surveys" cover mostly Europe, North America, and some of Latin America, Asia, Oceania
eMarketer This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides data, statistics, insights, and perspectives for marketing in a digital world.

Other Suggested Sources

Why we like these resources:

trusted sources: some combination of acknowledgement as expert in their field, been around a long time, etc
recent information
methodology or other detailed explanations

How to find similar information:

look for official government sources from the country you're researching
NGOs (non-governmental organizations) may have a more open perspective--and often a global/comparative one, too--compared to governmental sources. But d a quick background check/Google search on any organization whose info you want to use so you know what their slant (or possibly hidden agend) might be
a mix of both is great!

WORLD BANK : Several data sources and analysis portals, including

Business Enabling Environment (BEE)*
Successor website to the long-running "Doing Business" series

-Ease of Doing Business Index covers
infrastructure, economic, political and diplomatic factors as they relate to starting or maintain business ties.
-Downloadable free reports e.g. "Doing Business in Nigeria 2018". some with detailed "subnational" (i.e. regions with in a country) info.
"Doing Business studies have benchmarked 510 locations in 75 economies since 2005"
more...less...
https://tcdata360.worldbank.org/
Logistics Performance Index (World Bank)
"The Logistics Performance Index is an interactive benchmarking tool created to help countries identify the challenges and opportunities they face in their performance on trade logistics and what they can do to improve their performance. The LPI 2018 allows for comparisons across 160 countries. The LPI is based on a worldwide survey of operators on the ground (global freight forwarders and express carriers), providing feedback on the logistics “friendliness” of the countries in which they operate and those with which they trade. They combine in-depth knowledge of the countries in which they operate with informed qualitative assessments of other countries where they trade and experience of global logistics environment. Feedback from operators is supplemented with quantitative data on the performance of key components of the logistics chain in the country of work."
TCdata360 (World Bank)
Searchable by country and/or indicators such as
-Infrastructure (defined as "information and communication technologies (ICTs), general infrastructure, and ecological sustainability"')
- trade outcomes
- innovation inputs and outputs
- investment "perceived complaints"
-economic and social context
Private Participation in Infrastructure Database (World Bank)

ALSO:

Emerging Trends in Infrastructure 2022 (KPMG)
Not country-specific, but gives ideas of what to look for to evaluate a country's current status and readiness for change.
Forbes: Best Countries for Business
Rankings based on these criteria:
Trade Freedom, Monetary Freedom, Property Rights, Innovation, Technology, Red Tape, Investor Protection, Corruption, Personal Freedom,
Tax Burden
Global Development (Brookings Institute)
Includes insights on developing economies
Preparing for disruption: Technological Readiness Ranking (Economist Intelligence Unit, 2018)
"The EIU ranks 82 of the world’s largest economies according to the quality and attractiveness of their business environments. We have recently updated our Country Forecast service to include an assessment of how well prepared countries are for technological change, across three key categories: access to the internet, digital economy infrastructure, and openness to innovation."
Free report but you must register to download.
Note that report is dated 2018, so look for updates, too
Santander Trade Portal; Analyze International Markets
"Reaching the consumer" shows demographics (complied from various governmental and NGO sources) and an outline of:
Growing Sectors
Consumer Behaviour
Consumer Profile and Purchasing Power
Consumer Recourse to Credit
World Competitiveness Center
Annual rankings (and occasional samples of country reports) are free
World Economic Forum: Global Competitiveness Report