LibGuides: Careers: Company Information

Company Information - The More You Know

Learn all you can about the company & industry

Company information in databases
Business Magazines (Periodicals)
Current Market and Hiring Trends
Industry Specific Almanacs

Also take a look at the Company and Industry Information guide

Company and Industry Information
by Naomi Schwer Bricker Last Updated May 2, 2024 1445 views this year

Plunkett Research eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
PDF versions of industry market research annuals:
Advertising & Branding, Apparel, Textiles & Fashions, Consumer Products & Services, E-Commerce & Internet,Entertainment, Publishing & Media, Games, Apps & Social Media, Green Technology, and Retail. Supplemented and updated by Plunkett Research Online

Company Informaton in Databases

Screen shot of Hoovers database main page Business Insights Essentials

Databases on the FIT Library Web Site: (current FIT username/password required)

Gale Business: Insights This link opens in a new window
Use Advanced Search to enter "International Directory of Company Histories" OR "Notable Corporate Chronologies " as "publication name" , along with the company name
Business Source Complete - Business Searching Interface This link opens in a new window
Company profiles available form a variety of sources including Marketline
Hoover's Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Hoover’s, a subsidiary of The Dun and Bradstreet Corporation (D&B), offers proprietary business information Hoover's provides data on more than 85 million corporations, 100 million people, and 1,000 industries.
Firefox Private and Google Chrome Incognito are supported browsers.
Plunkett Research Online This link opens in a new window
Industry market research covering:
Advertising & Branding, Apparel, Textiles & Fashions, Consumer Products & Services, E-Commerce & Internet,Entertainment, Publishing & Media, Games, Apps & Social Media, Green Technology, and Retail. Also some company profiles for "major companies and mid-size firms" in those industries.

Company Information in Books

Company Profiles for Students ( through Gale eBooks)
Covers more than 400 prominent companies
Plunkett's Retail Industry Almanac 2019 (e-Book)
See other Plunkett industry annual almanacs through OneSearch or

Plunkett Research eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
PDF versions of industry market research annuals:
Advertising & Branding, Apparel, Textiles & Fashions, Consumer Products & Services, E-Commerce & Internet,Entertainment, Publishing & Media, Games, Apps & Social Media, Green Technology, and Retail. Supplemented and updated by Plunkett Research Online

Business links and portals

Don't know where to start? Try some of these business websites that cover a variety of topics.

Business Navigator
Streamlined list of links to stock exchanges, investment research sites, general and business news, and government agencies. Designed for, and maintained by, New York Times staffers.
CEOExpress
No–frills start page links to dozens of business and trade publications’ sites. “CEOX Stock Quotes" search provides quick access to data from Barchart.com.
CNN Business
Timely news, extensive market statistics, small business and personal finance information, from a joint venture of two major media sources.
Marketwatch
Business headlines, stock price charts, analysts’ reports, and “industry analyzer” which compares firms within a Dow Jones determined industry (e.g. “clothing and fabrics” or “cosmetics”).

Business Magazines (Periodicals)

Titles in red show current subscriptions. Bold dates show Periodicals Department holdings.

Black Enterprise
January 1980 (v10 n6)-October 2014 (v45 n3); December/January 2015/16 (v45 n5)-March 2016 (v46 n7); January/February 2017 (v47 n5). 9x per year
Personal finance strategies, career guidance and business news targeted at African-American readers. Now published online only
Business of Fashion: BOF
trade publication
Autumn 2013-October 2019. Semiannual
online: January 2013-Current (Current FIT username and password required for access)
Publication providing an informed, analytical and opinionated point of view on the fashion business, delivering fashion intelligence on emerging designers, disruptive technologies and global brands that are making their mark on the industry
Code of Federal Regulations-LSA
April 1996-Current (online). Monthly
The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) annual edition is the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the departments and agenciese of the Federal Government. It is divided into 50 titles that represent broad areas subject to Federal Regulation
CPI Detailed Report (Consumer Price Index)
online: Fall 2017-Current
Covers the Consumer price index for all urban consumers (CPI-U), and the Consumer price index for wage earners and clerical workers (CPI-W)
Economic Indicators
online: April 1995-Current. Monthly
A monthly publication that covers economic information on income, business activity and more and is compiled by the Joint Economic Committee
Ecotextile News
trade publication
online: February 2007-Current. 6x per year. (FIT username and password required for access)
An environmental magazine for the global textiles industry and the fashion supply chain. Published in eco-friendly offices in Normanton, Yorkshire, UK.
Employment & Earnings
online: April 2007-Current. Monthly
Published by the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. Current information on national trends and levels of employment, hours of work, earnings and labor turnover
Enterprise & Society
scholarly
September 2012 (v13 n3)-June 2017 (v18 n2). Quarterly
Published by Oxford, "The International Journal of Business History." A forum for research on historical relations between businesses and their larger political, cultural, institutional, social, and economic contexts
Executive Female
October/November 2001(v24 n6)-Summer 2003 (v26 n3). Bimonthly
Formerly The Executive Female, Continued by NAFE Magazine [National Association for Female Executives]
Published by the National Association for Female Executives. Career development resources for female executives
The Executive Female
January/February 1991 (v14 n1)-September/October 1997 (v20 n5). Bimonthly
Continued by Executive Female
Published by the National Association for Female Executives. Career development resources for female executives
Fast Company
online: April 1, 2001-Current
Business magazine covering digital media, technology, change management, design and social responsibility
Federal Reserve Bulletin
online: 1996-Current
Charts and market statistics published the U.S. Federal Reserve. Index available
Fortune
April 1930-December 1979 (with gaps) 18x per year
Covers all aspects of international business. Discusses general industry news as well as individual firms
Good Company
April 2018 (iss1)-April 2019 (iss 3). Semiannual
A magazine celebrating the intersection of creativity and business providing motivation, inspiration, advice, and connection and community for women and non-binary creatives. Each issue focuses on one theme with interviews, essays, photography and illustration
Harvard Business Review
online: October 01 1922-Current. Monthly (FIT username and password required for access)
"Written for upper level management. Presents analysis of management problems and helpful commentary on advanced thinking and practice in all fields of management and administration"
Manhattan, Inc.
February 1985 (v2 n2)-July 1990 (v7 n7). Monthly
Merged with M: The Civilized Man to form M Inc.
Upscale publication about New York City business
Monocle
February 2008 (v1 n10)-Current (with gaps). 10x per year
High-end international men’s lifestyle magazine covering current affairs, business, culture and design
Monthly Labor Review
online: January 1981 (v104 n1)-Current. Monthly
Research, analysis and current statistics on wages, productivity, industrial relations, employment and labor
NAFE Magazine [National Association for Female Executives]
Fall 2003 (v26 n4)-Spring 2008 (v31 n1). Quarterly
Formerly Executive Female
Career development resources for female executives
The New York Times
Three-month retention. Daily
New York Times Historical: 1851-Current (Current FIT username and password required for access)
“All the News That’s Fit to Print”
Offscreen
August 2016 (n15)-2020 (n24). 3x per year
An independent print magazine published in Australia that showcases the life and work of people that use the internet to be creative and build successful businesses. Explores what's happening behind the scenes of websites, apps and other tech products through in-depth interviews
Performance Apparel Markets
2nd Quarter 2015 (n53)-Jan 2020 (v67). 4x per year
online: 2nd Quarter 2015 (n53)-Jan 2020 (v67) (Current FIT username and password required for access)
Business and market analysis of worldwide trends in high performance activewear and corporate apparel
Savvy Woman
November 1988 (v9 n11)-February 1991 (v12 n1). Monthly
Upscale publication for female executives
Survey of Current Business
trade publication
online: July 1, 1921-Current. Monthly
Published by the U.S. Department of Commerce. Statistical analysis of American business data
Wall Street Journal [Greater New York Edition]
Three-month retention. 6x per week. Includes monthly supplement, WSJ
Wall Street Journal Archive: January 2, 1984-Current (Current FIT username and password required for access)
National newspaper reporting on financial news, products, personnel changes and government affairs
Working Woman
January 1980 (v5 n1)-September 2001 (v26 n8). Monthly
Aimed at women in business. Product and website reviews, networking and investing tips, grant information and interviews with successful businesswomen
WWD
trade publication
Current issues now online, only special issues printed
January 1980-January 1993; April 29, 2015-April 19 2017 + Special Issues. Weekly
Supplements: 2002-2017 (with gaps)
Formerly Women's Wear Daily
Women's Wear Daily Archive: January 3, 1980-Current (FIT username and password required for access)
Special Issues: WWD Book of Lists, WWD Century, WWD Ninety, and WWD: 100 years
Leading publication for the fashion industries