LibGuides: Color: Usage and Technique

Color Usage and Technique

Subscription resources are available to FIT faculty and students. Internet resources are available to all users.

Click the side tabs for more about:

Fine Art
Branding & Communication
Interiors & Home Products
Web Design & Accessibility
Associations / Agencies

Color Converter Tools

Color value codes (for example: HEX, RGB, CMYK, HLS or HSV) use different systems depending on the application. Here are some online websites that make the conversion easier for you.

Colorpicker.me
An easy online color selection tool to determine color codes and color combinations.
Color Hex
Color-hex gives information about colors including color models (RGB, HSL, HSV and CMYK), Triadic colors, monochromatic colors and analogous colors calculated in color page.
Code Beautify - Color Converters
Color Converters to and from Pantone, HEX, RGB, CMYK and HSV (Hue, Saturation, Value) codes.
more...less...
Code Formatter, JSON Beautifier, XML Viewer, Hex Converters and more

Search for "Pantone" on the CODE BEAUTIFY home page to see the Color Converter options. For example: Pantone to HEX

Find Books, Articles and Images

Search for books, ebooks, articles, and more

Color - Find Books & eBooks in OneSearch
Click on 'Digital Materials' for eBooks

Search for these Keywords and Phrases

Color or Colors
Colour or Colours
Color Computer Graphics
Color Guides (Palettes)
Color in Design
Coloring Matter (Cosmetics, Food, Paper)
Color - Study - Teaching
Color Mixing
Dyes and Dyeing
Gems
Henna
'Interaction of Color' (phrase)
Paint Mixing
Pigments
Precious Stones

Color Research Databases (General)

Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
General-audience, trade publication and scholarly articles on a wide range of subjects, 1980-current.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and general-audience articles, some 1887-current but mostly 1980-current.
Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
Mostly scholarly articles from 1995 - current, indexing (including of 200,000+ Artnet e-productions) and abstracting 1984- current.
Credo This link opens in a new window
Online reference library containing full-text dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference books.
Gale eBooks (GVRL) This link opens in a new window
Searchable e-books providing quick information on a variety of topics including business, history, countries of the world, science, education, multicultural studies, social science, and more.
Gale General OneFile This link opens in a new window
Offering more than 14,000 titles including peer-reviewed, scholarly, general interest, and trade publications on an array of topics including science & medicine, business, economics, literature, drama, politics, careers, technology, and more from 1980 to present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles on a wide range of subjects
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Full text of Grove Art Online
There is a 3-user limit to this database -- please log off when you are finished

Color Usage and Technique Books

Applying Color Theory to Digital Media and Visualization (eBook) by Theresa-Marie Rhyne
Publication Date: 2016
Blue and Yellow Don't Make Green by Michael Wilcox
Publication Date: 2002
Color and Fiber by Patricia Lambert
Publication Date: 1997
Coloring the Cosmetic World by Edwin B. Faulkner; Jane C. Hollenberg (Editor)
Publication Date: 2021
Color Problems : a practical manual for the lay student of color by Emily Noyes Vanderpoel; Keegan Mills Cooke (Editor); Alan Bruton (Contribution by)
Publication Date: 2018
Color Studies (ebook) by Edith Anderson Feisner; Ron Reed
Publication Date: 2013
Color Theory for the Makeup Artist by Katie Middleton
Publication Date: 2018
Colour Demystified : a complete guide to mixing and using watercolours by Julie Collins
Publication Date: 2021
Colour Design: Theories and Applications (2nd ed.) by Janet Best (Editor)
Publication Date: 2017
Conran on Color by Terence Conran
Publication Date: 2015
Interaction of Color (50th Anniv.) by Josef Albers; Nicholas Fox Weber (Foreword by)
Publication Date: 2013
Line Color Form : the language of art and design by Jesse Day
Publication Date: 2013
The Natural Paint Book by Julia Lawless; Lynn Edwards
Publication Date: 2003
Palette Mini Series 02: Multicolour by Victionary
Publication Date: 2020
Practical Color Combinations: a Resource Book with over 2500 Sample Color Schemes by Naomi Kuno
Publication Date: 2018
A Season to Bee : a stylish book of colors by Carlos Aponte
Publication Date: 2017
The Story of Colour in Textiles by Susan Kay-Williams
Publication Date: 2013
Understanding Color: an Introduction for Designers. by Linda Holtzschue
Publication Date: 2011

Color Related Web Sites

IMPORTANT: Keep in mind that colors on the computer screen WILL vary from the actual physical color due to variations in monitor settings.

Material Connexion This link opens in a new window
A material database with access to innovative, sustainable materials and technologies from 75+ industries.

New users may set up an account by clicking on “Log In” at the upper right corner and following the prompts.

Faculty may book class tours to visit Material Connexion. Appointments are required. Please contact Lana Bittman - lana_bittman[at]fitnyc.edu for details.

COLOURlovers
A social network, as well as a place to find tools for creating and sharing color palettes, seamless patterns, and palettes from photographs. Registration is required for access to some of the tools.
The Dimensions of Colour by David Briggs (Website)
Modern Colour Theory for Traditional and Digital Painting Media
Land of Color (Color Theory) Web Site
Coloro Toolbox
"Coloro Toolbox. The color library. This modular color tool is a color library with flexible usage for the studio, in a series of 63 color-coded folders, which are organized by Hue. It includes 63 folders including 58 folders with chromatic colors and 5 special folders with gray colors. Each folder contains 5cm x 5cm removable, double-layered polyester swatches -- Coloro Codebook." Click to link to the interactive color website. Register for Coloro Workspace access..

Coloro Toolbox folders are restricted to active FIT students, faculty, and staff.

Trend & Color Forecasting & Reporting Web Sites

Subscription resources are available to FIT faculty and students. Internet resources are available to all users.

Color in Interior Design

Color, Space, and Style: all the details interior designers need to know but can never find. by Chris Grimley; Mimi Love
Publication Date: 2007
Colors : colorful home inspiration by Claire Bingham
Publication Date: 2023
Old Brand New : colorful homes for maximal living by Dabito
Publication Date: 2023

Color

Pantone Color of the Year

Color Usage and Technique

Color Usage & Technique - Books / eBooks (Gallery)

Color Studies (ebook)

Digital Media and Visualization (eBook)

Coloring the Cosmetic World

The Visual Biography of Color

The Story of Colour in Textiles

Colors: symbols history correlations

A Season to Bee : a stylish book of colors

Understanding Color

Palette Mini Series 02: Multicolour

Color Problems