Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections & College Archives

Special Collections is a highly-specialized repository of primary source research materials related to the fields of fashion and design.

What is a finding aid?

As defined by the Society of American Archivists, a finding aid is a tool that facilitates the discovery of information within a collection of records. Finding aids put collection materials in context by consolidating pertinent information that would be of use to researchers such as biographical notes, scope/content of the collection including size, media, and arrangement, and administrative history, etc. Finding aids can be described on a variety of levels such as collection, series, folder, and item level or all of the above, which gives the researchers the most detailed idea of what is housed in a particular collection.

Below and on the accompanying tabs are finding aids for materials held in Special Collections & College Archives (SPARC). New finding aids will be continuously added when collections are fully processed. All finding aids will download as an excel spreadsheet to a computer, tablet, or mobile device. 

Please visit SPARC Connect, our database of archival holdings and digital objects. 

Finding Aids

Have a question or comment about these guides? Contact: libraryreference@fitnyc.edu