LibGuides: Special Collections & College Archives: NYC Fashion & Design Primary Research Resources

NYC paper-based research resources: libraries, special collections, and archives

American Museum of Natural History Digital Special Collections Digitized Special Collections search portal at the AMNH Research Library.
American Museum of Natural History Research Library AMNH Research Library catalog portal.
The Bard Graduate Center Bard Graduate Center’s research library
Cooper Hewitt Research Library Cooper Hewitt Research Library, a branch of the Smithsonian Institution Libraries. Explore the online Smithsonian catalog, limit search to catalog record source: Cooper Hewitt, Smithsonian Design Museum for only Cooper Hewitt records.
Morgan Library & Museum Links to online collections and the Morgan's corsair collections catalog.
Museum of the City of New York Keyword search the online collections.
NYPL Costume and Fashion History Resource guide on costume and fashion history at the New York Public Library
NYPL Digital Collections Gallery This site is a living database with new materials added every day, featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more.
NYPL Picture Collection Since its creation in 1915, the Picture Collection has met the needs of New York's large community of artists, illustrators, designers, teachers, students, and general researchers. Covering over 12,000 subjects, the Picture Collection is an extensive circulating collection and reference archive, the largest of its kind in any public library system.
NY School of Interior Design: Archives & Special Collections Special Collections and College Archives housed at the New York School of Interior Design.
The New School Archives & Special Collections The New School's Archives and Special Collections document the history of all divisions of The New School, as well as the lives and work of people and organizations in a range of subject areas that intersect with the interests of New School students and faculty.
The New School Archives Digital Collections The New School Archives Digital Collections presents images, text, audio and video from The New School Archives & Special Collections, home to primary source materials documenting the history of all divisions of The New School.
Patricia D. Klingenstein Library (New York Historical Society) Search the library collections.
Thomas J. Watson Library (Metropolitan Museum of Art) Watson Library search portal with links to all Metropolitan Museum of Art research libraries.

NYC object-based research resources: museums

Cooper Hewitt, Smithsonian Design Museum Explore the Cooper Hewitt collections database.
The Costume Institute (Metropolitan Museum of Art) Search the online catalog for the Metropolitan Museum of Art: Costume Institute.
The Frick Collection Explore the permanent collections which include painting, sculpture, and the decorative arts.
The Frick Digital Image Archive 200,000 high-resolution images are available for 75,000 works of art through Frick Digital Collections. New images are released on a regular basis.
The Center for the History of Collecting (The Frick Collection) Documentation of the formation of collections of fine and decorative arts, both public and private, in Europe and the United States from the Renaissance to the present day.
Museum of the City of New York Keyword search the online collections.
MFIT Research Opportunities Making appointments to research the collections held at the Museum at FIT.
The Museum at FIT Search the online collections.
Museum of Arts and Design MAD permanent collections search portal.
New York Historical Society Search the museum collections.

Special Collections & College Archives

Contact Us!

212.217.4385

fitlibsparc@fitnyc.edu

NYC paper-based research resources: libraries, special collections, and archives

NYC object-based research resources: museums