"Brand marketing is the approach used by companies to promote and establish a brand in a market by creating a unique identity, values, and perceptions that differentiate it from competitors. Brand marketing aims to connect emotionally with consumers, build loyalty, and ultimately drive sales and market share through activities like advertising, public relations, and content marketing....Corporate branding is the process of establishing and managing a corporation or organization’s identity. It involves crafting the company’s mission, values, and culture, which align with its public image. Corporate branding aims to create a consistent and positive company perception among its stakeholders, including customers, employees, investors, and the public."
American Marketing Association, "Branding"
"In very simple words, a product is what you sell, a brand is the perceived image of the product you sell, and branding is the strategy to create that image." (MARION ANDRIVET, What Is Branding?)
If you're looking for articles, OneSearch which covers multiple databases (and thousands of magazines/journals/newspapers) might work fine, but if you want to narrow your focus to specific publications (e.g. New York Times, WWD) or databases that focus on topics (e.g. business in general, or fashion business) use some of the suggestions on our database lists by subject.
Suggested Databases:
Full-text coverage of Woman’s Wear Daily from 1994 - current.
This link opens in a new windowContains images, 360 degree panoramas, and descriptions of physical and digital window displays in a real-time, searchable database of community-generated content that provides data on what retail environments look like around the world with coverage from 1931 to present.
BRANDLife: Concept Stores and Pop-Ups
Brand/Story: cases and explorations in fashion branding by
Brand/Story: Cases and Explorations in Fashion Branding, Second Edition examines how a retailer, manufacturer, or designer label uses storytelling to grab a consumer's interest. For consumers, branding tells the story and creates the identity for a product, a person, and a company. Using 10 case studies on such notable brands as Levis and Vivienne Westwood, Brand/Story looks at what a fashion brand is about and why companies advertise the way they do. It enables the reader to think critically about branding-both the medium and the message-and not simply take advertisements and brands at face value. New to this edition: ~Features 7 new brands including LuluLemon, Warby Parker, MAC Cosmetics and Topshop/Topman ~Over 40 new color images including advertisements for Ralph Lauren, Vera Wang, and Dolce & Gabbana ~Updated interviews with industry professionals including Nancy Mair, General Merchandise Manager, Burlington Stores and Jill Walker-Roberts, President of Walker-Roberts Consulting ~New Go Outside! exercises provide readers with scenarios in which they can apply what they learn to other brands they encounter ~Chapter objectives and discussion questions allow the reader to fully engage with the content
| Have a question or comment about these guides? Contact: libraryreference@fitnyc.edu |
