Packaging Design - CD 217 - Capstone Design Studio - LibGuides at Fashion Institute of Technology

How to find it and where to look

Packaging Design resources can be found a in a wide variety of formats and areas of the library. If you're more of a browser than a searcher, head for the Periodicals Department or browse the books in the following call number areas, NC1002 and TS195.4.

Check out the recommendations below and search OneSearch for more on this topic

Recommended Resources for Packaging Design

@issue: The Journal of Business and Design
Spring 1996 (v2 n1)-2008 (v13 n1). (with gaps). Semiannual
(earlier issues available online through link in record)
Examines design from a business point of view, and provides useful information on how companies can make design an integral part of their overall business strategy including architecture, interiors, products, all forms of visual communication and more.
Includes floor plans and elevations of residential interiors
@Issue Journal of Business and Design
Current magazine website
Beauty Packaging
trade publication
January 2006 (v11 n1)-Current. (with gaps). 8x per year
Formerly Cosmetic Packaging & Design
Special issue: Corporate Profiles
Emphasis on manufacturing, packaging and marketing. Current Company Profiles accessible through link in record
Communication Arts
trade publication
April/May 1969 (v11 n2)-Current. Bi-monthly
Formerly CA Magazine
Geared toward art directors and designers. Annual Illustration, Photography, Interactive, Design and Advertising issues
Creativity Online from AdAge.com
Design Week
Founded in 1986, Design Week was the UK's leading design magazine until 2011, when it became online-only. It continues to bring you high quality, well-written news and inspiration across graphics, branding, interiors, digital, product, furniture and more.
The Dieline
Top blog on packaging - inspiration, news, awards, and job listings
Lurzer's International Archive
trade publication
1984 (n1); 1985 (v1)-1996 (v4); 2001 (v1)-Current (with gaps). Bi-monthly
For art directors and designers. Color images of international advertising campaigns, including print ads, packaging, TV spots and other media
Packaging Digest
trade publication
March 1985 (v22 n3)-Fall 2016 (v53 n4). Quarterly
Special Issues: Buyer's Guide. Directory available through link in record
Packaging management, marketing, design, equipment and materials
Packaging World
The website Packaging World magazine a privately owned trade publication for professionals in packaging and manufacturing automation.
Matter
trade publication
2008 (v5 n3)-2015 (v10 n4). Quarterly
Published by Material Connexion; “uses science and design to create practical manufacturing solutions”

Find Articles. Discover which issues of our print magazines cover the topics you are researching.

Design and Applied Arts Index - NYPL.org
In order to access this database, users must have an NYPL account which can be obtained quickly online by residents and students in NYC by going to this site.

This searchable index contains nearly 120,000 annotated references from more than 450 design and craft journals, and data on nearly 50,000 designers, craftspeople, studios, workshops. Use it lo locate specific topics in our print magazine collections

Visual Inspiration and Trends

Artstor on JSTOR
Useful for design inspiration and access to historic examples of graphic design, typeface, etc.
Future Snoops
Packaging Design examples under Beauty for both beauty and foods
Please login using the username and password listed under Future Snoops.
Users are required to create a MY FS account
Use Mozilla/Firefox, Google Chrome, and Safari
WGSN Interiors
Trend reports for interiors & home products. Regular reports on packaging trends
Use an incognito browser to access this resource

Consumers & Marketing

Mintel Reports
Original market research on product categories, consumer groups, and general trends. Mostly US and Europe-focused.
To receive email alerts, click on account settings in the top right, go to “My account and meet the team,” and then click on the "Update your details" button to enter your FIT email address.
Statista
A resource for global market and consumer data and statistics.