The FIT Library has many resources for Color and Fashion Forecasting:
http://fitnyc.libguides.com/forecastcollection (This guide lists the items in our historical forecast collection).
http://fitnyc.libguides.com/periodicals-by-subject/forecasting-and-trends (Lists magazines with forecasting and runway coverage)
Create a personal account to use Workspaces and Design Tools, including Colour Play, in WGSN .
To create a new account: Enter your name & FIT email address. Your FIT email address will be your Username. A password will be sent to your FIT email.
Login to WGSN. [You can change your password.] Logins are valid for 90 days. After that, you must reactivate.
Fashion Forward: A Guide to Fashion Forecasting by
Fashion Forward demystifies the exciting career of a fashion forecaster and fosters skills that will benefit any design professional. The book begins with an overview of fashion forecasting theories and concepts and then leads readers through a step-by-step guide to creating and presenting a forecast. The authors reveal the inner workings of global fashion forecasting through real-world examples and interviews with both influential forecasters and the designers who rely upon them. Fashion Forward enables readers to start spotting tomorrow's trends today and compellingly communicate them-both visually and verbally-to inspire fashion innovators. New to this Edition - Current images and examples. Updated fashion photos to include current and trending images, professional presentations and forecast examples, plus new interviews and quotes. - Covers the latest methods and technology. New coverage of social media, technology and data analytics practices in fashion forecasting. - Enhanced global perspective. New content addressed the global apparel industry, emphasizes international forecasting firms, includes interviews with global forecaster and trend specialists, and more diverse images and examples throughout the book. - Practical career information and hands-on application. Updated and expanded career opportunities sections and enhanced activities provide real-world simulations and insights.
Fashion Forecasting by
"It's a great, strong read. Lots of information if you don't have background knowledge of this topic." Carmen Carter, El Centro College, USA "The text is a thorough view of fashion forecasting that helps students understand this segment of the industry as well as identify the steps and skills required to pursue a career as a fashion forecaster." Amy Harden, Ball State University, USA Learn how to anticipate emerging trends and how to prepare and present your own fashion forecast. Three new chapters on fashion eras, world cultures, and subcultures show you influences on fashion innovation yesterday and today, so that you can spot those of tomorrow. New Influencer profiles focus on trend creators, rather than trend popularizers, to show you how to find key people from many creative fields who shape popular fashion. A new appendix covers how to create a fashion forecast and a streamlined chapter organization is concise without sacrificing depth. Includes 125 color illustrations. This bundle includes Fashion Forecasting, 5th Edition and Fashion Forecasting STUDIO Access Card.
Fashion Forward: A Guide to Fashion Forecasting by
Fashion Forward demystifies the exciting career of a fashion forecaster and fosters skills that will benefit any design professional. The book begins with an overview of fashion forecasting theories and concepts and then leads readers through a step-by-step guide to creating and presenting a forecast. The authors reveal the inner workings of global fashion forecasting through real-world examples and interviews with both influential forecasters and the designers who rely upon them. Fashion Forward enables readers to start spotting tomorrow's trends today and compellingly communicate them-both visually and verbally-to inspire fashion innovators. New to this Edition - Current images and examples. Updated fashion photos to include current and trending images, professional presentations and forecast examples, plus new interviews and quotes. - Covers the latest methods and technology. New coverage of social media, technology and data analytics practices in fashion forecasting. - Enhanced global perspective. New content addressed the global apparel industry, emphasizes international forecasting firms, includes interviews with global forecaster and trend specialists, and more diverse images and examples throughout the book. - Practical career information and hands-on application. Updated and expanded career opportunities sections and enhanced activities provide real-world simulations and insights.
Forecast databases are available only to current FIT students, faculty and staff. (FIT username & password required for access)
