A comprehensive resource guide; includes fabrics, trims, yarns, finishers, service providers and contractors for North America for apparel, accessory, & home furnishings manufacturers.
The ITC Deputy Assistant Secretary for Textiles, Consumer Goods, and Materials oversees programs to competitiveness of many U.S. products, not just textiles and clothing.
trade publication January/February 2014 (v1 n1)-Current. (Online only). Bimonthly
“AATCC's online, peer reviewed research journal has a broad scope: from advanced materials, fibers, nanotechnology, biomedical textiles, polymer sciences, textile chemistry, polymer chemistry, and color science, to textile and apparel design, anthropometry, and sustainable materials and processes”
trade publication June 1988 (v17 n6)-December 1999 (v28 n12). Monthly
Formerly America’s Textiles International, Continued by America's Textile Industries
Textile business magazine. Emphasis on current trends and financial conditions. Includes hosiery and knitwear
trade publication Fall 1975 (n105)- September/October 1986 (n134). 3x per year
Formerly American Fabrics & Fashions
Small-distribution New York-based magazine for textile designers and producers covering textile history and inspiration from contemporary art and design. Includes fabric swatches
trade publication June 2016 (v15 iss1)-December 2018 (v7 n3)
A magazine with information on the alpaca industry including information about alpaca fiber and textiles
trade publication Spring 2019 (v.30:no)-Current. Five times a year
Alpacas Magazine has chronicled the evolution of the alpaca industry while capturing the heart and soul of the alpaca lifestyle.
trade publication Fall 1946 (n1)- Summer 1972 (n94). 3x per year
Continued by American Fabrics & Fashions
Small-distribution New York-based magazine for textile designers and producers covering textile history and inspiration from contemporary art and design. Includes fabric swatches
trade publication Winter 1972 (n96)-Summer 1975 (n104). 3x per year
Formerly American Fabrics, continued by AFF: American Fabrics & Fashions
Small-distribution New York-based magazine for textile designers and producers covering textile history and inspiration from contemporary art and design. Includes fabric swatches
trade publication January 2000 (v29 n1)- March 2001 (v30 n3). Monthly
Formerly ATI: America's Textiles International, continued by Textile Industries [Billian]
Textile business magazine. Emphasis on current trends and financial conditions. Includes hosiery and knitwear
trade publication April 1986-May 1988. Monthly
Formerly America’s Textiles, continued by ATI: America’s Textiles International
Textile business magazine. Emphasis on current trends and financial conditions. Includes hosiery and knitwear
trade publication January 1978 (v7 n1)-December 1982 (v11 n12). Monthly
Merged with America’s Textiles Reporter/Bulletin Edition to form America’s Textiles
Textile business magazine. Emphasis on current trends and financial conditions. Includes hosiery and knitwear
trade publication January 1978 (v7 n1)-December 1982 (v11 n12). Monthly
Merged with America’s Textiles Knitter/Apparel Edition to form America’s Textiles
Textile business magazine. Emphasis on current trends and financial conditions. Includes hosiery and knitwear
scholarly online: November 1985 (n1)-Current. Annual
Archaeological Textiles Newsletter (ATN) focuses on archaeological textiles, creating a forum for discussion and exchange of information between archaeologists, conservators, historians, art historians, biologists, chemists, geologists, and craftspeople. Published in Copenhagen, Denmark, in English, the journal includes investigation and technical analysis of all textile materials.
trade publication April 2001 (n557)-Current. Bimonthly
Formerly JTN Monthly
In Japanese and English. International textile magazine; emphasis on Japanese products
scholarly 1974; 1976; 1980; 1985-1986. Annual
In French with English text. Annual bulletin for CIETA members; publishes research and news in the field of ancient textiles
scholarly 1989-1990; 1992; 1994; 1998-2000; 2002-2004. Annual
In French. Annual bulletin for CIETA members; publishes research and news in the field of ancient textiles
Autumn/Winter 2016 (n6)-Current. Semiannual
An interior design and shelter magazine published in London that showcases inspiring design, both interior and exterior, with beautiful photography and a fabric or wallpaper cover
forecast Winter 1952 (n1)-1952 (n3) Use of this title is restricted to the Forecast Area located in the FIT Periodicals and Electronic Resource Services Unit
Published by L'Officiel de la Couleur, a French forecasting publication forecasting color and fabric trends with swatches, patterns and silhouettes
runway October 2010 (n4) (Spring/Summer 2011)-October 2015 (Spring/Summer 2016). Semiannual
Formerly Close-Up: Print & Embroidery: Women. Merged with Close-Up: Print: Women to form Fashion Focus: Print: Embroidery: Woman
In Italian. Features images of embroidery from new runway collections, selected and categorized by analysts. Color photography, no text or advertisements. Part of the Close-Up series published by Collezioni
forecast, runway January 2013 (n1) (Fall/Winter 2013/14)-July 2015 (n6) (2016/2017). Semiannual
In Italian. Features images of textiles, yarns, fabrics, materials, trends and previews from new runway collections, selected and categorized by analysts with brief descriptions of trends. Part of the Close-Up series published by Collezioni
runway Spring/Summer 2010 (n2)-Fall/Winter 2010/11(n3). Semiannual
Continued by Close-Up: Print: Women and Close-Up: Embroidery: Women
In Italian. Features images of prints and embroidery from new runway collections, selected and categorized by analysts. Color photography, no text or advertisements. Part of the Close-Up series published by Collezioni
runway October 2011 (n4) (Spring/Summer 2011)-October 2015 (n14) (Spring/Summer 2016). Semiannual
Formerly Close-Up: Print & Embroidery: Women. Merged with Close-Up: Embroidery: Women to form Fashion Focus: Print: Embroidery: Woman
In Italian. Features images of prints from new runway collections, selected and categorized by analysts. Color photography, no text or advertisements. Part of the Close-Up series published by Collezioni
trade publication Spring 2001-Spring 2002. Quarterly
A news magazine published by the Society of Dyers and Colourists with the society's news updates, current business pracitces, and international color news focusing on a theme each issue
store catalog online: 2001-2018
Founded in 1971, the company specializes in museum quality antique costume of the 18th and 19th centuries and in European embroideries, silks, and printed textiles of the 17th - 20th centuries
trade publication May 1991-August 1994. Quarterly (1936-Current available online through link in record)
Covers all information for cotton and wool including supply, prices and data on raw fibers and textiles
1936-2016 with gaps
Browsable collection of fiber-arts crafting magazines and craft patterns from magazines, retail samples, and direct-to-consumer instruction pamphlets. See catalog record for specific titles.
trade publication online: February 2007-Current. 6x per year. (FIT username and password required for access)
An environmental magazine for the global textiles industry and the fashion supply chain. Published in eco-friendly offices in Normanton, Yorkshire, UK.
trade publication Autumn/Winter 1969-Spring/Summer 1998. Semiannual
Published in Germany in French, German, and English. Seasonal preview of fabric; includes swatches
trade publication May 1989 (v18 n5)-November/December 2009 (v41 n6). Monthly
The magazine of the Drycleaning & Laundry Institute. Includes technology and product reviews
trade publication January/February 1999 (v10 n1)-May/June 2013 (v25 n3); 2014 Resource Guide (v26 n2). Bimonthly Special issues: Sustainability Portfolio, 2014 Resource Guide
Formerly Fabrics & Architecture
Published by the Industrial Fabrics Association International. For architects, designers, fabric specifiers; covers awnings and canopies, construction fabrics, landscaping and building codes
trade publication March/April 1991 (v3 n2)-September/October 1998 (v10 n5). Bimonthly
Continued by Fabric Architecture
Published by the Industrial Fabrics Association International. For architects, designers, fabric specifiers; covers awnings and canopies, construction fabrics, landscaping and building codes
runway April 2016 (n1) (Autumn/Winter 2016/17)-October 2017 (n4) (Spring/Summer 2018). Semiannual
Formed by the merger of Close-Up: Embroidery: Women and Close-Up: Print: Women
In English and Italian. Features images of prints and embroidery from new runway collections, selected and categorized by analysts. Color photography, no text or advertisements
trade publication February/March 2006 (v24 n1)-October/November 2014 (v32 n5). Bimonthly
Formerly Geotechnical Fabrics Report Special Issue: Specifier's Guide
Geared toward the same industry as GFR, but with a more accessible format
trade publication November/December 1985 (v3 n6)-August 2002 (v20 n6). 10x per year
Continued by Geosynthetics
For civil engineers, contractors, landscape architects, site owners, government regulators and others dealing with specialty fabrics
trade publication November/December 1972 (v49 n5)-February 2008 (v93 n2). 13x per year
Continued by Specialty Fabrics Review
Published in the U.S. for the canvas industrial fabric industry
trade publication June 1952 (n228)-June/July 2007 (n858).(with gaps) Monthly
Published in the U.K.. Covers fabric, color and silhouette trends, product development, forecasting and textile design
trade publication December 1986 (n385)-December 1994 (n481). Monthly
Continued by JTN Monthly
Published in Japan in English. International textile magazine with emphasis on Japanese products
trade publication January 1995 (n482)-March 2001 (n556). Monthly
Formerly JTN, Continued by Asian Textile Business
Published in Japan in English.. International textile magazine with emphasis on Japanese products
scholarly November 2013 (v1 n1)-Current. Semiannual online: November 2013 (v1 n1)-Current.(FIT username and password required for access)
A journal that publishes research through textile designing and making, research informed by textiles, and research for textile design education
trade publication January 1986 (v102)-December 2000 (v116). Monthly
Continued by Coloration Technology
Published in the U.K. Technical papers on dyeing and dyestuffs
trade publication 1996 (v87 n1)-2003 (v94 n4). Quarterly
Formerly Journal of the Textile Institute, Continued by Journal of the Textile Institute (2004)
(Bound with Parts 2 and 3) Published in the U.K. Research in scientific and technical aspects of textile materials, processes and products
trade publication microfilm: January 1919-December 1977. Monthly
Publication for ILGWU members who work in apparel, textile and related industries, in industrial laundries and in distribution and retail
trade publication Summer 2000 (v6 n3)-November/December 2008 (v14 n6). Quarterly
Published by the Industrial Fabrics Association International. Industry news about the manufacture of fabrics for boats
trade publication microfilm: October 1981-October 1983
Formerly Modern Textiles
Magazine for the textile industries professional. Coverage includes manufacturing of materials, machinery and buyer’s guides
trade publication microfilm: July 1969-September 1981
Formerly Modern Textiles Magazine, continued by Modern Textile Business
Magazine for the textile industries professional reporting on manufacturing and technology; includes buyer’s guides
trade publication microfilm: January 1963-June 1969
Formerly Rayon and Synthetic Textiles, continued by Modern Textiles
Magazine for the textile industries professional reporting on manufacturing and technology; includes buyer’s guides
runway Spring/Summer 2019 (n5)-Fall/Winter 2020/2021 (n8). Semiannual
Published in Germany in English and German. Features images of women's print and embroidery from new runway collections, selected and categorized by analysts. Color photography, little text and few advertisements
trade publication January 1980 (v11 n1)-Current. Monthly Special Issue: Buyer's Guide. Directory available online through link in record
For manufacturers of nonwoven textiles
forecast Spring 1950 (n9); Winter 1951 (n12); Fall 1951 (n15)-Winter 1952 (n20); Spring/Summer 1960 (n47)-Spring 1962 (n53); Spring 1964 (n61)-Winter 1965/1966 (n67); Summer 1967 (n73)-Winter 1975/1976 (n106). (with gaps). Quarterly Use of this title is restricted to the Forecast Area located in the FIT Periodicals and Electronic Resource Services Unit
A French forecasting publication with text in French, English, Spanish and Portuguese. Forecasting color and fabric trends with swatches and patterns
trade publication 1986 (v16)-2005 (v35). Annual
Incorporated into Coloration Technology
Published in the U.K. by the Society of Dyers and Colorists. Reviews a wide range of coloration technology and related themes
trade publication May/June 2004 (iss00)-Current. (with gaps) Bimonthly
Covers fine textiles in every context: fine art, interiors, fashion, travel and shopping
trade publication March 2008 (v93 n3)-Current. 13x per year
Formerly Industrial Fabric Products Review Special Issue: Buyer's Guide. Current Buyer's Guide available through link in record
Published in the U.S. for the industrial fabric industry
trade publication Fall 1976 (v1 n1)-Fall 1977 (v2 n1). Quarterly
Continued by Surface Design Journal
Reviews all facets of textiles as art. Each issue explores a theme, e.g., Stitching, Creative Process, which allows in-depth coverage of different aspects of surface design
trade publication Summer 1978 (v2 n3)-Current. Quarterly
Formerly Surface Design
Reviews all facets of textiles as art. Each issue explores a theme, e.g., Stitching, Creative Process, which allows in-depth coverage of different aspects of surface design
trade publication Winter 1999 (v13 n1)-Winter 2009 (v23 n1). Quarterly (Current issues available online through link in record)
Formerly Surface Newsletter
Dedicated to the promotion and practice of surface design as well as education and critical thinking about surface design
trade publication Spring 1996 (v9 n2)-Fall 1999 (v12 n4). Quarterly
Continued by Surface Design Newsletter
Discusses promotion and practice of surface design as well as education and critical thinking about surface design
trade publication June 2014 (n1)-Winter 2014 (n2). Semiannual
A bi-annual publication published by the Textile Arts Center in New York features tutorials, studio visits, textile news, fashion editorial spreads, textile events, and anything related to the modern textile industry to connect the international textile community
forecast 2016 (n1)-Current
A trend magazine published in English in Paris by Li Edelkort about the textile industry, looking at how fashion design starts to focus on fabric, how interior design brings back upholstery and how art students reach out to the loom
scholarly March 2004 (v2 n1)-Current. 3x per year online: March 2003 (v1 n1)-Current (FIT username and password required for access)
Peer-reviewed scholarly journal addressing histories and theories of the cultural meanings of textiles. Includes full-color illustrations. Published in the U.K.
trade publication January 1991 (v22 n1)-February/March 2014 (v45 n2). Monthly
Published in Hong Kong in English. Trade magazine for the Asian textile business
trade publication Fall 1984-Spring 2000 (n38). Semiannual
Formerly Textile Conservation Newsletter-Canada
Technical articles about various textile conservation processes. Chemical reactions described and documented. Recipes for processes and experiments included
trade publication February 1983; October 1983; March 1984. Semiannual
Continued by Textile Conservation Newsletter
Technical articles about various textile conservation processes. Chemical reactions described and documented. Recipes for processes and experiments included
trade publication March 1975-December 2002. Quarterly
Supplement Textile Indicators: May 1973-May 1990. Monthly
Published by the American Textile Manufacturers Institute. Statistics on all aspects of the textile industry
scholarly December 1971 (v2 n1)-Current. Semiannual online: December 1968 (v1 n1)-Current (Current FIT username and password required for access)
Scholarly articles on the history and development of the textile industry
trade publication October 1985 (v5 n10)-December 1991 (v11 n12). Bimonthly
Continued by Textile Horizons International
Analysis of developments in the British textile industry
trade publication January 1992 (v12 n1)-December 1993. Bimonthly
Continued by Textile Horizons (1994)
Analysis of developments in the British textile industry
trade publication July 1969-December 1984. Monthly microfilm: January 1963-December 1984
Incorporated into America’s Textiles
Covers industry trends and marketing practices as well as manufacturing technologies for both the woven and nonwoven industries
trade publication April 2001 (v30 n4)-December 2001 (v30 n12). Monthly
Formerly America’s Textile Industries: ATI, Absorbed by Textile World
Textile business magazine with an emphasis on current trends and financial conditions. Includes hosiery and knitwear
trade publication January/February 1971 (v42 n1&2)-March 1989 (v60 n3). (with gaps). Monthly
Formerly Rayon Organon, Continued by Fiber Organon
Market data for both the natural and man-made fiber industry (January through March 1989 holdings bound with Fiber Organon)
trade publication January 1986-December 2019. Bi-monthly
Links for issues from (n169)-Current in record(Current FIT username and password required for access)
Published in the U.K. Analysis of international trends in textile trade, manufacturing and markets
trade publication March 1969 (v1 n1)-1993 (v24 n3). Quarterly microfilm: 1993-1998
Published by the Textile Institute in the U.K. Technical and critical overview of developments in the fiber industry
trade publication microfilm: 1959-1986
An index taken from periodicals, books conferences, and other sources that documents knowledge in textile science and technology
trade publication January 7, 1977 (v25 n1)-July 14, 2003 (v51 n25). Weekly
Weekly Washington report for American Textile Manufacturers Institute members
scholarly March 2004 (v2 n1)-Current. 3x per year online: March 2003 (v1 n1)-Current (FIT username and password required for access)
Peer-reviewed scholarly journal addressing histories and theories of the cultural meanings of textiles. Includes full-color illustrations. Published in the U.K.
trade publication 1988 (v17 n2)-1993 (v22 n4). 3x per year
Continued by Textiles Magazine online: 1980-2003 (Selected content only) (Current FIT username and password required for access)
Published by the Textile Institute in the U.K. Explanations of textile science and technology in non-technical language
trade publication 2005 (v32 n3&4)-Current. 3x per year
Formerly Textiles Magazine online: 2004-current (Current FIT username and password required for access)
Published by the Textile Institute in the U.K. Explanations of textile science and technology in non-technical language
scholarly September 2012 (v4 n2)-Current. 3x per year
Journal for the expert and beginner interested in all aspects of Asian textiles. Designed to inform about research, exhibitions and more events/topics related to Asian textiles and dress
trade publication 1994 (v23 n1)-2005 (v32 n2). Quarterly
Formerly Textiles (1972), Continued by Textiles (2005) online: 1995-2005 (Selected content only) (Current FIT username and password required for access)
Published by the Textile Institute in the U.K. Explanations of textile science and technology in non-technical language
International Retailing (e-resource)
