LibGuides: Time Periods Research: Images

Photographs, Film, and Video

LIFE Photo Archive - Google Images
Internet Archive - Ephemeral Films
Ephemeral films are non-fiction films usually made for educational, industrial, or promotional purposes.
Internet Public Library

Artstor on JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digital library of art images from museums and other institutions.

Registration for an individual account is required for some features.

NYPL Digital Gallery

Search the New York Public Library's Digital Gallery
The Digital Gallery provides free and open access to over 700,000 images digitized from The New York Public Library's vast collections.

Art & Design Images

Artstor on JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Artstor Collection currently contains over 550,000 images from across many times and cultures. Includes architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design as well as many other forms of visual culture.
FITDIL: FIT Digital Image Library This link opens in a new window
A digital repository consisting of over 100,000 images, including FIT student and faculty work, exhibitions, and instructional resources.

Timeline of Art History - Metropolitan Museum of Art
The Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History is a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world, as illustrated by the Metropolitan Museum of Art's collection.

Fashion and Dress

Berg Fashion Library This link opens in a new window
The simple Browse feature is especially useful for locating both image and articles about specific decades and locations.
Use an incognito browser to access this resource. Click to watch video.

Fashion History timeline
This is an open-access source featuring objects and artworks from over a hundred museums and libraries across the globe. It offers well-researched, accessibly written entries on artworks, garments and films for those interested in fashion history.

Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains every issue of Vogue from 1892 to present. Each issue can be browsed cover-to-cover in searchable full-text format. Each page and image is reproduced in high-resolution color with indexing, enabling images to be searched by garment type, designer, and brand names, among others. All covers, advertisements, fold outs and pictorial features are captured as separate documents,which are also indexed, searchable, and viewable in high-resolution color.
Vogue Italia Archive This link opens in a new window
Contains every issue of Vogue Italia from 1964 to present. Each issue can be browsed cover-to-cover in searchable full-text format. Each page and image is reproduced in high-resolution color with indexing, enabling images to be searched by garment type, designer, and brand names, among others. All covers, advertisements, fold outs and pictorial features are captured as separate documents,which are also indexed, searchable, and viewable in high-resolution color.
Harper's Bazaar Archive This link opens in a new window
Harper's Bazaar is the world’s oldest continuously published fashion magazine, with coverage starting in 1867 to present with additional access to the UK edition from 1929-2015, both of which are fully indexed and searchable.

Harper's Bazaar (US): 1867-Current

Harper's Bazaar (UK):
April 1930-Dec 1969

Harpers and Queen (UK):
Jan 1972-Dec 2000

Harper's Bazaar (UK):
Jan 2007-Dec 2007