Use the drop down menu next to the search bar to search only Special Collections materials!
Special Collections and College Archives (SPARC) is a specialized area of the FIT Library that holds archival collections, as well as rare books, magazines, videos, and more, and is located on the 4th floor of the FIT Library, across from the Periodicals area.
The items in our collection are held separately from others in the wider FIT library for a variety of reasons. Either they're very rare, such as the book manuscripts of Elizabeth Hawes, which exist nowhere else in the world, or they're quite fragile due to age, such as our copy of the first issue of Harper's Bazaar.
SPARC also cares for pricey publications. For example, we hold one of very few copies in the world of the 19th century reprint of Galerie des Modes et Costumes Français. We also hold limited edition art books and serials, such as issues of Visionaire.
These items are held in special temperature- and humidity-controlled environments that arrest their deterioration, and keep them from being handled too much. These preservation steps we take in SPARC will help to keep our collection in good condition for researchers for many decades to come.
We often get mixed up with the Museum at FIT. While we work with the museum sometimes, SPARC is a unit of the FIT Library, and we do not hold garments (except for these few examples of shoes and gloves).
By Appointment OnlyTo view SPARC materials, you must have an appointment.
To schedule an appointment, fill out our appointment request form and someone will reach out shortly. We can also be reached at fitlibsparc@fitnyc.edu or (212) 217-4385.
Please follow the directions in the form carefully so we can best help you.
SPARC's shelves cannot be browsed, so we must page items before you arrive to do your research. Therefore, before we can confirm an appointment time, we need to know what you would like to view during your appointment.
Provide specific titles and call numbers of the items you wish to view
To find this information, use the library's OneSearch Catalog (narrow your search to Special Collections) to search for the materials you want. If you request any periodicals, please provide the general timespan you would like to view. You can also find details on many of our archival collections through SPARC Connect, our online finding aid platform.
We can pull approximately up to 3 linear feet of material for your appointment.
Picture a 3 foot long bookshelf to get an idea for how large that is. Archival collections vary in size - sometimes they're tiny consisting of one folder, but some of them have hundreds of boxes.
The catalog records of archival records will indicate how large they are in the Format field. If the collection you wish to see is over 3 linear feet, the finding aid can help you choose portions of the collection you want us to pull for your appointment. We can help guide you on what might be best for you.
For our current research schedule, please see our Visit page on our main website, and the library homepage for all exceptions & changes to regular hours.
So! Your professor has required you to include a primary source in your research for your project. What's the best way to do that?
SPARC mostly holds primary source materials, which means they are first-hand records of information. An object in a museum is one example of a primary source. SPARC does not hold many objects like a museum does, but it does hold documents, sketches, photographs, and other items that serve as primary sources: they speak for themselves.
History books, in contrast, are examples of secondary sources written by historians who interpret past events. History books written in decades past can be both primary and secondary sources as they provide interpretations of past events, but reflect the times in which they were written.
Another example: Fashion is Spinach written by Elizabeth Hawes about her own life is a primary source, while Radical by design: the life and style of Elizabeth Hawes by Bettina Berch is about Hawes, and so it is a secondary source.
Primary sources are complex! Learn more about primary sources here:
One of the best ways to figure out what primary sources might best serve your project is to first look at secondary sources that have explored what you are researching. Look out for references to primary sources in their writing and bibliographies. If you read up on 1960s fashion design for Coach, you may come across the designs of Bonnie Cashin and find her work to be perfect for your project. SPARC holds a very significant collection of Cashin's sketches and textile swatches.
