See also related guides such as:
Fashion Law
In todays' highly competitive global market, fashion designers, entrepreneurs and executives need state, federal, and international laws to protect their intellectual property-their brands and the products by which their customers recognize them. Fashion Law provides a concise and practical guide to the full range of legal issues faced by a fashion company as it grows from infancy to international stature. Updated to reflect recent legal decisions and regulatory developments, this revised edition covers such a vital issues as intellectual property protection and litigation, licensing, anti-counterfeiting, start-ups and finance, commercial transactions, retail property leasing, employment regulations, advertising and marketing, celebrity endorsements, international trade. Features of the text help to make legal concepts accessible to the lay reader. More than 25 leading attorneys practicing in the emerging legal specialty of fashion law contributed the chapters for this authoritative text, and their expertise provides a foundation for fashion professionals and their legal advisors to work together effectively. New to this Edition~Expanded section on Intellectual Property protection, including an all new Chapter 6 on Litigation~All new Chapter 10 on Fashion Finance Features~Box Features provide real-life examples that demonstrate the role that law plays in the fashion business, including landmark court cases and current events~Practice Tips discuss legal issues that should be considered as fashion designers and executives establish procedures for conducting their business~Sample Clauses familiarize readers with the legal language that covers the rights and responsibilities of the parties to agreements.
For more information about all kinds of accessories see the Accessories guide.
This link opens in a new windowSee also: the Fashion forecasting guide.
For specific business and fashion-related databases:
Full-text coverage of Woman’s Wear Daily from 1994 - current.
Fashion and Technology by
Technology has always impacted the practice of fashion design. Though fashion and technology have long intersected, recent developments in computation have enabled the adoption of new methods, tools, and approaches to design. From materials to new manufacturing processes of the industrial age, advancements in technology have driven forward our understanding of the aesthetics, style, and functionality of garments and accessories. Fashion and Technology provides a conceptual framework for how new technologies are used in fashion design and shows how they can be implemented into the design process. This practical guide includes highly visual tutorials that introduce students and practitioners to designing with electronics-such as LEDs, sensors, electroluminescent materials, conductive and reactive materials-and digital fabrication technologies such as 3D printing and laser cutting. Projects make these innovative materials accessible to designers and will inspire creative collaborations within studio practice. Features - Highly visual Tutorials follow a consistent format for presenting each technique including descriptions, materials and supplies, workspace, safety considerations or hazards, numbered steps and finished examples - Designer Interviews and Case Studies showcase innovative fashion collections and forward-thinking collaborations - A unique chapter on designing with source code introduces programmatic concepts and terminology for novices Teaching Resources - Instructor's Guide provides suggestions for planning the course and using the text in the classroom, with supplemental assignments and lecture notes. - Test Bank includes sample test questions for each chapter. Introducing Fashion and Technology STUDIO--an online tool for more effective study! ~ Study smarter with self-quizzes featuring scored results and personalized study tips ~ Review concepts with flashcards of essential vocabulary ~ Watch videos that bring chapter topics and concepts to life PLEASE NOTE- Purchasing or renting this ISBN does not include access to the STUDIO resources that accompany this text. To receive free access to the STUDIO content with new copies of this book, please refer to the book + STUDIO access card bundle ISBN 9781501317415.
Digital pattern cutting for fashion with Lectra Modaris® : From 2D pattern modification to 3D prototyping
"Design your own original 2D patterns and use 3D prototyping to test your designs, achieve the perfect fit and make quick alterations. Pattern Cutting For Fashion with Lectra Modaris® will guide you from the basics of pattern modification through to 3D realisation, alteration and visual effects, as well as the completion of a finished production pattern. By viewing your garment in a virtual environment first, you will also be able to make design, colour, print and fabric decisions prior to toile making. Workshops include: A basic t-shirt; Dart modification; Darts into seams; Darts into Flare; Button wrap and facings; A Basic Jean; Pleats in a Skirt /Trouser with pocket; A shirt with two piece collar /yoke; Modelling on the half scale stand and converting pattern to full scale."--Bloomsbury Publishing.
Fashion and Textile Design with Photoshop and Illustrator by
Fashion and Textile Design with Photoshop and Illustrator is a step-by-step guide to two essential tools for textile and fashion designers. Adobe Photoshop . and Illustrator . have eclipsed many specialist textile and fashion systems due to their intuitive design, versatile function, and constant evolution. Designer and educator Robert Hume guides you from novice to expert through eighteen carefully crafted projects. You'll start by mastering layers and custom brushes, and learning about stripes and weaves, before moving on to repeats and colorways, and simple geometry, and finally learning key layout and presentation techniques in both programs. There's also advice on sharing, communication and output, and help with diagnosing and correcting common problems. Files for many of the projects are available from www.bloomsbury.com/hume-textile-design. In addition, seven case studies showcase the work and creative thinking of innovative professional designers. These designers reflect on the appeal of Illustrator and Photoshop and offer insight and inspiration to help you develop your own fun and inventive designs.
New! Clothing for Children and Teenagers: Anthropometry, Sizing and Fit [e-book]
Clothing for Children and Teenagers: Anthropometry, Sizing and Fit addresses the complexities of developing size specifications for clothing aimed at seven to seventeen year olds. Children and teenagers experience rapid physical growth and alterations in body shape as they develop--changes that pose significant challenges in creating apparel sizing systems. The book begins by introducing the principles of apparel fit and sizing systems. Drawing on the author's own fieldwork, it goes on to discuss methods of conducting anthropometric surveys in children and teenagers, and techniques for analyzing the resulting data in order to produce successful sizing systems. Introduces the principles of apparel fit and sizing systems, and discusses methods of conducting anthropometric surveys in children and teenagers. Offers systematic and comprehensive coverage of the complexities associated with clothing for children and teenagers. Reviews techniques in analysis and classification of children and teenagers' body shapes and sizes. Covers the development, designation, and validation of an apparel sizing system for children and teenagers.
Anthropometry, Apparel Sizing and Design [e-book]
One of the greatest challenges for the apparel industry is to produce garments that fit customers properly. Anthropometry, Apparel Sizing and Design addresses the need for improved characterization of our populations in order to tailor garments according to size, weight, and shape of consumers. This book reviews techniques in anthropometry, sizing system developments, and their applications to clothing design. Part one considers a range of anthropometric methods. The text discusses the range of sizing systems, including data mining techniques, useful for bridging the gap between ergonomists and designers. Chapters examine three-dimensional anthropometric methods and multivariate and bivariate analysis for identifying key body dimensions. Part two then explains how to analyze anthropometric data to develop appropriate sizing systems. Here, the book discusses classification and clustering of human body shapes, the importance of national surveys, and using the data obtained to ensure inclusive design strategies. The book covers sizing systems developed for particular groups, apparel size designation, and the potential for international standardization. It considers the advantages of 3D body scanning and computer-aided design, and the use of body motion analysis to address ease allowance requirements of apparel. With its distinguished editors and international contributors, this work is an essential reference, particularly due to the specific combination of aspects of anthropometry and the sizing of clothing, for researchers, garment designers, students, and manufacturers in the clothing and fashion industry. Reviews techniques in anthropometry, sizing system developments, and their applications to clothing design Examines 3D anthropometric methods and multivariate and bivariate analysis for identifying key body dimensions Covers sizing systems developed for particular groups, apparel size designation, and the potential for international standardization
Designing Apparel for Consumers: The Impact of Body Shape and Size [e-book]
Given its importance for consumer satisfaction and thus brand success, apparel fit is a major challenge for retailers and brands across the industry. Consequently there have been major developments in sizing research and how it can be used in apparel design. This book reviews how these developments are affecting clothing design for different groups of consumers. Part one identifies various aspects of body shape, size, volume and the psychological aspects of designing apparel. This section covers topics such as body shape and its influence on apparel size and consumer choices, sizing systems, body shape and weight distribution (with a discussion of the Body Volume Index (BVI) versus the Body Mass Index (BMI)), and the psychological and sociological factors influencing consumers' choice of apparel. Part two outlines the challenges in understanding the sizing and shape requirements and choices of particular customer groups. This section discusses apparel designed for infants and children, older consumers, overweight and obese consumers, plus size Black and Latino women, apparel design for Asian and Caucasian ethnic groups, sizing requirements for male apparel, maternity apparel, intimate apparel for varying body shapes, and the challenges of designing headwear to fit the size and shape of Western and Asian populations. Designing apparel for consumers provides an invaluable reference for apparel designers, manufacturers, and R&D managers in the textile industry, as well as postgraduate students and academic researchers in textiles. Reviews developments affecting clothing design for different groups of consumers Identifies various aspects of body shape, size, volume and the psychological aspects of designing apparel Outlines the challenges in understanding sizing and shape requirements and choices of particular customer groups
Fashion Entrepreneurship by
"This is a useful step-by-step guide for starting your own apparel boutique or online business." Marissa Zorola, University of North Texas, US Written by entrepreneurs, for entrepreneurs, the book explains management, market segmentation, financial statements, cash flow, accessing capital, e-commerce, and omni-channel retailing. A hypothetical business plan that builds with each chapter and examples of business models from Warby Parker, Birchbox, and Etsy, give you a framework for building a successful fashion company. Profiles of entrepreneurs and exercises in a book illustrated with 130 images show you how to apply the process to your own ideas. STUDIO Resources - Study smarter with self-quizzes featuring scored results and personalized study tips - Review concepts with flashcards of terms and definitions - Download sample forms and templates for business plan development - Practice your skills with assignments tailored for each chapter PLEASE NOTE: Purchasing or renting this ISBN does not include access to the STUDIO resources that accompany this text. To receive free access to the STUDIO content with new copies of this book, please refer to the book + STUDIO access card bundle ISBN 9781501334245.
Beyond Design: the Synergy of Apparel Product Development (e-book) by
This informative, full-color text takes students step-by-step through the decision-making involved in the pre-production processes of apparel product development---planning, forecasting, fabricating, line development, technical design, pricing, sourcing, and distribution. It demonstrates how these processes must be coordinated to get the right product to market, when consumers want it, and at a price they are willing to pay. The 4th Edition has been edited around a new metastructure to maximize student learning. It continues to build on the themes of sustainability, business ethics, and the impact of fast fashion and social media while seeking to address opportunities for both large and small companies, and entrepreneurs. The text advances its discussion of how new technologies continue to shorten the product development calendar. Chapters have been updated to include current examples, updated charts and graphs, and more case studies. There are updated references to contemporary developments with examples relevant to today's student. New to this Edition ¿ Includes international examples and case studies that address the effects of globalization ¿ Advances the discussion of the pros and cons of fast fashion vs. slow fashion ¿ Revised, easier-to-read charts and graphs and 30% new color photographs ¿ Thoroughly revised Chapters 12 (Sourcing) and 13 (Costing and Pricing) updated with most recent info on trade laws, changes in sourcing criteria and wages in international sourcing countries Beyond Design STUDIO ¿ Study smarter with self-quizzes featuring scored results and personalized study tips ¿ Review concepts with flashcards of essential vocabulary ¿ Watch videos that bring chapter concepts to life PLEASE NOTE: Purchasing or renting this ISBN does not include access to the STUDIO resources that accompany this text. To receive free access to the STUDIO content with new copies of this book, please refer to the book + STUDIO access card bundle ISBN 9781501315480. STUDIO Instant Access can also be purchased or rented separately on BloomsburyFashionCentral.com.
Draping Basics by
With step-by-step written instructions, Draping Basics provides the fundamentals of designing foundation garments by draping fabric on a dress form. Photographs clearly demonstrate the details of the process, and CAD drawings show how the draping is transferred to paper patterns. The text covers the foundation skirt, bodice, and set-in sleeve, as well as foundation bodice variations; dart equivalent bodice styles; bodice designs; and skirt, dress, and collar styles.
Fashion Flats and Technical Drawing by
Fashion Flats and Technical Drawing is a step-by-step workbook for learning technical drawing and flat sketching skills. With more than 500 hand-drawn and CAD-rendered flats and 100 photos of finished samples showing how a sketch translates to a 3D garment, the book covers a range of garments and construction details used to communicate fashion designs for portfolios and production. Abling and DaCosta progress from basic design construction details such as darts, gathers, and trims to essential garment styles including skirts, tops, dresses, pants, jackets and coats. The book includes unique coverage of presentation of flats in a portfolio and critical step of preparing flats for a technical package and productions. Downloadable figure templates and flats library are available online. This book is an essential resource for fashion designers to learn technical drawing skills that effectively communicate fashion design concepts. Features: Shows front-view and back-view flats, select side-view and 3/4-view flats, plus variations for menswear and childrenswear; Covers basic CAD techniques, how to use the pen tool, and methods for translating hand-drawn flats to digital drawings; Guest Artist features showcase professional designer styles for flats to inspire creativity; Practical format includes lay-flat spiral binding and drawing practice pages with grids and figure templates.
Flats, Technical Drawing for Fashion: a Complete Guide, 2nd ed. by
Flats: Technical Drawing for Fashion explains how to create a flat using a simple and straightforward step-by-step method. This second edition includes more information on rendering drawings by hand and using a computer, and a brand new section on knitwear. The main part of the book presents over 600 technical drawings of garment types, styles, and construction details, the basic key shapes of which are shown alongside a specially created and photographed muslin. This unique presentation illustrates the relationship between the three-dimensional garment and the two-dimensional drawing, allowing readers to really understand how to render flats.
Technical Sourcebook for Designers by
Technical Sourcebook for Designers is completely devoted to preparing aspiring and professional apparel designers for the growing demand for technical design skills in the apparel industry. This comprehensive compilation presents technical design processes and industry standards that reflect current apparel production and manufacturing practices. Lee and Steen provide a holistic perspective of the role of technical design in apparel production, including such considerations as selection of fabrics, finding seasonal fashion trends, garment construction, and fit evaluation, all in the context of meeting the needs of the target consumer with cost-effective decisions. This edition includes a new section on real-life fit problems and solutions, more information on essential math for designers (such as grading and costing) plus coverage of product lifecycle management (PLM) and sustainability. An all new Chapter 8 on Sweater Product Design explores sweater design and manufacturing. More than 200 new images and newly added color in illustrations to show relevant design details. With versatile coverage of a variety of product categories including women's wear, menswear and knitwear, this text gives students essential tools to develop specification sheets and technical packages for specific markets.
Complete Guide to Size Specification and Technical Design - 3rd ed. by
With the continuing growth of private label brands, the demand for skilled technical designers has never been greater. The 3rd Edition of Complete Guide to Size Specification and Technical Design equips students with everything they need to know about measuring sample garments, creating fully graded spec sheets, fitting garments and grading patterns for production. Over 500 technical flats are clearly labeled with measurement points and instructions for taking measurements. A new chapter on children's wear expands upon the already comprehensive coverage of knit and woven womenswear and menswear. The new edition includes more coverage of PLM/PDM and computer-aided technical design, model measuring, graded pattern nests and more. New to this Edition: New section on computer-aided technical design including coverage of PLM/PDM software such as Gerber, Lectra, and Optitex; New chapter on childrenswear with points of measure (POM) and grading information; Added instructions on measuring the human body; Expanded information on fitting and grading; Updated appendices with new fashion flats and body figure croquis and a metric conversion chart.
Concepts of Pattern Grading: techniques for manual and computer grading - 3rd ed. by
This step-by-step introduction to grading combines the theory of pattern grading with its practical applications. After presenting the x, y orientation to familiarize readers with the concepts of computer grading and using the Cartesian graph, the text takes a holistic approach, integrating anthropometry, size specifications, and grade guides into the grading process for women's garments with emphasis on maintaining fit and style sense. New to this Edition: - Expanded discussion of computer grading technology including Optitex, Gerber, Lectra, and Tukatech software - 20% new end-of-chapter exercises - Includes more than 200 illustrations and 85 tables for grade rules, measurement charts and garment specifications - Added discussion on grading from specifications and development of tolerances.
Master Patterns and Grading for Women's Outsizes by
Recent American and European surveys show that nearly 15% of the women's clothing market consists of outsizes. Pattern cutting and grading for this sector, however, operates very much in the past because the current sizing systems do not reflect the true form of the modern outsize figure. Improved foundation garments and a greater fashion awareness make it imperative that an entirely new approach has to be taken to the construction and sizing of garment patterns for outsizes. This new textbook is a specialized and up-to-date treatment of the subject, and provides pattern cutters and graders with a wealth of practical information.
The Art of Fashion Draping (e-book) by
"This is the most comprehensive teaching tool for learning and mastering draping techniques. The illustrations and the text for each drape are clear and explicit." Laura K. Kidd, Southern Illinois University, USA Learn to drape fabric on a dress form to create your own patterns. The step-by-step instructions are organized from basic to advanced projects using both imperial and metric measurements, so you don't have to convert measurements. The book includes a wide variety of fashion styles, from bodices to bias-cut gowns. Intermediate and advanced design variations include an off-shoulder sleeve design and a peplum design. More than 1,000 two-color line drawings show you each draping step. - Checklists to evaluate and analyze designs - Cross-referencing of techniques across chapters - Online STUDIO includes video tutorials explaining key draping skills and techniques - Lay-flat binding makes the book easy to use while draping garments PLEASE NOTE: Purchasing or renting this ISBN does not include access to the STUDIO resources that accompany this text. To receive free access to the STUDIO content with new copies of this book, please refer to the book + STUDIO access card bundle ISBN 9781501330292.
Bejeweled by 
Sustainable Jewellery by
In jewelry, the new consumer trends are demanding products that are crafted, personal, and created with respect to the environment. This implies a sustainability strategy that takes into account the entire supply chain, from the extraction of metals to the packaging materials.Sustainable Jewellery contains all the aspects that are necessary to know in order to start the path towards sustainability in the jewelry business, from the traceability of gems and metals, to the impact of the processes of purification, smelting, polishing, etc., and the ways to work with certified materials. The book includes case studies and interviews with international designers and firms who started the challenge of creating jewelry from an ethical and responsible perspective. With an introduction written by the jeweller and activist Greg Valerio, this book is a unique and essential guide for all those designers who want to bring their jewelry firm to a way that is ethical and respectful of the environment.
Dirty Gold by
The response from the jewelry industry to a campaign for ethically sourced gold as a case study in the power of business in global environmental politics.Gold mining can be a dirty business. It creates immense amounts of toxic materials that are difficult to dispose of. Mines are often developed without community consent, and working conditions for miners can be poor. Income from gold has funded wars. And consumers buy wedding rings and gold chains not knowing about any of this. In Dirty Gold, Michael Bloomfield shows what happened when Earthworks, a small Washington-based NGO, launched a campaign for ethically sourced gold in the consumer jewelry market, targeting Tiffany and other major firms. The unfolding of the campaign and its effect on the jewelry industry offer a lesson in the growing influence of business in global environmental politics. Earthworks planned a "shame" campaign, aimed at the companies' brands and reputations, betting that firms like Tiffany would not want to be associated with pollution, violence, and exploitation. As it happened, Tiffany contacted Earthworks before they could launch the campaign; the company was already looking for partners in finding ethically sourced gold.Bloomfield examines the responses of three companies to "No Dirty Gold" activism- Tiffany, Wal-Mart, and Brilliant Earth, a small company selling ethical jewelry. He finds they offer a case study in how firms respond to activist pressure and what happens when businesses participate in such private governance schemes as the "Golden Rules" and the "Conflict-Free Gold Standard." Taking a firm-level view, Bloomfield examines the different opportunities for and constraints on corporate political mobilization within the industry.
| Have a question or comment about these guides? Contact: libraryreference@fitnyc.edu |
