Skip to main content

Forecasting: Fashion & Trends

http://fitnyc.libguides.com/forecasting

About This Guide

Use this guide to find information about fashion and trend forecasting. Consult:

  • Books section with lists of selected books in our collection
  • Trend Services - about our online & print forecasts / trend services
  • Learn about creating Flats & Moodboards
  • WWD - many ways to find "the fashion bible"
  • Magazines with forecasting & trend info, + runway coverage
  • Websites - beyond FIT for info on the web
  • For FIT Faculty

 mw 10/10/17

Pantone Color of the Year 2018

ANNOUNCING PANTONE 18-3838 ULTRA VIOLET          

"A dramatically provocative and thoughtful purple shade, PANTONE 18-3838 Ultra Violet communicates originality, ingenuity, and visionary thinking that points us toward the future." (Color of the year 2018: PANTONE®)

video above: ABC Television Stations, 12/7/17

For more:

Color of the year 2018: PANTONE®
New York Times article: The Future Is ... Purple, by Vanessa Friedman, 12/7/17

NPR article: Purple Is The Color Of The Year For 2018, by Camila Domonoske, 12/7/17

Announcing changes ....

New databases! 

  • Sophicolor - A color service with more than 4,500 unique colors. Includes Trend Intelligence with the latest color palettes (3/2017)
  • WGSN Insight, focusing on trends and reports about  consumer insights, retail strategy, marketing and innovation, attitudes, culture, technology, social media and more.  Link is below.  Check it out!  (10/2016)

Forecast Collection, a related research guide, lists all historical & current forecasts in the FIT Library collections by company and by subject. (7/2016).  Our Historical forecast & trend reports achive collections spans from the late nineteenth century through 2016. Appointment required for all users. The materials in this collection are available for current FIT students and personnel, as well as outside researchers. Check it out!

Also, see for more information: the FIT Library Periodicals Dept. Forecast Services page.

What's Pantone?

Pantone's Color of the Year announcement for 2016 gave the best answer to this question!

Have a question or comment about these guides? Contact: libraryreference@fitnyc.edu