Fashion Forward: A Guide to Fashion Forecasting by
Fashion Forward demystifies the exciting career of a fashion forecaster and fosters skills that will benefit any design professional. The book begins with an overview of fashion forecasting theories and concepts and then leads readers through a step-by-step guide to creating and presenting a forecast. The authors reveal the inner workings of global fashion forecasting through real-world examples and interviews with both influential forecasters and the designers who rely upon them. Fashion Forward enables readers to start spotting tomorrow's trends today and compellingly communicate them-both visually and verbally-to inspire fashion innovators. New to this Edition - Current images and examples. Updated fashion photos to include current and trending images, professional presentations and forecast examples, plus new interviews and quotes. - Covers the latest methods and technology. New coverage of social media, technology and data analytics practices in fashion forecasting. - Enhanced global perspective. New content addressed the global apparel industry, emphasizes international forecasting firms, includes interviews with global forecaster and trend specialists, and more diverse images and examples throughout the book. - Practical career information and hands-on application. Updated and expanded career opportunities sections and enhanced activities provide real-world simulations and insights.
The Fashion Forecasters: A Hidden History of Color and Trend Prediction by
The fashion business has been collecting and analyzing information about colors, fabrics, silhouettes, and styles since the 18th century - activities that have long been shrouded in mystery. The Fashion Forecasters is the first book to reveal the hidden history of color and trend forecasting and to explore its relevance to the fashion business of the past two centuries. It sheds light on trend forecasting in the industrial era, the profession's maturation during the modernist moment of the 20th century, and its continued importance in today's digital fast-fashion culture. Based on in-depth archival research and oral history interviews, The Fashion Forecasters examines the entrepreneurs, service companies, and consultants that have worked behind the scenes to connect designers and retailers to emerging fashion trends in Europe, North America, and Asia. Here you will read about the trend studios, color experts, and international trade fairs that formalized the prediction process in the modern era, and hear the voices of leading contemporary practitioners at international forecasting companies such as the Doneger Group in New York and WGSN in London. Probing the inner workings of the global fashion system, The Fashion Forecasters blends history, biography, and ethnography into a highly readable cultural narrative.
Fashion Trends by
"Introduces the central concepts of fashion trends and forecasting by showing how theory translates to industry practice"-- Provided by publisher.
The Future City by
* An insightful introduction to the most exciting ideas in urban building and development, highlighting 40 revolutionary projects that address crucial issues in design planning for cities of the future* Beautifully illustratedWhat might the city of the future look like and how might it meet the needs of future generations while limiting damage to our planet's fragile ecosystem? This book introduces pioneering architects, designers and planners whose visions for an alternative urban future address issues such as climate change, population density, infrastructure, transportation and digital culture. It includes over 40 radical projects grouped into five key categories: master planning and megacities, transportation and infrastructure, new habitats, green cities/ urban farming, and smart cities. Each category summarizes trends that will drive the development of future cities, with each project representing a unique approach to urban development in the 21st century and beyond.
Fashion Forecasting by
"It's a great, strong read. Lots of information if you don't have background knowledge of this topic." Carmen Carter, El Centro College, USA "The text is a thorough view of fashion forecasting that helps students understand this segment of the industry as well as identify the steps and skills required to pursue a career as a fashion forecaster." Amy Harden, Ball State University, USA Learn how to anticipate emerging trends and how to prepare and present your own fashion forecast. Three new chapters on fashion eras, world cultures, and subcultures show you influences on fashion innovation yesterday and today, so that you can spot those of tomorrow. New Influencer profiles focus on trend creators, rather than trend popularizers, to show you how to find key people from many creative fields who shape popular fashion. A new appendix covers how to create a fashion forecast and a streamlined chapter organization is concise without sacrificing depth. Includes 125 color illustrations. This bundle includes Fashion Forecasting, 5th Edition and Fashion Forecasting STUDIO Access Card.
Trend Forecaster's Handbook by
The Trend Forecaster's Handbook is a sharp, in-depth and highly visual textbook and teaching aid for students and academics keen to know more about the world of trends, trend forecasting, and consumer-insight techniques. This "how to" book provides design students with skills to understand and track trends and use them to inform their research, design, and product development. With quotes, interviews, and case studies of key players.
Fashion Forecasting by
Everyone in the fashion business needs to develop an essential survival skill: how to interpret the intelligence provided by the fashion forecasting industry, to anticipate and respond to emerging trends. Lavishly illustrated in full colour throughout, with clear and relevant explanations of the processes involved, Fashion Forecasting is for fashion students and young professionals who already have acquired some fashion knowledge and skills. The authors interviewed the key players within this exciting industry and provide here fascinating insights into the dynamic contemporary fashion forecasting world and the varied creative roles within it - from intelligence gatherers to project consultants. The book covers how a trend is sourced, anticipated and developed, and also explores the interaction with marketing and brand development.
Who What Wear: Celebrity and Runway Style for Real Life by
A smart and stylish fashion and beauty guide from the creators of the popular website WhoWhatWear.com. Now, the creators share their tricks of the trade, translating high fashion in a low-fuss, accessible way. Hillary Kerr and Katherine Power, two former Elle magazine editors, are the fashionable duo behind the booming website. In Who What Wear they've compiled the best of their tips and advice into one stylish compendium. Trends come and go at a dizzying pace and it can be challenging to just get dressed in the morning!Kerr and Power banish those fashion faux-pas fears and give readers the tools necessary to update their own personal styles and recognize and incorporate the latest runway and Hollywood looks. Celebrity contributors such as Rachel Zoe, Nicole Richie, and Rachel Bilson also dish their insider style secrets alongside images from the runway and beyond.
