La Dolce Vita (1960) by Federico Fellini
Federico Fellini by
Masters of Cinema are lively and accessible introductions to the life and work of the world's greatest film directors. Each book provides the keys to understanding a director's career, from their earliest projects to their most recent films, alongside a complete filmography, film stills, on set pictures and film posters. Written by experts in the field, Masters of Cinema are an essential resource for film students and enthusiasts as well as those discovering the director's work for the first time.
A Clockwork Orange (1971) by Stanley Kubrick
A Clockwork Orange by
A vicious fifteen-year-old droog is the central character of this 1963 classic. In Anthony Burgess's nightmare vision of the future, where the criminals take over after dark, the story is told by the central character, Alex, who talks in a brutal invented slang that brilliantly renders his and his friends' social pathology. A Clockwork Orange is a frightening fable about good and evil, and the meaning of human freedom. When the state undertakes to reform Alex to "redeem" him, the novel asks, "At what cost?" This edition includes the controversial last chapter not published in the first edition and Burgess's introduction "A Clockwork Orange Resucked."
The Holy Mountain (1973) by Alejandro Jodorowsky
Broken Screen - 26 Conversations by
Contents: Eija-Liisa Ahtila -- Robert Altman -- Kenneth Anger -- John Baldessari -- Matthew Barney -- Chris Burden -- Bruce Conner -- Claire Denis -- Stan Douglas -- Olafur Eliasson - Pable Ferro -- Mike Figgis -- Werner Herzog -- Gary Hill -- Carsten Höller -- Pierre Huyghe -- Alejandro Jodorowsky -- Rem Koolhaas -- Greg Lynn -- Carsten Nicolai -- Richard Prince -- Pipilotti Rist -- Ugo Rondinone -- Ed Ruscha -- Amos Vogel -- Robert Wilson -- Moments: Doug Aitken & Hans Ulrich Obrist -- Diagram of a nonlinear film.
Salomé (1923) by Alla Nazimova
The Portable Oscar Wilde by
Includes the following works: Novels--The Portrait of Dorian Gray; Plays--Salome and The Importance of Being Earnest; Writings--De Profundis, Critic as Artist, and Phrases and Philosophies for the Use of the Very Young; and selections from Lady Windermere's Fan, An Ideal Husband, and A Woman of No Importance.
Les Vampires (1915) by Louis Feuillade
100 Silent Films by
100 Silent Films provides an authoritative and accessible history of silent cinema through one hundred of its most interesting and significant films. As Bryony Dixon contends, silent cinema is not a genre; it is the first 35 years of film history, a complex negotiation between art and commerce and a union of creativity and technology. At its most grand – on the big screen with a full orchestral accompaniment – it is magnificent, permitting a depth of emotional engagement rarely found in other fields of cinema. Silent film was hugely popular in its day, and its success enabled the development of large-scale film production in the United States and Europe. It was the start of our fascination with the moving image as a disseminator of information and as mass entertainment with its consequent celebrity culture. The digital revolution in the last few years and the restoration and reissue of archival treasures have contributed to a huge resurgence of interest in silent cinema. Bryony Dixon's illuminating guide introduces a wide range of films of the silent period (1895–1930), including classics such asThe Birth of a Nation (1915),The General (1926),Metropolis (1927),Sunrise (1927) andPandora's Box (1928), alongside more unexpected choices, and represents major genres and directors of the period – Griffith, Keaton, Chaplin, Murnau, Sjöström, Dovzhenko and Eisenstein – together with an introductory overview and useful filmographic and bibliographic information.
Kill Bill: Vol 1. (2003) by Quentin Tarantino
Recommended by Michelle Handelman, associate professor in FIT's Film and Media BS program. More information available here.
The films of Kenneth Anger. Vol.1 [videorecording]
Contents: Fireworks (1947, 15 min.) -- Puce moment (1949, 6 min.) -- Rabbit’s moon (La lune des lapins) (1950, 16 min.) / Puck Film Productions -- Eaux d’artifice (1953, 13 min.) -- Inauguration of the pleasure dome (1954, 38 min.).
2007.
Inauguration of the Pleasure Dome (1954) by Kenneth Anger (available on YouTube) 
La Dolce Vita (1960) by Federico Fellini (available on Kanopy and also YouTube)
A Clockwork Orange (1971) by Stanley Kubrick (available on archive.org)
The 10th Victim (1965) by Elio Petri (available on dailymotion.com)
The Holy Mountain (1973) by Alejandro Jodorowsky (available on archive.org)
Salomé (1923) by Alla Nazimova (available on archive.org)
Les Vampires (1915) by Louis Feuillade (available to stream on Kanopy) (also available on archive.org)
Faster, Pussycat! Kill! Kill! (1965) by Russ Meyer (available on YouTube)
Suspiria (1977) by Dario Argento (available on dailymotion.com)
Kill Bill: Vol 1. (2003) by Quentin Tarantino (available on Hulu and Direct TV - subscription services)
| Have a question or comment about these guides? Contact: libraryreference@fitnyc.edu |
