Skip to Main Content

ED 591 Exhibition and Experience Design Thesis: Directed Research

Nice to see you here!

Library Research Guide for ED 591 Exhibition and Experience Design Thesis: Directed Research

Where to Look and How to Look: 
This guide is the online counterpart to the presentation on May 16, 2024
compiled by Prof. Naomi Schwer Bricker, FIT Library, Research & Instructional Services

  • You may contact me via email for a one-on-one research appointment OR email Maria Rothenberg if would like to meet with a different librarian or if you haven't heard back from me.

OneSearch

Search for books, ebooks, articles, and more

Finding Books and Ebooks

Use OneSearch with filtering and advanced search options 

Subject headings vs. tags vs. keyword / free text searches:
These are some of the formal "subject headings" assigned to relevant material listed in OneSearch. The terminology is determined by the Library of Congress so they work best to standardize vocabulary specifically in relation to books, rather than articles). Consider them starting points for your research but not the only what to find what you need.
TIP: if copy/pasted search results don't look right, get rid of any punctuation and try again 
Art -- Exhibition techniques.
Art centers -- Planning 
Art galleries, Commercial
Arts facilities -- Planning
Conference rooms
Congresses and conventions
Convention facilities
Convention facilities -- Design and construction
Exhibit booths -- Design and construction               
Exhibit stands -- Design and construction 
Exhibition buildings -- Design and construction
Exhibitions
Exhibitions -- Design                
Exhibitions -- Evaluation                 
Exhibitions -- Handbooks, manuals, etc.
Fairs
Festivals   
Historic buildings
Installations (Art)
Interactive multimedia
Library exhibits
Meetings-- Planning
Museum exhibits.
Museum exhibits -- Planning -- Handbooks, manuals, etc.
Museum labels -- Handbooks, manuals, etc.
Museum techniques
Museums -- Evaluation
Pavilions -- Design and construction
Special events
Store decoration
Trade shows -- Exhibition techniques
Traveling exhibitions

ALSO:
[topic] – Exhibitions
[category] --  Directories

More subject headings/tags :
See the Research Guide  Subject Terms Searching Our Collections                 
Some relevant categories: Museology and Art & Society, Commercial Art / Illustration & Graphic Art, Interior Design Architecture , Art History: Movements & Styles, Decorative Arts & Collectibles, Marketing/Trade, Retail Trade/Consumers, & Advertising

OneSearch vs databases to find articles, reports, images and more -- in physical and digital formats

Using FIT Library Databases :
While OneSearch covers most of the FIT Library's database content (there are important exceptions), searching individual databases may give you more options to focus on the specific types of material you want.

  • Databases by subject: General & multiple topics, subject specific
  • Databases by type of publication:
    • General audience:  MasterFILE Premier,  General OneFile,            
    • Trade publications:   Business Source Complete,  General BusinessFile ASAP
    • Scholarly/peer-reviewed/academic:   JSTOR, sections of other databases, Google Scholar
    • Journal Search (part of OneSearch) : for specific publications

TYPES OF SEARCHES and limiters will vary from databases to database but look for these options:

  

 

 

   - keyword text search
   - subject search
   - abstract
   - proximity (words close to each other)
    -other search types and limiters (dates, languages et al.)
   - type of publication (e.g. newspaper, peer reviewed)

More OneSearch Subject Headings

For example, search terms related to human behavior and perception:

  • Augmented reality
  • Control (Psychology)
  • Design, Industrial
  • Evolutionary psychology
  • Feedback (Psychology)
  • Hearing.
  • Human behavior
  • Human engineering
  • Human multitasking
  • Interpersonal relations.
  • Perception
  • Self-perception
  • Senses and sensation.
  • Senses and sensation in art.
  • Smell
  • Social evolution
  • Social psychology.
  • Taste.
  • Touch.
  • Vision
Have a question or comment about these guides? Contact: libraryreference@fitnyc.edu