Library Research Guide for ED 591 Exhibition and Experience Design Thesis: Directed Research
Where to Look and How to Look:
This guide is the online counterpart to the presentation on May 19, 2023
compiled by Prof. Naomi Schwer Bricker, FIT Library, Research & Instructional Services
Search for books, ebooks, articles, and more
Subject headings vs. tags vs. keyword / free text searches:
These are some of the formal "subject headings" assigned to relevant material listed in OneSearch. The terminology is determined by the Library of Congress so they work best to standardize vocabulary specifically in relation to books, rather than articles). Consider them starting points for your research but not the only what to find what you need.
TIP: if copy/pasted search results don't look right, get rid of any punctuation and try again
Art -- Exhibition techniques.
Art centers -- Planning
Art galleries, Commercial
Arts facilities -- Planning
Congresses and conventions
Convention facilities -- Design and construction
Exhibit booths -- Design and construction
Exhibit stands -- Design and construction
Exhibition buildings -- Design and construction
Exhibitions -- Design
Exhibitions -- Evaluation
Exhibitions -- Handbooks, manuals, etc.
Museum exhibits -- Planning -- Handbooks, manuals, etc.
Museum labels -- Handbooks, manuals, etc.
Museums -- Evaluation
Pavilions -- Design and construction
Trade shows -- Exhibition techniques
[topic] – Exhibitions
[category] -- Directories
More subject headings/tags :
See the Research Guide Subject Terms Searching Our Collections
Some relevant categories: Museology and Art & Society, Commercial Art / Illustration & Graphic Art, Interior Design Architecture , Art History: Movements & Styles, Decorative Arts & Collectibles, Marketing/Trade, Retail Trade/Consumers, & Advertising
Using FIT Library Databases :
While OneSearch covers most of the FIT Library's database content (there are important exceptions), searching individual databases may give you more options to focus on the specific types of material you want.
TYPES OF SEARCHES and limiters will vary from databases to database but look for these options:
- keyword text search
- subject search
- proximity (words close to each other)
-other search types and limiters (dates, languages et al.)
- type of publication (e.g. newspaper, peer reviewed)
For example, search terms related to human behavior and perception:
|Have a question or comment about these guides? Contact: email@example.com|