Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Teaching Business and Labor History to Art & Design Students

Labor History Online

ILGWU: International Ladies' Garment Workers' Union

On June 3, 1900 The ILGWU was formed. The union was formed by the major garment centers in New York City, Philadelphia, Baltimore, and Newark. These local unions' memberships numbered about two thousand workers and were comprised primarily of Jewish immigrants who had recently arrived in the United States from Eastern Europe. 

AFL-CIO

The American Federation of Labor and Congress of Industrial Organizations (AFL-CIO)

The American Federation of Labor and Congress of Industrial Organizations (AFL-CIO) works tirelessly to improve the lives of working people. AFL-CIO is a democratic, voluntary federation of 55 national and international labor unions that represent 12.5 million working men and women. See Labor History Timeline.

Traditional Korean Costume

The 1911 Triangle Factory Fire

This web exhibit presents original documents and secondary sources on the Triangle Fire, held by the Cornell University Library. 

The Child Labor Coalition

The Child Labor Coalition

"The Child Labor Coalition formed in November 1989, as concerned groups mobilized following the Capitol Hill Forum, “Exploitation of Children in the Workplace.”The coalition believes that no child, regardless of race, sex, nationality, religion, economic status, place of residence, or occupation, should be exploited."

LAWCHA

LAWCHA: The Labor and Working-Class History Association

"LAWCHA is an organization of scholars, teachers, students, labor educators, and activists who seek to promote public and scholarly awareness of labor and working-class history through research, writing, and organizing."

Labor History in the FIT Library

The Triangle Factory Fire :Then,Since, Now

An exhibition of works by graduate Illustration students from the Fashion Institute of Technology.

5th fl. -- Access Services Desk -- Reserves MFIT Exhibition Brochures Binder F128.5 .T75 2012 Reserve 2 hour 

4th fl. -- Special Collections Archives US.NNFIT.SC.FITA. 10.2 Library Use 

 

New York Times Historical [1851-2015]

Full text of every issue, including articles, ads, obituaries, and more

 

New York Times Academic Pass

New York Times Academic Pass

24-hour passes providing direct access to entire NYT website and archive -- only available during the fall & spring semesters (no summer access)

InfoTrac Newsstand

Articles , videos, & video transcripts from almost 3000 English language newspapers & news agencies from around the world, 1980 - current

Oral History Transcripts, [ca. 1980-1986]

Oral History Transcripts, [ca. 1980-1986]

4th fl. -- Special Collections TT139 Library Use 

Digital Collections

Searching Databases for Business and Labor History

Historical Research:

ABC-CLIO eBook Collections is a collection of books that are especially strong on U.S. history & society and popular culture. 
ARTSTOR is an image database and has thousands of examples of both historical and modern artifacts from and inspired by labor movements, protests, and celebration. You can browse by Country of Origin, Medium and Time Period.
Credo has a large selection of e-books on a variety of topics. The Mind Map feature (seen above) provides a tool for brainstorming and expanding key words used in searches.
Have a question or comment about these guides? Contact: libraryreference@fitnyc.edu