LibGuides: Teaching Business and Labor History to Art & Design Students: Secondary Sources

Searching Databases for Business and Labor History

Historical Research:

ABC-CLIO eBook Collections is a collection of books that are especially strong on U.S. history & society and popular culture.

ARTSTOR is an image database and has thousands of examples of both historical and modern artifacts from and inspired by labor movements, protests, and celebration. You can browse by Country of Origin, Medium and Time Period.

Credo has a large selection of e-books on a variety of topics. The Mind Map feature (seen above) provides a tool for brainstorming and expanding key words used in searches.

Academic Journals

See our Journal Finder for full text of the following journals and more.

Enterprise & Society
Business History
Labor History
International Labor and Working-Class History (ILWCH)
Journal of Design History
Design Issues

FIT Databases

ABC-CLIO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
ABC-CLIO contains hundreds of e-books covering a multitude of popular culture topics, including cinema, literature, sports, and research topics. An audio device feature is included for every article/book.
Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
General-audience, trade publication and scholarly articles on a wide range of subjects, 1980-current.
Artstor This link opens in a new window
Digital library of art images from museums and other institutions.

Registration for an individual account is required for some features.
Gale Business: Insights This link opens in a new window
Contains 465,000 company profiles and covers company and industry profiles with SWOT, market share, and other financial reports.
Business of Fashion (BoF) This link opens in a new window
Provides information and analysis on the global fashion and beauty industries; includes reports and case studies.
1. Click to register for BoF Professional.
You must use an FIT email address.
2. Check your inbox for a confirmation email and click the link to confirm your membership (this email is sent from: noreply@businessoffashion.com)
Tip: Be sure to check your spam inbox and add BoF as a contact to ensure you receive future emails and newsletters.
3. Once confirmed, you will automatically get full access to your own BoF Professional account.
For help, please contact BoF at professional.groups@businessoffashion.com.
BoF Professional provides unlimited access to articles, exclusive analysis and briefings, case studies, special reports, online learning courses, the iPhone mobile app as well as invitations to digital and in-person events.
Credo This link opens in a new window
Online reference library containing full-text dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference books.
Gale eBooks (GVRL) This link opens in a new window
Searchable e-books providing quick information on a variety of topics including business, history, countries of the world, science, education, multicultural studies, social science, and more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles on a wide range of subjects
Passport (Euromonitor) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides international market intelligence, including economic statistics, on industries, countries, and consumers.
Statista This link opens in a new window
A resource for global market and consumer data and statistics.
Women's Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Contains an archive starting in 1883 to 2005 for eleven magazines typically marketed to women, with high-resolution color scans and feature detailed article-level indexing. Titles and specific coverage includes:

- Better Homes & Gardens (1922 - 2005)
- Chatelaine (1928 - 2005)
- Cosmopolitan (1926 - 2004)
- Essence (1970 - 2005)
- Good Housekeeping (1885 - 2005)
- Ladies’ Home Journal (1883 - 2005)
- Parents (1926 - 2005)
- Redbook (1903 - 2005)
- Seventeen (1944 - 2005)
- Women’s Day (1937-2005)
- Women’s International Network News (WIN News) (1975-2005)
WWD Archive (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of Woman’s Wear Daily from 1910 - current (6 month delay on new issues)
WWD Digital Daily This link opens in a new window
Sign up for the WWD Digital Daily edition sent to your email Monday-Friday.
Register for a WWD Digital Daily account using your FIT email address. Once registered, the daily edition of WWD will be sent to your email.
New registrations take 3-9 days to become active.
Access WWD Digital Daily through this WWD Digital Daily link and not through WWD Online.
Reset your password using this link.