LibGuides: Statistics: A guide to sources & searches: Labor, Employment, & Workforce

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics

Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS)
Look here for the most comprehensive stats and other info on cost of labor, minimum wage, employment and unemployment rates, career outlooks and job descriptions, time use surveys ("about the activities people do during the day and how much time they spend doing them") and more.
There are also quick links to other U.S. government agency statistics

More specific links on the BLS site:

Data Tools
"Databases, Tables & Calculators by Subject" includes more than just labor: Inflation & Prices, Employment, Unemployment, Pay & Benefits, Spending & Time Use, Productivity, Workplace Injuries, International Employment Projections, Regional Resources, Historical News Release Tables, Maps, Calculators, Public Data API
Geographies
By state and/or region of the U.s>
Employment Projections
" Develops information about the labor market for the Nation as a whole for 10 years in the future"
Department of Labor: Statistics
Other topics covered by the DOL

Publications

Monthly Labor Review
From the Bureau of Labor Statistics
Occupational Outlook Handbook
This part of the BLS site also includes job descriptions, number of actual and projected job openings, average salaries etc.

Labor statistics in Library databases

All databases require login with current FIT user name and password

Statista This link opens in a new window
Millions of statistics on many topics, taken from government, NGO, and commercial sources. Extensive numbers on "labor" (over 1000 charts) plus a "dossier" (PowerPoint compilation) on U.S. unemployment.
A good way to see information from a range of sources--that may or may not agree with each other--in one place.
Demographics Now This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Census and market research company gathered information e.g. "2000 Census Employment Comparison" and "Income Summary" that can be used in conjunction with other factors such as custom-defined geographies .
Passport (Euromonitor) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Many statistics are contained within larger reports in this global coverage market research database. You can also search for them separately and/.or filter results.
1) Search by keyword (e.g. labor) and then choose option to "filter analysis">"by analysis">datagraphic
OR
"filter analysis"> "by category" , choosing the ones that start with "% of" or.....
Also, statistics (including "popular" or "combined") results may be featured when you search.

2) Click on Search in the black bar at the top f the screen, then look for option to "SEE DATA NOW Quick Market Statistics" by adding the terms you want

Salary Surveys and Occupation/Job-specific Stats

Monster.com: Labor Statistics & Trends
Articles and stats from a job board website
Department of Labor: Occupational Employment Statistics (OES)
"The Occupational Employment Statistics (OES) program produces employment and wage estimates annually for over 800 occupations. These estimates are available for the nation as a whole, for individual States, and for metropolitan and nonmetropolitan areas; national occupational estimates for specific industries are also available. "

See other sites mentioned on on our Careers research guides ("Employment and Salary Statistics")

New York State

New York State Department of Labor: Labor Statistics
Statewide and local or regional info available

Of course most other U.S. states will have similar infomation online

Global Resources

Be aware of spelling and wording differences even among English-speaking nations, and don't count on Google to correct you!
Try "labor" as well as "labour"

In most of the sites below, you can find statistics for individual counties as well as comparisons between two or more.

International Labour Organization (ILO): Statistics and databases
ILOSTAT (from the ILO)
"the primary source for cross-country statistics on the labour market. The database contains over 100 indicators covering more than 230 countries and economies."