Art history image resources, arranged by time period. No-frills web page, from the publisher of the classic textbook "Gardner's Art Through the Ages".
Also links to: Guide to Research: Harcourt's Quick Guide to Researching Art History Using the Internet and
Tips on Becoming a Successful Student (including section on "Writing a Museum Paper")
Arranged by loose categories such as “Africa & Diaspora” , “Classical World of the Mediterranean”, “Photography” and “Collections, Galleries & Sources”. Part of the larger Mother of all Art and Art History Links site, which has links to individual museums, art schools, and organizations, online art exhibits, and research resources.
"The Bancroft Library has the second largest pictorial collection at a research institution in the nation. Its Pictorial Collection of 9.2 million items is surpassed in size only by that of the Library of Congress. Consisting primarily of photographic negatives and prints, the Bancroft collection also includes paintings, prints, drawings, posters, and advertising memorabilia.'
“Royalty free” images “licensed for non-profit use” covering various periods of art history. Also relates the images to chapters in older (2002 and earlier) editions of textbooks such as Gardner’s Art through the Ages and Janson’s History of Art.
Images and online exhibits on a wide range of topics, all with extensive metadata. from the collection of libraries, museums and universities across the U.S.,
Search , or browse by date, location of collection, or exhibition theme.
Especially strong on history, culture, and regional interests.
Samplings of collections from institutions as varied as Brooklyn Museum, George Eastman House, US National Archives,Library of Congress and Australian National Maritime Museum.
"It is a requirement for participation in the program that institutions may rightly claim 'no known copyright restrictions' on the content they share"
A gallery of scanned images of over 200 major artists' works, arranged alphabetically by name or listed by art movement. Also has changing ‘gallery exhibits’, excerpts of art criticism, and good discussion on copyright, ‘fair use’ and ‘public domain’ issues. Note that there may be popup ads or additional ad screens that you need to view before you can access the free content.
Small database of basic images--animals, plants, people, textures, etc., uploaded by a variety of photographers (pro and amateur) as "copyright friendly images for use by students and teachers in an educational setting" Easy browsing, but search feature doesn't always generate exact results; Use advance search and read search tips for best results. Results can be sorted by "date, name, photographer, size, width height and popularity"
Search with phrase "photos and multimedia" to find government agency photographs and logos. Mostly public domain items. Obviously strong in US history, geography, past and present political figures. Also includes audio and video files
"More than 54,000 New York City archival photographs (and their captioned versos) from the 1870s-1970s arranged by borough and street; the majority are exterior building views and neighborhood scenes from the 1910s-1940s."
The New York Public Library's gateway to its digital image collections. Over 700,000 digitized images of items from the New York Public Library's collections, including photographs, postcards, posters, fashion plates, ephemera, manuscripts and much more.
Digitized version of the out-of-copyright material (mostly published prior to 1923) from the New York Public Library’s (Mid-Manhattan branch) extensive picture file collection, “the largest of its kind in any public library system.” Contains over 30,000 images, strong in areas of costume, and New York and American history.