LibGuides: Fashion Design: AAS Exhibition Themes: Fashion Sculpture

Connecting art forms

Fashion Sculpture

Spring 2015

Note: This page is not updated after exhibit semester has ended. Suggestions & sources are often still valid & helpful, but remember to check for newer books, websites, etc.

Find it with OneSearch

Find books and more about Fashion and art

Also search in StyleCat :

designer names, such as Alexander McQueen or Balenciaga (See list of some designers in the center box)
topics, such as origami, sculpture, or architecture
names of artists, sculptors, or architects

Videos & Catalogs: A selection of relevant fashion designers

Charles James: Beyond Fashion
Exhibit catalog available in the Library

Iris Van Herpen
Book available in the Library

Other designers to consider:

Alexander McQueen
Gareth Pugh
Madame Grès (vintage)
Viktor and Rolf
Balenciaga (new & vintage)
Hannah Soukup
Matija Cop
Roberto Cappucci

The list above are some suggested designers but you may discover others to research for this project.

Image collections

Berg Fashion Library This link opens in a new window
E-books and scholarly articles on fashion topics. It also offers an extensive image collection including 1400+ selections from CoPA (Commercial Pattern Archive 1868 to 2000) and a fashion museum directory.
Use an incognito browser to access this resource. Click to watch video:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tMrT7gV3j6I
Artstor This link opens in a new window
Digital library of art images from museums and other institutions.

Registration for an individual account is required for some features.
Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
Contains every issue of Vogue from 1892 to present. Each issue can be browsed cover-to-cover in searchable full-text format. Each page and image is reproduced in high-resolution color with indexing, enabling images to be searched by garment type, designer, and brand names, among others. All covers, advertisements, fold outs and pictorial features are captured as separate documents,which are also indexed, searchable, and viewable in high-resolution color.
FITDIL: FIT Digital Image Library This link opens in a new window
A digital repository consisting of over 100,000 images, including FIT student and faculty work, exhibitions, and instructional resources.
Fashion Studies Online: The Videofashion Library This link opens in a new window
Spanning almost 40 years, this collection includes over 1,200 hours of videos of runway shows, designer profiles, and documentary films including coverage of the major fashion weeks in Milan, Paris, New York and London, as well as Miami swim and New York bridal collections.

Other Useful Research Guides

Art History and Fine Arts
by Maria Rothenberg Last Updated Apr 23, 2024 230 views this year
Fashion Designers
by Loraine Baratti Last Updated Mar 15, 2024 490 views this year
Image Searching and Image Collections
by Naomi Schwer Bricker Last Updated Jun 15, 2023 353 views this year